We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Time - tower rooms are wonderful, very quiet, great view. This was our third visit to Mile North.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #74 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Great Time - tower rooms are wonderful, very quiet, great view. This was our third visit to Mile North.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was our third visit - tower rooms are wonder, very quiet. Great location, too. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet (wonderful staff) but rooftop bar staff left us cold. We were close to everything we needed and it was easy to get transportation as well when we needed. If we return to Chicago, I will definitely check the Mile North availabilities first.

Room Tip: tower rooms have wonderful view, very quiet. Our room in the shorter tower had a weird configuratio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSfromDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello DSfromDenver,

Thank you for sharing your favorite features and amenities of your recent stay at MileNorth Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and our team's efforts to ensure you received an excellent experience. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Chicago!

Sincerely,

Andi Miller | Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,700
    1,048
    333
    125
    74
See reviews for
706
1,141
226
592
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
426 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Located near the Loop, MileNorth Hotel is convenient especially for people who want to explore downtown Chicago. Another plus about this hotel's location is that it's not only a few blocks away from the nearest CTA subway station and Hancock Tower, the hotel is also located right next to Gino's East (Good news for people who are looking for deep dish). MileNorth also has a cool rooftop bar for those who enjoy nightlife!

The room was also unusually spacious. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom facility was great. The room was a great place both to rest and to work, and if you live on the upper levels, you would have a terrific view of downtown Chicago.

However, living on the upper level was also the reason why I cannot give this hotel five stars. Getting to my 25th floor room was a hassle especially during nighttime. MileNorth has four elevators, but only two would reach floors above 7th floor. The two high-reaching elevators became extremely packed and stuffy (Elevator AC was probably broken) as the day progressed, and the situation worsened especially during weekend nights when people were going to the rooftop bar. Because there were only two elevators going to 8th to 29th floors, the elevators would have to stop multiple times, so just getting to my room from the lobby was a long, hot trip of itself own.

I don't know how MileNorth can resolve this issue, but you should request a room on 7th floor or below. You won't get the view, but trust me, it's a small sacrifice you have to make to have an easy trip to your room.

Aside from this upper floor problem, I believe that MileNorth should be one of your top picks if you are visiting downtown Chicago. The spacious room, the friendly staff, and the convenient location make this hotel an excellent choice for you to explore the Windy City.

Room Tip: Don't choose an upper level room. It is a pain to reach when people are crowding the elevators t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello Jay,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay at MileNorth Hotel. I apologize for the elevator issues you experienced during your visit. If you do find yourself back in Chicago, we welcome the opportunity to have you as our guest. Please contact me directly and I will personally oversee your reservation to ensure an excellent stay.

Warm Regards,

Andi Miller | Marketing Manager
MileNorth Hotel | 166 East Superior | Chicago, IL 60611
Office 312-787-0139 | Email: amiller2@destinationhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

The only reason I didn't give this hotel 5 circles is because they don't inform you that they are going to charge you a $6.95 service fee for each reservation for use of wifi, business center, fitness center, etc which we didn't use at all during our one night stay. However, even with this charge, the hotel was an excellent value - we received a great last minute rate through the hotel website which was cheaper than the best rate I had found elsewhere. The location was convenient to all we wanted to do in Chicago. We had our twin one year olds with us and they provided us with two cribs. The room had a long entry way which gave us a place to put the cribs and be able to have a little separation from them which was important since they go to bed before us. Our room had a great view of the city skyline. Both the room and bathroom were large. I would definitely return to this hotel if I return to Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennicamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello jennicamp,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay at MileNorth Hotel. We are delighted to read your appraisal of your room and accommodations. We appreciate your kind comments regarding the professionalism of our team. We certainly look forward to welcoming your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

Andi Miller | Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

The updated room was spacious and beautifully decorated. This spotlessly clean and friendly hotel was a steal for the money, which I was able to snag on Kayak or Expedia, I don't remember which, but I'd stay there again in a heartbeat, although it was a little further from the theatre district than was indicated.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello Debbie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay at MileNorth Hotel. We are delighted to read your appraisal of your room and accommodations. We appreciate your kind comments and we certainly look forward to welcoming your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

Andi Miller | Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed at the MileNorth with family. The hotel is well located and one block away to catch a bus to the museum districts. Our room was on the 26th floor with a nice view down St. Clair. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and we were even able to check into our room early which helped us get our bearings before hitting the town.

The room was not overly large but it was not cramped either. As other reviewers mentioned there was a slight step down from the entry/bathroom/fridge/desk area to where the beds were. The beds were comfortable and the room was very quiet. There are only a handful of rooms on each floor so there is not a lot of traffic or door slamming going on.

We did not take advantage of the restaurant or visit the bar on this trip. However, we did do the American Girl package for our daughter which was all ready to go when we arrived. For those interested, the American Girl store is just about 3 blocks away and a very easy walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcJfromSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello MarcJfromSA,

Thank you for sharing your favorite features and amenities of your recent stay at MileNorth Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and our team's efforts to ensure you received an excellent experience. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Chicago!

Sincerely,

Andi Miller | Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Usually when I stay in Chicago I am staying further south toward Grant Park, but since we were in town for a wedding on the Magnificent Mile we booked here. First of all, this was a great value. We paid in advance on a cutthroat rate I found on kayak.com, so for us this was a steal. We paid much less than the other rates in this area that our family had.

The room was massive! One of the biggest city hotel rooms I had ever had. The hotel had a trendy vibe but wasn't stuffy. The cafe in the lobby was great for my morning coffee fix (they serve Starbucks) and the staff were really helpful. My room was ready when I arrived a few hours early and I was very tired from travel and happy to be able to go right up and relax. Our bathroom was very large with a lovely shower and nice soft towels. The wallpaper was metallic and peeling in some spots, but I didn't mind it.

I checked out the gym with good intentions (I never went) and it was pretty small but nicely stocked. We never made it up to the rooftop, we were so busy in Chicago. The wifi in our room was quite spotty so I was glad I didn't end up bringing up computer, but again we didn't care because we were not in our room that much.

The location was really great. Totally walkable from the red line of the subway and also near a Divvy station for bike access (my sister and I took bikes one day). Right next to the historic Original Gino's East for pizza and there were tons of food options and shopping nearby - it's the Magnificent Mile!

I would definitely consider staying here again and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesjorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello lesjorgie,

Thank you for sharing your favorite features and amenities of your recent stay at MileNorth Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and took advantage of our lobby, Barista Bar and large rooms. We appreciate the kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Chicago!

Sincerely,

Andi Miller | Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

A nice hotel just off the Mile. Well kept, nice staff. Had a spacious room high up with a nice view. If you want to be close to everything, this is a good choice. Great view on the top bar. Easy to grab a breakfast on the ground floor.

Room Tip: High up! The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reisende935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello Reisende935,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay at MileNorth Hotel. We are delighted to read your appraisal of your room and accommodations. We appreciate your kind comments regarding the professionalism of our team. We certainly look forward to welcoming your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

Andi Miller | Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#102 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
The James Chicago
#45 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#64 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
dana hotel and spa
#49 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 166 E Superior St, Chicago, IL 60611-2924 (Formerly MileNorth Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#43 Family Hotel in Chicago
#47 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#53 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban contemporary hotel residing in Chicago's Streeterville neighborhood. Visit Cambria and experience high standards of service in a setting that feeds off the local energetic vibe. Hip, comfortable and sophisticated, yet down to earth. The over-sized guest rooms and suites styled with a splash of Chicago flair, showcase dreamy views which will ignite a romance with this beloved city. Enjoy the 52EIGHTY Rooftop Lounge, for a glimpse of why Chicago is known for its architecture and stunning beauty. Surrounded by highly desirable shopping, dining and entertainment such as the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and Millennium Park; yet also walk able to major local businesses, this 4 Star Hotel in Chicago is appealing to those looking to be productive, to dazzle or just to play. Welcome to Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Agoda, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Affinia Hotel
Affinia Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing