We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western River North Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$435
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$370
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Central Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$664
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$508
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$534
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$508
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$730
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$659
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$711
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$665
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$725
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$693
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
River Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$613
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$583
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$805
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$726
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$626
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$599
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$643
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$612
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,459)
Filter reviews
2,459 results
Traveller rating
961
937
350
137
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
961
937
350
137
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrainforest cafepizzeria orahard rock cafegreat locationparking attendantwithin walking distancedowntown chicagoohio streetrooftop deckriver northindoor poolnavy piertop flooran older hotelfew blocksstreet noisethe magnificent mile
Filter
Updating list...
2,084 - 2,089 of 2,459 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The staff was absolutely wonderful! Every question we had was answered promptly and they gave us great advice. They helped us book an architectural boat tour, which we loved. Also, when we left, they shook our hands and wished us a good trip. All of this sounds so insignificant by itself, but paired with the clean room, amazing location, and free parking - this is a hotel I will definitely be back to and recommend to anyone going to Chicago!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodee1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

Thank you for the positive comments. We look forward to see ing you back soon and thanks for recommending us to others!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We walked in and the bellman treated us like we were his oldest and dearest friends. THhe front desk staff was pleasant and professional. The parking staff made us feel welcome. The rate was reasonable, we enjoyed the free parking and free breakfast. It was close (6 blocks) to the Miracle mile and lots of great restaurants close by. The bellman was happy and efficient in haling a cab for a longer trip and the workout room was clean and the pool looked nice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This was our honeymoon. A bit of a budget so we saved on the parking. It is an older building so don't expect modernism. Our room was cozy but gets the job done. An older building. For the most part the pictures are accurate...you get a chessboard bathroom. We had a side bathroom to the sink counter with a door that closes tightly to the toilet or gets caught on the shower mat with the door clearance. Oh yeah...in room safe in the sink area -- was a nice surprise.

I have a pool at home. That pool was more insanitary than say a public swimming pool. I would never let kids swim in that dirty water. Poor ventilation left the pool air heavy and icky. I said to my wife, "We came, we saw, we are going back to our room." and the husband with his family standing next to us joked "Well it looked good in the pictures."

On the plus side...one of the hugest McDonalds I have ever seen on the opposite side of the road for that late night ice cream treat. Free parking and a solid working wi-fi is definitely a plus with access all over downtown within a 15 minute walk or a 10-20 minute bus ride.

High notes nearby: Rainforest Cafe, Hard Rock Cafe, Gino's East Pizza, Uno's Pizza, movie theaters, Walgreen's, Magnificent Mile...restaurants all over within a block or two from this hotel. It does make up for the shortcomings in the pool / space. The in-house bar / restaurant / breakfast is good for the value and our waitress/front desk staff was very sweet and polite. There are passes available to buses, museums and stuff from the from desk for equal or better value. Get them at the front desk to venues like Shedd Aquarium or be forced to wait in huge lineups at the gate.

I could give this 4/5 but the hotel itself is not getting the high marks...just the location, the staff friendliness and the free parking/wi-fi.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanWithAnEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Our love of this hotel started prior to even arriving! My husband is from Chicago, so we spend A LOT of time there visiting family. We booked our vacation in March 2010, only to find out in May 2010 that our dates needed to change.......when we called a young man named Brendon was so accommodating that I actually posted a compliment on the hotel's Facebook page about him!
When we arrived to the hotel with 2 kids (newborn included) we honestly joked that we were treated like we were at a 5 star hotel...everyone from the doorman, parking assistants, front door staff and attached restaurant were fantastic! (BTW, the deep dish is to die for...better than Gino's East, Seriously!)
Our room was gigantic, clean, and modern...the pool and patio were awesome and kept clean (we called for towels a few times, and they arrived within minutes).
Truthfully I could go on and on about the ease, modernness, amenities, parking, wi-fi, pool, location, staff, deep dish at restaurant......haha!
We will be back SOON!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeattleSerena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2011

WOW...we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor. It truely is our goal to make all our guests feel as welcome as we did for you. Thanks for also for the "Like" and mention on Facebook! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I wasn't sure what to expect and from the moment we got there until we left everyone was so helpful. The free parking was great, we pre-registered early so we could catch the red line to Wrigley Field and then after the game we checked in and then on our last day we were able to check out and leave the car parked there until 5pm. The location wasn't far from anything. The rooms were clean, service was always pleasant and timely. The elevators were slow so we used the stairs majority of the time since it's only 5 floors. We didn't use the pool or gym but it was a nice setup and would hopefully in the future. We would absolutely stay there next time we go to Chicago.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandBArmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews