We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #75 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very Central”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

A very nice hotel, we'll kept, friendly and efficient staff, nice rooms and right in the middle of things. Only one block from the main street, and close to all the attractions. Close to all transportation also. They have a nightclub on the roof.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank rockedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, General Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello Brian R.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay at MileNorth Hotel. We are delighted to read your appraisal of your room and accommodations. We appreciate your kind comments regarding the professionalism of our team. We certainly look forward to welcoming your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

Steven Ellingsen | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,715
    1,059
    339
    127
    74
See reviews for
715
1,146
230
604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Don't get me wrong. I've stayed at fleabag motel 8 stops in the middle of nowhere that were worse hotels. This place is worse if only that I paid $300 a night for a dirty, outdated room with paper thin walls and towels like sandpaper. The bed is rock hard and the sheets are poor quality for mental hospital. We should have expected a problem when we checked in and were downgraded. We called twice to confirm yet our suite with a view on a high floor became a low floor king. Their solution, offer us two free drinks! No discount. To make things worse, the TV is all snow and half the channels don't work. I think after this I'm going for a touch of luxary at the residence inn.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Micah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, General Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Micah S,

Thank you very much for visiting MileNorth Hotel and for sharing the details of your stay. Our culture is to ensure that we create the best experience for each and every one of our guests. We are disappointed that you experienced several issues and we did not meet your expectations. I have shared your review with my colleagues so we can address these concerns for our future guests.

I welcome the opportunity to speak further about your personal experience. Please let me know if you would like to continue this conversation offline by contacting me directly at the below.


Thank you,

Steven Ellingsen | General Manager
312-787-6000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahopac, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We booked this hotel through Priceline and didn't realize that the hotel would not guarantee a room with two beds. When we arrived we were offered a room with a queen bed and not even enough room for a roll away. Since I must have my own space, we upgraded to a king suite. The staff was very helpful with this and the room was so spacious! Some reviewers liked eating at Gino's next door, but neither of us were impressed and the lines were long. We enjoyed walking down St. Clair and eating at Elephant and Castle. And breakfast at the Corner Bakery on the same street was just right.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole R, General Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello Judy,

Thank you for sharing your favorite features and amenities of your recent stay at MileNorth Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and received an excellent experience. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Chicago!

Sincerely,

Steven Ellingsen | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Was slightly disapointed by this hotel, but perhaps my expectations were too high.

I used to live in Chicago and visit often. Was not aware of this hotel, but saw a promotion on Jetsetter that advertised a "large suite spread out over two floors with a seperate living room, sofabed..." I decided to splurge, dreams of a duplex room dancing in my head which was perfect as we were in Chicago visiting friends and wanted a seperate place to hang out that wasn't right in our bedroom.

We arrived for our late check-in and the front desk person was friendly, but slow in getting us sorted out. We were also surprised to hear there would be an additional daily tax that was not stated in the Jetsetter price.

The first room we were shown was far from "spread out over two floors." It was a small entrance way with a desk and chair that leads down a few steps to a living room and bedroom area that are not seperated. There was a very small bathroom with one sink and a toilet with a crack in it. The living area also only had two chairs (no couch) and no coffee table so entertaining was out of the question.

We went back downstairs and were switched to another room, the exact same layout and just one floor higher (this one did have a sofabed and table). The view from the 10th floor was south and overlooked a parking structure and some basic office buildings. Nothing special.

The mini bar was oddly loud and not stocked (which for me is fine since I would rather stock it myself, but I found that strange).

The room was right next door to the elevator, but it was fine and quiet.

The lock on the door of our room was jammed and we had a few close calls with not being able to get out of the room.

At check out, I argued the addition of the daily tax as my reservation stated that all taxes and fees were included. They took some time conferring with a manager, but ultimately waived the charge.

All told, it was fine, just not special. I do think they may need to dial back their room descriptions to something that more closely resembles the truth.

Room Tip: 10th floor did not have much of a view. Ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meliberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, General Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear meliberk,

Thank you very much for visiting MileNorth Hotel and for sharing the details of your stay. Our culture is to ensure that we create the best experience for each and every one of our guests. We are disappointed that you experienced several issues and we did not meet your expectations. I have shared your review with my colleagues so we can address these concerns for our future guests.

I welcome the opportunity to speak further about your personal experience. Please let me know if you would like to continue this conversation offline by contacting me directly at the below.


Thank you,

Steven Ellingsen | General Manager
312-787-6000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have stayed at this hotel 4 times in the last year while visiting our daughter who lives two blocks away. The location is incredible. The rooms are large, very clean, and huge bathrooms. The fitness center is very well maintained. And, the staff is great! They remembered us on all of our visits. I booked the hotel on Orbitz and got a great rate every time, too. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: There are two towers. We have stayed in both. One side has views of the street and are more expensiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, General Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi Ann!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay at MileNorth Hotel. We are delighted to read your appraisal of your room and accommodations. We appreciate your kind comments regarding the professionalism of our team. We certainly look forward to welcoming your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

Steven Ellingsen | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Would definitely return here. It had a hip vibe, with spacious, and clean rooms. Close to everything that I wanted to be close to (Navy Pier, parks, shopping).

The unique eclectic style that the hotel had was welcoming and super friendly. Unlike most hotels where you are afraid to touch things, this hotel was really fun and trendy.

Great staff, food, and rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, General Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello Ashley,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay at MileNorth Hotel. We are delighted to read your appraisal of your room and accommodations. We appreciate your kind comments regarding the professionalism of our team. We certainly look forward to welcoming your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

Steven Ellingsen | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a good stay and enjoyed the location but got an unexpected services bill at the end of our stay. on checking-in a deposit was taken for $60 which we were told was for incidentals and were assured would be refunded at the end of our stay. On check-out $40 was deducted from the deposit for wifi which is advertised as free on the website. This low score is due to this sting at the end of our stay. Why say it will be refunded when there is every intention of this deduction.

Hamza

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamza51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, General Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello Hamza51,

Thank you for visiting MileNorth Hotel and for sharing the details of your stay. Our culture is to ensure that we create the best experience for each and every one of our guests. I sincerely apologize that your check out experience was less than stellar. I have shared your review with my colleagues so we can address these concerns going forward.

I welcome the opportunity to speak further about your personal experience. Please let me know if you would like to continue this conversation offline by contacting me directly at the below.


Thank you,

Steven Ellingsen | General Manager
312-787-6000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
The James Chicago
#45 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,169 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#102 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#72 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 166 E Superior St, Chicago, IL 60611-2924 (Formerly MileNorth Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#43 Family Hotel in Chicago
#47 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#53 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban contemporary hotel residing in Chicago's Streeterville neighborhood. Visit Cambria and experience high standards of service in a setting that feeds off the local energetic vibe. Hip, comfortable and sophisticated, yet down to earth. The over-sized guest rooms and suites styled with a splash of Chicago flair, showcase dreamy views which will ignite a romance with this beloved city. Enjoy the 52EIGHTY Rooftop Lounge, for a glimpse of why Chicago is known for its architecture and stunning beauty. Surrounded by highly desirable shopping, dining and entertainment such as the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and Millennium Park; yet also walk able to major local businesses, this 4 Star Hotel in Chicago is appealing to those looking to be productive, to dazzle or just to play. Welcome to Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Affinia Hotel
Affinia Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing