We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #77 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Albany NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location and good value”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We recently spent two nights at MileNorth while visiting Chicago colleges. The location is perfect for sightseeing, shopping and dining out. We had a king suite on the 24th floor for two adults and one teenager; she was comfortable on the queen size pullout. The square footage of the room was ample, just would have preferred different use of the space. Better separation between the sleeping area and the sofa would have been helpful. Lots of square footage in the foyer/desk area which is really unused, I would suspect, by many guests. Bathroom was fine but really tiny. Bring your own blow dryer, because the one supplied by the hotel has a 2' cord, requiring you to stay very close to the wall while drying your hair! And there is no exhaust fan in the bathroom, making the room quite steamy following your shower. Finally, the bedding is not very plush - thin sheets, especially on the pullout sofa, did not make me feel as if I were staying in a high-end hotel. All in all, adequate accommodations in a fantastic city!

Room Tip: As with most cities, avoid renting a car. Parking at MileNorth was $58 per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole R, Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hello Trudy,

Thank you for your input on your recent experience with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our location and took full advantage of sight seeing and everything Chicago has to offer. I sincerely apologize that your room accommodations did not meet your expectation. Please let me know if you would like to continue this conversation offline by contacting me directly at the below. We welcome you back next time you are in the Windy City!

Thank you,
Steven Ellingsen
General Manager
312-787-6000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,721
    1,065
    341
    128
    74
See reviews for
718
1,152
230
607
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Loved the location steps from magnificent mile. Beautiful and upgraded suites and very helpful staff. Our swipe room key didn't work and after a considerable wait in the hallway we were offered an upgrade on another floor while the technician tried to fix the problem. Staff were very apologetic. Staff in the main floor bar were very efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, General Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Brian,

Thank you for sharing your favorite features and amenities of your recent stay at MileNorth Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and our team's efforts to ensure you received an excellent experience. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Chicago!

Sincerely,

Steven Ellingsen | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Location. Nice place. We had bad waiter in the rooftop bar. Bring $$$ We walked to breakfast at Sunny Side Up. Staff was friendly. Wasn't to much of a wait at elevators but crowded at times. Overall good hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, General Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Mark,

Thank you for sharing your favorite features and amenities of your recent stay at MileNorth Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and our team's efforts to ensure you received an excellent experience. We apologize that the rooftop service did not meet your expectations. This has been communicated to my colleagues for improvement. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Chicago!

Sincerely,

Steven Ellingsen | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

A very nice hotel, we'll kept, friendly and efficient staff, nice rooms and right in the middle of things. Only one block from the main street, and close to all the attractions. Close to all transportation also. They have a nightclub on the roof.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank rockedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, General Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello Brian R.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay at MileNorth Hotel. We are delighted to read your appraisal of your room and accommodations. We appreciate your kind comments regarding the professionalism of our team. We certainly look forward to welcoming your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

Steven Ellingsen | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Don't get me wrong. I've stayed at fleabag motel 8 stops in the middle of nowhere that were worse hotels. This place is worse if only that I paid $300 a night for a dirty, outdated room with paper thin walls and towels like sandpaper. The bed is rock hard and the sheets are poor quality for mental hospital. We should have expected a problem when we checked in and were downgraded. We called twice to confirm yet our suite with a view on a high floor became a low floor king. Their solution, offer us two free drinks! No discount. To make things worse, the TV is all snow and half the channels don't work. I think after this I'm going for a touch of luxary at the residence inn.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Micah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, General Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Micah S,

Thank you very much for visiting MileNorth Hotel and for sharing the details of your stay. Our culture is to ensure that we create the best experience for each and every one of our guests. We are disappointed that you experienced several issues and we did not meet your expectations. I have shared your review with my colleagues so we can address these concerns for our future guests.

I welcome the opportunity to speak further about your personal experience. Please let me know if you would like to continue this conversation offline by contacting me directly at the below.


Thank you,

Steven Ellingsen | General Manager
312-787-6000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahopac, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We booked this hotel through Priceline and didn't realize that the hotel would not guarantee a room with two beds. When we arrived we were offered a room with a queen bed and not even enough room for a roll away. Since I must have my own space, we upgraded to a king suite. The staff was very helpful with this and the room was so spacious! Some reviewers liked eating at Gino's next door, but neither of us were impressed and the lines were long. We enjoyed walking down St. Clair and eating at Elephant and Castle. And breakfast at the Corner Bakery on the same street was just right.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole R, General Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello Judy,

Thank you for sharing your favorite features and amenities of your recent stay at MileNorth Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and received an excellent experience. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Chicago!

Sincerely,

Steven Ellingsen | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Was slightly disapointed by this hotel, but perhaps my expectations were too high.

I used to live in Chicago and visit often. Was not aware of this hotel, but saw a promotion on Jetsetter that advertised a "large suite spread out over two floors with a seperate living room, sofabed..." I decided to splurge, dreams of a duplex room dancing in my head which was perfect as we were in Chicago visiting friends and wanted a seperate place to hang out that wasn't right in our bedroom.

We arrived for our late check-in and the front desk person was friendly, but slow in getting us sorted out. We were also surprised to hear there would be an additional daily tax that was not stated in the Jetsetter price.

The first room we were shown was far from "spread out over two floors." It was a small entrance way with a desk and chair that leads down a few steps to a living room and bedroom area that are not seperated. There was a very small bathroom with one sink and a toilet with a crack in it. The living area also only had two chairs (no couch) and no coffee table so entertaining was out of the question.

We went back downstairs and were switched to another room, the exact same layout and just one floor higher (this one did have a sofabed and table). The view from the 10th floor was south and overlooked a parking structure and some basic office buildings. Nothing special.

The mini bar was oddly loud and not stocked (which for me is fine since I would rather stock it myself, but I found that strange).

The room was right next door to the elevator, but it was fine and quiet.

The lock on the door of our room was jammed and we had a few close calls with not being able to get out of the room.

At check out, I argued the addition of the daily tax as my reservation stated that all taxes and fees were included. They took some time conferring with a manager, but ultimately waived the charge.

All told, it was fine, just not special. I do think they may need to dial back their room descriptions to something that more closely resembles the truth.

Room Tip: 10th floor did not have much of a view. Ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meliberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, General Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear meliberk,

Thank you very much for visiting MileNorth Hotel and for sharing the details of your stay. Our culture is to ensure that we create the best experience for each and every one of our guests. We are disappointed that you experienced several issues and we did not meet your expectations. I have shared your review with my colleagues so we can address these concerns for our future guests.

I welcome the opportunity to speak further about your personal experience. Please let me know if you would like to continue this conversation offline by contacting me directly at the below.


Thank you,

Steven Ellingsen | General Manager
312-787-6000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#104 of 189 in Chicago
1,613 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 189 in Chicago
3,331 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 166 E Superior St, Chicago, IL 60611-2924 (Formerly MileNorth Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#43 Family Hotel in Chicago
#48 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#53 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban contemporary hotel residing in Chicago's Streeterville neighborhood. Visit Cambria and experience high standards of service in a setting that feeds off the local energetic vibe. Hip, comfortable and sophisticated, yet down to earth. The over-sized guest rooms and suites styled with a splash of Chicago flair, showcase dreamy views which will ignite a romance with this beloved city. Enjoy the 52EIGHTY Rooftop Lounge, for a glimpse of why Chicago is known for its architecture and stunning beauty. Surrounded by highly desirable shopping, dining and entertainment such as the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and Millennium Park; yet also walk able to major local businesses, this 4 Star Hotel in Chicago is appealing to those looking to be productive, to dazzle or just to play. Welcome to Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Affinia Hotel
Affinia Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing