We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great home base in Chicago” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Ranked #100 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Northwest Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great home base in Chicago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

I stayed at the Best Western River North in Chicago for 2 nights and it was a great hotel for price, convenience and location. We were on the third floor in a double room in the annex building (not much of a veiw out the window thought). Rooms are fine, not overly spacious, but adequate for the amount of time spent in the room. Everything was clean and well maintained. The three best things about the hotel are the free parking, the location - near Michigan avenue, the river, Millenium Park and the rooftop terrace. We really enjoyed a nice summer evening up there, eating Chicago style pizza from the restaurant next door, enjoying a cocktail, and watching the lights of the city come on. I would definitely stay here again. Only downside - is I wish I would have brought my own pillow - theirs were way too puffy!

Room Tip: We needed to park two cars in out group, and they were able to accomodate us (2nd car has to pay and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdrane56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    823
    303
    117
    70
See reviews for
774
551
74
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

My family of four stayed here the start of july. The location and the free parking sold us on the hotel. The room was recently updated a very well maintained. When we arrived and the staff was very helpful in getting us settled in. They also were very helpful with seeing the sights and places to eat. The pool was a nice extra at the end of the day for the boys and a great view at the top of the hotel. Our only disappointment was the wifi. It was no exsistent in our room (our room was as far from the lobby as you could get in the back corner of the hotel) and spotty in the pool area. The location of the hotel which is in walking distance to many places to eat and Michigan Ave. was great. Thanks to Wallace for all the great tips and guidance during our stay there he was a big help!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgenske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We picked this hotel because it offers FREE parking for the guests and it is still located right in the center of Chicago.
The rooms and pool are nice an clean and the staff friendly. The restaurant in the hotel is quite expensive and not very good. But with so many great restaurants in walking distance, one really doesnt need it anyway.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sansunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Thank you for your comments. Our Free Parking is a popular amenity, as we are the only downtown hotel to offer this to guests. We hope to have you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville OH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel last week and chose the hotel for value. If you are going to Chicago on a budget, this is the hotel for you. You don't pay a daily rate for parking and the hotel is within walking distance of many restaurants, shopping and the Willis Tower. It is a close drive to Navy Pier and the Museum Campus. I agree with other reviewers that the room was a bit loud due to street traffic and the AC unit but this is not something that the hotel can help necessarily. If you keep the AC unit running, the humming from the unit drowns out the noise from the street. The AC worked very well, the rooms were clean, the bathrooms were a bit small, and the beds a bit hard BUT I certainly got what I wanted from the room.....a clean room at a reasonable price. The kids enjoyed swimming in the indoor pool and I enjoyed the coffee maker in the room each morning. The paper was also provided each morning. If you are looking for elegance and extra amenities and have the money to spend on those things, then pick a different hotel but if you are looking for an average room at an extremely reasonable price, then this is the place for you. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katy, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

The overall purpose of our trip was to attend my younger daughter's competition. Since my older daughter was planning on meeting us, we decided to make it a mini vacation and take advantage of some of the sites the city has to offer. The Best Western River North is located within a few blocks of the blue and orange CTA lines, making it very accessible from either of the airports. Every morning, we were able to easily walk for breakfast. The free trolley for the Navy Pier is just a short walk away from the hotel. One day we walked a few blocks to the Magnificent Mile, and even made time to enjoy a deep dish pizza in the hotel's Pizzeria Ora.

Since we knew that we would spend very little time in our room, I wanted to spend as little as possible on a clean, adequate room. This Best Western met all of our needs and then some. The staff was helpful and friendly, we took advantage of the discounted ticket for some of the area's attractions that are available at the front desk. One afternoon we briefly visited the roof top pool, and were the only people at the pool. I must admit, the view is a little lame thought.

Room Tip: Don't expect the luxury of the Hilton for the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beds1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We chose this hotel exclusively for the location and the free parking, both of which we did enjoy. It was a great location for us to catch the trolley across the street at the Hard Rock McDonalds. And we dined at nearby Ginos, Hard Rock Cafe, Rainforest Cafe, and McDonalds, all within a minute walk. It also should be noted that the staff, every single one of them we encountered, was super helpful and courteous. That being said, I would not suggest this hotel because it is very old (don't be fooled by the "remodel") and lacks amenities. I kid you not, they replaced the entire AC unit in our room 2 of the 3 nights we were there! The walls are paper-thin and you can hear every noise around you as if they were in the same room. Elevators take several minutes, even in non-peak times. Also, we found the bathrooms too small.

Room Tip: Try to stay no higher than the 2nd floor so you can use the stairways as opposed to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mykcrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
We will share your great comments about or staff with our team members, I am sure they will appreciate them! We sincerely apologize for the issue with your air conditioner, we agree this should not have happened. It was an unusual circumstance and I can understand how it effected your stay. We hope we have the opportunity to earn back your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. We chose it because parking was free and I think it is the only downtown hotel that has free parking. The parking lot was fenced and we felt our car was safe there.

The hotel is at a busy intersection but noise was not a concern. The blues club next door is well worth a visit and I was surprised there was no cover charge. Good music and reasonable priced beer - great deal.

The area felt safe and we walked everywhere. The hotel is close to downtown. We took the architectural boat cruise along the river which was well worth it but otherwise just walked around.

The hotel has a restaurant attached and we ate there most of the time. The god was good, portions good and prices reasonable.

The hotel and restaurant staff were helpful and friendly.

We would recommend this place and would not bother looking elsewhere if we return to Chicago.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654-4410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your BEST WESTERN River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing