We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel in a high rent district”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Whitehall Hotel
Ranked #79 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed there for four days recently and would definitely come back again. The hotel is reasonably priced considering it is a block from the expensive shopping on Michigan Ave. and walking distance from the Gold Coast. The room was clean and a decent size and the hotel staff was pleasant and efficient. The only negative mark I would give it was for the fitness room. The photos uses the magic of mirrors to give the impression the fitness room is much larger. The fitness room is small with two treadmills (one not working) and an elliptical trainer, since I was the only person using the room I didn't care, but this can be a problem for the exercise inclined.I didn't come to Chicago to use the fitness room, however, and overall I think the hotel is an excellent place to stay when visiting Chicago, because of it's location, staff and price.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view, ours was looking at the side of a building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markyjol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear markyjol,

Thank you for your most recent review of the Whitehall. I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We have a wonderful staff here and our number one goal is to ensure that all of our guests are comfortable and happy with their stay. I do apologize for the issue you had with the treadmill. I can assure you that our engineering team has since repaired it.

Again, thank you for taking the time to fill out the review and I do hope that when you are in Chicago that you visit with us again.

Sincerely,
Sean Coghlan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,468 - 1,474 of 1,713 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 5 days and 4 nights and the staff was friendly and extremely helpful.
I would like to give a shout out to Toni our receptionist, Alex our doorman and Jim in maintenance for making our first time in Chicago a pleasant one.

Perfect location, near the lake, 360 (old John Hancock building), resturants and subway.

Room Tip: Some rooms are just outside the elevator, so you might want to request one down the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bud b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great service by Debbie...super friendly and helpful, perfect location, first room was so so, second room was great. This is a nice, functional, well located hotel where everything worked and the stay was pleasant...its a good deal

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed in the Whitehall Hotel in Chicago the middle of May 2014. The people are super friendly and helpful. The rooms, while smaller than one might be used to, are lovely. Our room had a marvelous view down East Delaware Place to Lake Michigan. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenncornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I don't think the Whitehall is going to win any awards for a trendy lobby or bar scene.
It isn't going to wow you with its décor or stylish carpeting.
It IS going to give you a clean, safe room to lay your head down on a pillow.
And when the Four Seasons across the street or the Westin a block over is charging $400+ a night the Whitehall is a great hotel in an ideal location.
A short walk to the lake. Half a block to the Hancock Tower.
15 minute cab ride to McCormick Center.
10 minute cab ride to the Shed or Field Museum.
Very friendly staff who actually enjoys seeing you there.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel face Delaware with a street view. Rooms in the back face the alley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrmondBeachFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Three friends and I stayed here last week. We were all thrilled with the hotel--location, service, rooms, etc. we each had our own rooms. I would definitely stay here again as well as suggest it to friends.

Room Tip: My corner room was a bit larger than those of my friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I just spent three days at The Whitehall. The rooms have recently been renovated and mine was very conformable. The location and staff are all great, especially Toni at the front desk. I only had one meal at the hotel but it was a great breakfast. I would definitely stay at The Whitehall again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cstalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#20 of 192 in Chicago
2,614 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#17 of 192 in Chicago
3,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#75 of 192 in Chicago
1,140 reviews
Gold Coast
Ambassador Chicago
Ambassador Chicago
#101 of 192 in Chicago
1,695 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whitehall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitehall Hotel

Address: 105 E Delaware Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#49 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#56 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#81 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £55 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Whitehall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whitehall Hotel, Chicago's True Independent Boutique Hotel, is a luxury property with impeccable service situated in the heart of the Gold Coast, steps from the Magnificent Mile, iconic attractions and designer shopping. You will feel the modern warmth, relaxed grace and welcoming ambiance of The Whitehall. Our guests experience unparalleled personal service from the moment they are welcomed, during their stay, and remembered upon a return trip. Designed for both the leisure and corporate traveler, our luxuriously appointed rooms and suites reflect the classic character and sophisticated charm of The Whitehall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Whitehall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitehall Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing