We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to downtown but a little disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Ranked #102 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
“Close to downtown but a little disappointed”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I recently took my daughters to Chicago for a girls weekend. I had done alot or research online prior to making reservations at this hotel. When we first arrived, we were a little early and tried to check in and were told our room wouldn't be ready until 3:00 pm. No problem, we were hungry so we went and got something to eat and came back at 3:00. the lobby was a disaster! People standing around waiting for a room (over 40 people!) the front desk was completely unorganized and kept telling us that our rooms weren't ready. We ended up standing there waiting for almost an hour to check into our room! We finally get to our room - which was very nice I might add, a small sitting area with a fold out loveseat/bed, flat screen tv and desk and a second room with a king sized bed, another flat screen and dressers. Well we started hearing loud banging noises next to our room repeatedly! Our room was next to a storage room so I was afraid to know what was going on in there! I called the front desk and they sent someone to check it out. Turns out the swimming pool was directly over our room and what we were hearing was people jumping inn and out of the pool! The maintenance man acted surprised to learn that this was occuring! Give me a break! I cant be the first person to stay in this room and complain about the very loud banging noise! No one offered to change our room, give us a discount or anything else! We had to live with this for the entire 4 days we were there!! If it werent for the free parking I don't know that I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geewhiz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell about your experience at River North Hotel. We appreciate the kind comments regarding the room. We do apologize your stay was less then you had expected. This is not the typical experience at River North hotel and we do appreciate the feedback. We hope you will give us a second chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    828
    305
    118
    70
See reviews for
784
553
74
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I was tired of paying to house my car in downtown Chicago and remembered this location from when I lived in Chicago. It has been rehabbed and the room was great - very well decorated and functional. There was a coffeemaker in the room, of course but also coffee service in the lobby as well as a computer for hotel guests.
I was able to walk to the Ritz-Carlton where I was working and the car was not used until we drove away. All so easy!
We were able to do self-park and could retrieve items from the car when necessary
I am sure we paid the maximum hotel rate as there were 2 conventions in town.

Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank twincopagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience at River North Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad you remember our hotel! We also appreciate the comments regarding our room renovations, we just completed them this year. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This was my first stay at this hotel and I would definately stay again. The location is great, just a few short blocks from Michigan Ave and if you are driving into town, you cannot beat the free parking. Staff was very friendly and room was very clean. Loved the roof top pool and patio. The only down side was that the pull out couch in our suite was listed to sleep 2, but it was clearly only a single so we had to rent a cot.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganWoodster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Certainly not a high end downtown hotel but not a bad stay overall. The rooms are good size and clean. You’re within walking distance from anywhere in the near north side. The morning USA today was a nice surprise. WARNING: The reviews you read about the restaurant are true. Too many great places to eat nearby, don’t waste your time there. The WI-FI in my room was terrible. I was lucky to connect at all and when I did it was very slow. Also, without a car you miss the value of the free parking and may pickup that lost value in another downtown hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Great find. I did a lot of research trying to find a budget hotel in downtown Chicago. This was the only one that did not charge an arm and a leg for parking (it’s actually FREE). It is in a great location, the room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff was helpful and friendly!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenjamie816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Hi Lauren, thank you for staying with BEST WESTERN PLUS River North Hotel, we appreciate your business and the nice comments. You're rights, we are the only hotel in downtown Chicago that offers free parking! Glad you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

I would recommend a stay at Best Western River North, Chicago IF you are travelling with children. All in all, this one falls under, you get what you pay for.
The Service
Nothing terribly special about the service although everyone was friendly enough. The check in / out processes were quick. The concierge service was helpful and did assist us in purchasing discounted tickets to the city tour bus.
The Room
The room was nothing special but it was clean. The view from our room was of a back alleyway and was actually quite uncomfortable as our windows were only 10 feet across from a series of residential balconies. The walls are paper thin, as are the ceilings. Normally not complainers, we had to call the front desk to ask them to request the party above us stop stomping/jumping at 11pm. The desk complied and for the most part the noise subsided. None of us slept well unfortunately.
We had a coupon to upgrade to a suite, however at 3pm they were sold out of suites.
Amenities
Once you figure out which elevator to take to the pool be prepared to be at a splash party. Admittadly not a huge kid person, the pool was infested at all times with tons of kids and kid toys. A quiet adult swim from perhaps 9-10 before the pool closes would have been appreciated. The free wifi does not work except for very early in the morning when few guests are on. Be prepared to hand over your car keys on arrival, your car will be parked for you and only accessible upon request. We were not prepared for that and it caused a bit of a rush to unload the car with limited parking space but the attendants were nice.
Location
The location was great and the best part of this hotel, most notably close to the hop on / hop on tour bus stop, within walking distance to the Miracle Mile and to good restaurants.

Room Tip: If you sign up for the hotels enewsletter (through the River North location website) you will receiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evarett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The location of the hotel is very convenient. A lot of restaurants nearby within walking distance such as Mcdonald's, Portillo's, Hardrock Cafe, Rainforest Cafe, etc. You can walk to Michigan Ave. (The Magnificent Mile) in minutes. The rooms are newly renovated. The staffs are very friendly. Don't forget to purchase your tickets for various attractions in Chicago at the hotel desk as they offer tickets at a discounted price and could save you a lot of money on admission fees. We only knew this at the last day of our stay and is not benefits from it. May I suggest the hotel should post a flyer in every room so that hotel guests are well inform ahead.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heheharhar13579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654-4410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing