We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #97 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Room was spacious and clean, so close to everything, would stay again.
Staff and especially baggage man was super nice and friendly.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SPenhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    858
    323
    128
    73
See reviews for
833
588
75
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Stayed here while visiting for grad school and this place was nice. We drove a few hours to get to Chicago and this hotel was easy to find. They have free covered parking!!! That's amazing in itself for Chicago and a hotel! The staff was quiet, room was incredibly clean and the price was right for the time of year. The location was great for what we needed to do.

The view was nothing to write home about....our room faced the street with a gas station, Mickey D's and Rainforest Cafe. There were plenty of things to do in the area based on personal research. If we had the time, we would've been entertained and occupied. There was a restaurant connected to the hotel which was perfect to sit down and get some deep dish pizza.

I'd stay here again for business.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wkndsavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Thank you very much for your comments! As you mentioned, our free parking is an amazing find in Chicago! We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san antonio
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Great stay located near alot of things and near a hop on and off double decker. Ginos east and pizzaria uno super close. Free parking as well. Walking distance to many places. Must see the blue man group and skydeck ledge.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hairfairy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Thanks to Tripadvisor users, I found this hotel when looking for a hotel in downtown Chicago.

Three strong points of this hotel: complimentary parking, good location and clean room.

- Complimentary parking: other more expensive hotels in downtown Chicago still require a paying parking, so I think this hotel is a rare gem in downtown Chicago. I read some other comments stating that it took literally hours to get a car from the parking garage. We did not have this problem (--probably because we did not travel in the summer?).

- Good location: Art Institute of Chicago, Navy Pier and Goal Coast are just within walking distance from the hotel. You can find good restaurants nearby (such as Rainforest & Maggiano's Little Italy). The most important thing is that Mag mile is just few blocks away! We left our rental car at the hotel and visited Chicago mostly by foot. Only when we wanted to visit a farther neighborhood, we got the car with no charge. A supermarket is also closeby and it is practical for us who travelled with a baby.

- Clean room: yes, the room is clean & comfortable. The bathroom is clean although I am not big fan of that black painted floor. The fridge is a bit tired. No microwave (not practical for moms who need to heat up baby bottle).

The employees are friendly and helpful.

As I expected, we could hear the noise from the street, especially when big motorcycles passed by. However, we were too tired from the walk during the day so it is not a big deal.

The thing that bothered me most is the smell of the hotel. The hallway smelled like a very strong perfume, very close to insecticide, when we arrived. The following day, the smell was not that strong anymore.

The hallway is a bit tired too but it is acceptable.

There is a pool but we did not have time to use it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha_in_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed Sunday May 29th through June 2nd 2011. We got there about 2 hours before check in and they gave us a room. The car was parked for free and we were able to keep the car there on the day of check out until 12:30pm. We didnt need to keep it there any longer and they told us they would let us keep it there until 5pm.
We were able to get discounted tickets to the Shedd and the Field Museum. With in walking distance of many good restaurants.
It was very quiet there. We didnt hear a lot of extra noise, we were right by the elevator and we didnt hear it opening and closing or anything like that. We could hardly hear anyone out in the hall it is that sound proof and a lot of hotels I have stayed in are so noisy.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cllnsn2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Branch, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2011

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Chicago. The price was right, free parking and great location near Mag mile and lots of great restaurants

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakebrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel May 1st through May 6th. We were happy with our stay at the River North Best Western. The location can't be beat! You are within walking distance of Michigan Avenue, the loop, the subway and area attractions you may want to visit. Several great restaurants are within walking distance as well. The room we stayed in was a little smaller than what we're used to, but considering we were only using the room to sleep in, that wasn't really an issue. My one biggest complaint was the fact that the bed was hard for me. Again, a minor issue, but something worth noting. The rooms were clean and the maid service was great! The view from the deck outside the pool on the roof was really great! If I can make one general comment, if you are doing a lot of traveling around Chicago on your stay, DO use public transportation to get around! The subway station is only a few blocks away and parking garages for one day cost you as much a 3 day pass through CTA. Well worth the money (if you don't mind taking the subway/buses around town). Also, if you can, go to the museums early in the week as there were hardly any people there! All in all we had a great trip, a great stay and will definitely be going back again in the future! :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtodey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Property: Best Western River North Hotel
Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing