We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, it was clean...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #98 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2011

I suspect some rooms are better than others. The floor of our bathroom was painted cement, which got slippery because there was no fan to remove the steam. The television was next to the bed, so watching it would have strained our necks. It was tiny, gloomy, and a little smelly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,251)
There are newer reviews for Best Western River North Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,927 - 1,933 of 2,251 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2011

• Clearly identifiable noise/vibration in the room (at the back side of the hotel, room no. 311)
- the noice was audible after switching the AC off and even with earplugs on; it was similar to the airplane noise, but of a changeable pattern, which makes sleeping with it impossible;
- the vibration was visible on the surface of a bottle of watter standing on the cupboard b/n beds.

• Friendly, but indifferent night staff
- over the phone (about 10pm): the receptionist advised to wait 30 minutes after turning the AC off so that the noise disappears; when informed that the noise remains the receptionist explained that till the morning there are no technicians available in the hotel and on call, and that the technician “will visit the room first thing in the morning”;
- at the reception (about 11pm): the receptionist explained that the hotel was completely sold out and there is no other room available;
- at the reception (2-nd visit about 12pm): the receptionist did not suggest any other solution, e.g. transferring to the nearest Best Western (or another hotel).

• Friendly, but unprofessional management
- at the reception (after waiting for a technician till about 8am on the next morning): the Manager was uninformed about the issue reported the previous night; she was surprised that nobody came to check the noise in the room last night; she visited the room with a technician and immediately heard the noise/vibration; she suggested another room, which to the current room was… NOT at the back side of the hotel, but at the street side where at 8am the daily traffic was up to full speed, and where sleeping after a sleepless night was impossible.

Being a Best Western Platinum Elite member, I know that every Best Western hotel has a separate owner. I have checked out of the hotel right after the first night, despite that I have booked two nights there. Of course, I was fully reimbursed, but deprived from sleep at the beginning of the last day of my vacation. I booked this hotel because the location seemed good and since the hotel is a PLUS Best Western hotel. This place deserves a MINUS.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hkk75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2011

We appreciate your feedback and as in our previous email to the survey you responsed to, we sincerely apologize your stay was less than expected. Unfortunately when the incident occured there were no other vacant rooms available, but as you mentioned the following morning a new room was offered. Our hotel, along with the Best Western chain appreciates your business and we will use your feedback as a tool in improving our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We drove to Illinois for a graduation and planned to meet with family for three days in Chicago. The majority of area hotels were booked, but this hotel had vacancies so we reserved the rooms. I was impressed with the location of the hotel, it was across the street from the Rock N Roll McDonalds, Rainforest Cafe and Walgreens, and it was within walking distance of so many of the city's highlights. The hotel itself was clean, but it was definitely old. It had a very musty smell, which they attempted to cover with some sort of perfumed disinfectant throughout the hotel which was so strong it was sickening. We brought the odor home on all of our belongings. The bathroom could have used some updating and the toilet gurgled all night. We had to keep the bathroom door closed so we could drown out the noise. The elevator was extremely tiny and slow, it was faster to use the stairs. Free parking was provided, which is highly unusual for a Chicago hotel. The restaurant and bar staff were very friendly and personable. The food and service were great. I can't say the same for the front desk staff. They weren't downright rude, but they made us feel like we weren't truly welcome. I wouldn't rate this property "poor" and it's not quite "average" either, but I rated it as such because there is no option for "below average". I don't have any major complaints about this hotel, but I will never stay here again. Luckily, we were not in our rooms for most of our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoodyearGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

We apologize your experience was less than you expected. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve our service and product. I have shared your comments with the appropriate departments so we can insure any corrective measures needed will take place. Your experience is not typical of our hotel and we hope you give us another chance in your future trips to Chicago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We stayed here with our two 8 year old grandsons for 3 nights. I was a little bit concerned based on a few older reviews, but we decided to go ahead and stay here because of the free parking, and I am so glad that we made that choice.

We had a two room suite that was about the size of a small apartment. The grandsons had their own room with a sofa sleeper, wall mounted flat screen tv, chair and table. There was a refrigerator and coffee maker in the room.

Our bedroom had a queen size bed with four pillows and a body pillow, also with wall mounted flat screen tv. The mattress was very firm and I would have preferred it to be softer, but I know that most people prefer firm mattresses.

Bathroom was cute with black and white tile and extras that you wouldn't expect in a lower cost hotel - blow dryer, toiletries, and a dispenser in the shower with soap, shampoo, etc. We had plenty of hot water.

Our room had wrap round windows which made it seem even bigger and more spacious. They were too high for the grandsons to see out of, but we lifted them up to get a view.

Having a pool was a necessity with our grandsons, and this was probably the best hotel pool they have ever seen. It was huge! And it was never overly crowded, I don't think there was ever more than 10 or so in the pool There are chairs to relax on if you don't want to swim. There was always a supply of towels in the pool area for the swimmers.

The outdoor deck is small, but we enjoyed relaxing out there and looking at the lights of the city and enjoying the wonderful breeze on a very warm night. The deck is just past the pool, so we were able to relax on the deck but yet be very close to our grandsons while they swam in the pool.

The free parking is definitely a huge draw for anyone who has a car. We were able to park our vehicle ourselves when we arrived, and one time when we returned we had to leave it for the attendant to park. No problem - when we needed it the next day it only took a couple of minutes for the attendant to get it for us. No delays.

The neighborhood is full of restaurants within walking distance - RainForest Cafe is across the street, Rock & Roll McDonalds right across the street, Ginos, Ed Debevics, Portillos all within a couple of blocks. Seems to be a very safe neighborhood - we were out at night and felt perfectly safe.

My only suggestion would be to put microwaves in the suites. We brought food back from restaurants on several occasions and appreciated having a refrigerator to put the food in, but it would have been nice to be able to heat the food in a microwave.

There is a restaurant on-site and we ate breakfast there twice. It was good and only cost us about $8 more than we spent eating at McDonalds (and the food was much better).

Another perk was a book case in the lobby with books that you can take and keep (or leave a book if you have one). I have never encountered that before, but appreciated it as it gave me the opportunity to read a book while the boys were swimming - and then take the book home with me to finish reading!

We did hear some street noise, but we are not light sleepers and it did not bother us at all.

We were very satisfied with everything at this hotel, and will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Chicago.

Room Tip: speak to reservations agent request a nice room
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jlr51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Thank you for the great comments! We appreciate your business. We are glad you enjoyed our Open Bookshelf. Having these books in the lobby allows us to offer something unexpected to our guests and the bookshelf helps support literacy programs in Chicago through the non-profit organization Open Books.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

While attending our son's graduation from DePaul University in Chicago with family and friends, we returned to the Best Western Plus River North Hotel. After a few stays at this hotel for visits to our son at school we decided this was our best option. The rooms seem to be all renovated and they look Great. New carpet, furniture and bedding. Even carpet in the stairwells.I think it is the Only hotel in town with FREE parking, which saves you about $25 a day A large indoor pool on the top floor with an outside sundeck. Staff were all great, front desk, parking attendents and service rep. Wallace Pope for his help and suggestions. The area is close to all attractions and many restaurants Weber Grill, Texas De Brazil, P F Changs, Pizza Uno, Portellos, Rain Forest Cafe and many bars and night spots. The red line is only a couple blocks away.Tour buses can be found across the street next to McDonalds. Chicago is a Great city and the Best Western River North is a great deal. For your best bang for the buck in Chicago, This is The Place.
Jerry in Ct.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jkesn228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Thank for your positive comments! two of our hotels greatest assets are our value and Wallace! Thanks for mentioning both. Our hotel did just complete a renovation and we are glad you enjoyed the new accomodations. Again, thanks for your continued patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights with my husband and our young kids while on a trip to Chi town. I chose the hotel cuz I read favorable reviews from Frommers, plus since we had our car with us the free parking was a deal clincher. The hotel is located in the River North district and is steps away from everything. The location couldn't be better! The rock 'n roll McDonalds is across the street, and several of Chicago`s top dining spots are a short walk away (Gino`s East, Pizzeria Uno, Due, Xoco, Frontera, Portillo`s...you name it)!

The lobby is clean and nicely decorated. They also had complimentary coffee and tea. The room was clean and very spacious and appeared to have been recently refurbished. The decor was nice, and I liked the fact that there was a sink in the bathroom as well as one in the vanity area, so two people could get ready at the same time! Rooms are not as nice as say the Westin or Marriott, but for the price paid it was everything I expected and then some.

The free parking was such a bonus! We could leave our car at the hotel and walk to all of Chicago`s major attractions (we walked to the John Hancock, mag mile, Navy Pier, Millenium park and the Loop area--with kids)!

The rooftop patio is very nice and you can get some nice pictures from up there. The kids really enjoyed the pool and my hubby also used the workout room.

Overall, would definitely recommend staying here and wouldn`t hesitate to return on a future trip!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TOtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We (4 people) stayed here for 2 nights. Room was nice and big (although not all of the rooms were as big as ours, we did just get lucky to have an over-sized room). Everything was clean, beds were very comfortable. We checked around the mattresses for bedbugs (I always do this no matter where I stay) and the mattresses looked brand new. Beds were doubles, not queens, which was fine for us, but might not be for everyone.

The building itself is a little rundown, but clean, and our room was perfectly fine. AC worked great, we had two sinks which was helpful with 4 women, and the shower was great.

Pool area was rather dismal-looking. I can't really put my finger on it, just wasn't anywhere I wanted to hang out. I worked out both mornings in the workout room. They have an elliptical, treadmill, recumbant bike, and a resistance machine. Equipment was nice and new, but the room was SMALL and got extremely hot and stuffy. Cannot even imagine how it would be with 2 or 3 people working out at the same time. There's a water cooler in there though, with nice fresh cold water, which was appreciated!

We will definitely return, as the location and price cannot be beat. We walked everywhere, to the beach, to Michigan Ave, to restaurants, and it was very convenient to my favorite restaurants, Topolobampo and Frontera Grill on Clark St.

Disappointments were: no breakfast, and no hot tub in the pool area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deadhead30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#105 of 191 in Chicago
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £73 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing