We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was so disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #94 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Not the dirtiest place, but close to it. The hair in the tub was awful & this place had blood stains on the comforter. What's worse it that housekeeping didn't know how to make a bed- the clean sheets were placed on top of the gross blanket with blood on it, leaving the blanket to be directly on anyone in that bed!! Ew. The curtains were very old with holes in them so even if you did try to close them at night (since Chi town never sleeps) it let a majority of the light through. The noise was horrible and I can normally sleep in places fairly easily - I hardly got rest at this hotel. The gym is 1 treadmill 1 elliptical 1 "multi cable" area that didn't function well (old, rusty & dirty). Housekeeping was cleaning it while I was in there & she wiped down the foot pedals of the elliptical & vacuumed. Nothing else. It smelled horrible & didn't have a temp control so heat was blowing frequently and the room was only about 8x10? If anyone else would've been in there it would be crowded.

Staff was nice though & Internet was slow in the room (intermittent connectivity). Pizza place was connected & it was reasonably priced & food was decent.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InternationalJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2011

We apologize for your experience, this is not typically what we hear about our hotel. We take great pride in our property and our guests normally comment positively about our housekeeping staff. Thank you for taking the time to let us know, it will allow us to investigate and insure another guest does not have a similar experience. We also appreciate your positive commentes regarding the staff. We would welcome the chance to earn back your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,920 - 1,926 of 2,330 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2011

My sister and I just got back from a two-night stay at this hotel. We were in Chicago for appt's at Northwestern Hospital. Very convenient to the hospital; free parking was great; close to shopping and restaurants. The hotel staff was helpful and courteous. They put us near an elevator which was very helpful due to my sister's medical condition. Room was large, clean and updated. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bett10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2011

Thank you for your business and your comments, we will share them with the staff. We agree that Value and Location are two of our best attributes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel while visiting Chicago and the stay there exceded our expectations. The room was large and very nice. The people there were great. They went out of their way to make our stay a great one. They helped us arrange tours and lead us in the right direction to get the most of our stay. I would stay here again and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shlawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We ALWAYS stay here when traveling with the family. Location is GREAT, very clean, free parking, comfortable beds, helpful staff, good pizza restaurant downstairs. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

My husband and I stayed here overnight during the Thanksgiving break away from relatives and kids and were very pleased with the choice. It's one of the few (maybe only) downtown Chicago hotels that offers free parking and is well located to walk to interesting restaurants and Michigan Avenue shopping. The hotel has a nice indoor rooftop pool (but not jacuzzi..slightly disappointing) and well-appointed rooms and everything's very clean.. The room decor is distinctive and pleasing (cool greens & grays) and staff friendly if not fully informed (a desk clerk recommended a restaurant that had been out of business for 5 months and a bill for the night got slid under our door though we'd booked via Skoosh-- a mistake readily remedied but shouldn't have happened!) Also Internet was down part of the time. But that may not happen often: we talked to a self-identified business traveler on the (small!) elevator who volunteered that he'd stayed there repeatedly over a number of years and always been satisfied.

To avoid city garbage truck noise that other posts warn against, we requested a room on the top (5th) floor. The noise did wake me anyway, but not for long, and probably unavoidable in a cty. The hotel was quiet inside although fully booked and with some families. Booking tip: we had got what we thought was a best possible rate by booking with a discount service about 6 weeks in advance. I felt glad of the foresight when I checked again about 3 days in advance with the hotel website (as we could cancel the other booking), for the hotel was totally sold out. But, surprisingly, the bill slipped under the door was for $25. LESS than we'd paid! Another time we'd find the best refundable rate well in advance but check about 1-2 weeks in advance directly on the hotel site, which might offer the best deals. We'll in any case likely stay here again, which we can't say about many of the hotels in the north-of- Chicago-loop area we've tried.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank college_prof_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Thank you for your comments, and you are correct we are the only hotel downtown to offer our guests free parking! We are glad you found the rooms clean and that you will visit us again. We sincerely appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We booked a suite for 2 nights - the rooms were very clean and the location is fantastic for the price. I was thoroughly pleased with the accommodations and the friendly staff. Would definitely stay at the Best Western River North location again! Highly recommended

Room Tip: Suite was spacious and clean - very comfortable with a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Although we only stayed here 1 night and didn't get a chance to experience breakfast, we were met with very friendly employees and had a smooth check in/check out process. The location couldn't have been better. There was so much to see and do within walking distance from the hotel, I wish we could have spent more time there. The reason for our trip was to go to the Bears game and they were gracious enough to let us park at the hotel until the game was over later that evening with no charge, even though we were due to check out that morning. The parking was free to begin with so that was another nice feature of the hotel.

I would definitely choose this hotel again if/when I return to Chicago!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heatherh1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Thank you for the positive comments regarding our hotel and the staff. We will make sure the staff is aware of your compliments! We hope next time you are in Chicago you can stay a little longer, it is a great city with a lot to offer! We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#106 of 192 in Chicago
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654-4410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £67 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing