We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western River North Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$382
US$274
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Peninsula Chicago(Chicago)
US$570
US$532
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$247
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$253
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$263
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$227
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$649
US$421
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$233
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$327
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$193
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,431)
Filter reviews
2,431 results
Traveller rating
944
929
347
137
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
944
929
347
137
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrainforest cafepizzeria orahard rock cafegreat locationparking attendantwithin walking distancedowntown chicagoohio streetrooftop deckriver northindoor poolnavy piertop flooran older hotelfew blocksstreet noisethe magnificent mile
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,040 - 2,045 of 2,431 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Our departure was delayed and we were pretty much camped out in the lobby for a couple hours. The staff was patient and so helpful. There were plenty of restaurant choices close by. Rooms were clean and rates very affordable. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyWestBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2011

Thank you for the comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. I will let the staff know you appreciated them. The highest compliment you can give a hotel is that you would recommend us to others, thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

My husband & I recommend this hotel for the friendly service, clean rooms, great location, & free parking. On past visits to Chicago the parking has been a nightmare, so kuddos to Best Western River North for solving that problem!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cadunkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Selected this property based on the much lower room rate compared to other area hotels, free parking and breakfast and TripAdvisor ratings and being fairly close to an L station; very happy with the results.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaneRidgeJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Chicago was our first stop on our route 66 trip across America.
Finding the hotel was nice and easy and once we were checked in we were allowed to go and park our car in the main carpark which looked safe enough.

The room we got was way bigger than we expected and everything was lovely and clean, with a huge bed, coffee making facilities, a sofa and table area aswell as a desk and a huge bed and 2 flat screen TVs!!

The only slight downside was that the windows were too high to look out of due to the aircon unit being on the window sill but that didnt bother us one bit - who wants to stay in their room in Chicago and only look out of the window??

The staff were extremely friendly checking in and offered help with our cases. There was a pool that we looked at but didnt use, seemed nice enough but looked better for kids than adults.

We went out to explore and had a lovely walk down to the Navy Pier which wasnt too far away. The Pier was well worth a trip and we enjoyed our first beer whilst watching a live band play.

There were plenty of shops and places to eat. We chose the Hard Rock cafe which was nice and close to the hotel. My husband had a pulled pork sandwich and I had a burger (although I much preferred his!).

The room was nice and quiet, we didnt hear anyone all evening apart from a little traffic noise outside.

Check out was just as easy as check in and overall we had a brilliant time in this hotel - I wouldnt hesitate to go back there or recommend it to my friends/family.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bumblebee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our rooms, cleanliness and staff. We appreciate the time you took to let others know of your experience at our hotel. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Free parking and a pool with comfortable bed, relaxing colour scheme in bedroom and helpful staff made this a hotel one I would recommend if staying in Chicago.Within walking distance of many attractions it is well situated without being very expensive.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a nice view but we booked late.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bready207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews