We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,348)
Filter reviews
1,348 results
Traveller rating
272
431
359
166
120
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
431
359
166
120
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfield museumroosevelt stationgreat locationcolumbia collegeshedd aquariumadler planetariumsouth loopwithin walking distancemichigan avenuedowntown chicagonavy pierart institutetwo blockswillis towercorner roompublic transportationyolk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
681 - 686 of 1,348 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Situated within walking distance of the Museum Campus (Shed Aquarium and Field Museum), Soldiers Field, Navy Pier, and with Grant Park just across Michigan Avenue, you can't beat the location. Sure, it's an older hotel, however our room was a well maintained corner room overlooking Lake Michigan on the eighth floor. The bathroom was split room arrangement with a stool & shower room off the main sink & vanity area which included a small coffee maker and hair dryer. The sleeping area had a single queen bed with a comfortable mattress with a duvet covering, a flat sheet, and four small bed pillows. A small open closet, ironing board with iron, a small room safe, a flat screened TV, small microwave, a fridge, two upright chairs, and a desk completed the room set-up. The room itself was clean and well maintained and the individual air-conditioning/heating unit worked well.

A lack of overall privacy would be my main complaint; however, we were able to hear conversations from next-door neighbors both across the hallway and through the adjoining room doorway which connected us. The other privacy issue involved sheers that would not completely close on one of the two large picture windows located 90 degrees apart on the outside walls of our corner room. Other possible 'issues' include 2 small elevators and staggered ice & vending machines on even/odd numbered floors. As we didn't use the pool or workout facilities and arrived by cab, I cannot offer any insight here. Lastly, we had no issues with the free wifi service which we used throughout our stay

Although the two female staff members we encountered did not go out of their way to be friendly, I felt that this was more of a 'survival in the big city' skill, than anything else. We did not make use of the hotel restaurant during our two night stay, however I should probably mention that it did not serve dinner on Thursday evening. Not to worry as there are MANY other options for breakfast, lunch, and dinner within walking distance of this hotel...

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on a high floor overlooking Lake Michigan… This location will put you above most of the late evening traffic noises on Michigan Avenue and allow you to watch the Navy Pier fireworks displays on Saturday nights during the summer!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Littletoot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I have stayed at the Grant Park location before and the last time I was greeted with bad customer service and front desk employees that just seemed over there job in November 2013. I decided to give the hotel another chance and I was pleasantly surprised to see that some changes were made. The hotel is now no longer allows smoking in rooms and there were different people at the front desk. Check in was a smooth process,even with there only being one person covering the lunch hour.Kenneth was a rockstar! He gave me ideas of where to have dinner,greeted customer as they came in. The reason this stay was average because the same young lady that gave me not so great service last time did so again. The first time she may have been having a bad day, but for her attitude just really stinks.I did'y catch her name(not sure if she was even wearing a name tag, but she was shorter,african-american,and wore glasses) I walked up to the desk, wasn't really greeted or noticed and when she got to me her answer about late check out was dry and there was no alternative given. If you can't do a late check out fine, but at least offer the luggage service. The room had cigarette burns in the curtains and the only updated thing in the room was the bathroom mirror. It's a downtown hotel, so the decor should match.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Miloran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The internet at this hotel sucks. Would log on and in an instant be kicked off. The bathroom could stand to be updated and the light coming in under the door to the hallway was excessive. Perhaps weather stripping at the bottom of the doors would reduce the light and hallway noises from other guests. The shower was great with plentiful hot water and the beds were very comfortable. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The parking rate was a little high but you have no choice if you are driving.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We came to Chicago for a Bears game.
The hotel was clean and convenient.
It was just a short walk across Grant Park from Soldier Field and just up Michigan Ave from the heart of the city.
We took many walks and were just up the street from the Hilton where the red top bus picked up and dropped off. The Red top had a 3 day special for $45 which allowed you to hop on and hop off anywhere they went. Which was everywhere. And catch a great tour of the city.
The Eleven City Diner is just around the corner and has great sandwiches and root beer. We didn't to try breakfast this trip.
For our first trip to the city. We had a great time and will be back.
The Orange line runs from a block away from the hotel, to Midway airport and around "the loop". Its a $2.25 trip to everywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Pros= Location,Cleanliness, and the Staff. Cons= In dire need of a renovation, extremely noisy . I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the downtown area. You can walk to all the major attractions.

Room Tip: The staff put us in a premium room with a view of Lake Michigan. Although it was very nice to open all the curtains and have a panoramic view, the noise from Michigan Avenue was extremely loud. Probably because of the age and noise insulation. Get a room away from Michigan Ave.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank narimasu70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews