We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Access”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #91 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I've stayed at this hotel twice each time for a week. Besides being the absolute best value in downtown Chicago because of price and free parking, it is also clean and the staff is very considerate and helpful. The hotel is older and a little dated, but you can't beat the location. It's just a few blocks from some of my favorite restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel for the budget minded individual or family that wants to experience this great city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,788 - 1,794 of 2,388 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

Pros: Reasonable Price for Downtown, Free Parking, Location to Good Food and Attractions, Helpful Recommendations from Front Desk, Clean Room and Smells Great, Fun Rooftop Deck with View, Comfy Bed Linens with Firm Bed, Easy to Use In- Room Safe Easy, Free WiFi

Cons: Parking is Tight, Air Conditioner is Loud but Drowns Out Street Noise, Small Elevators and #3 Elevator Closes Way to Fast, Layout is a Little Confusing and Only 1 Out of 3 elevators reaches the top floor (pool) and lobby floor, Pizzeria Ora breakfast is poor quality, Bathroom Pretty Small, Vending/Ice Machine not on Every Floor, Speed of WiFi

Room Tip: Let the front desk know if you plan to use the pool/rooftop deck a lot. It is a lot easier to get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsdokken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I stayed there based on the other reviews and I have to say they are very accurate. Staff is great, rooms very well maintaned and the location is fantastic. Please, go to ginos east on your first day!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuanManuel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate guests taking the time to share their experiences both with us and other travelers. We're happy to see that you had a great stay with us! And we're glad you found the vast majority of reviews on here to be a fair depiction of our services and that it accurately predicted your pleasant stay. If you come back to Chicago, please come see us again! We'd love to have you back and show you even more of the Windy City.

Sam
Assoc. Marketing Mgr.

p.s. Great tip about Gino's East pizza! It's a great choice for Chicago deep-dish and some of our staff is headed there for a dinner next week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

The hotel is located within walking distance of so many attractions and also offers free parking. The rooms were nice and the bed was really comfortable. The people at the desk were so helpful in so many ways and very friendly. They have printed directions to several of the attractions and also offer discounted tickets to some. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: They offer rooms with refrigerators and microwaves for $10 more if you request them in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snt314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This is a great mid-range hotel. First-rate location, great value for money, a rooftop pool with spectacular views and big rooms (although the aircon is noisy). Staff are very friendly and gave us a great recommendation for breakfast one morning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank namosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We returned last night after spending four nights at this hotel, which is the perfect location! Across the street from Hard Rock Cafe, Rain Forest Cafe, McDonalds and the Hop-on Hop off pickup. It is within easy walking distance from the Riverwalk and there are many restaurants in the area. A Blues Club is right around the corner.

The room was basic and was clean, could tell it had recently been freshly pained; clean towels every day. Free wifi and free parking!

The staff couldn't have been more pleasant - cleaning staff, the restaurant and the front desk. We were always greeted with a smile and they answered any questions we had.

Lovely pool and terrace on the top floor (unfortunately we were too busy to take advantage).

TV - tricky finding regular TV channels, always went to Pay for View movies but it didn't take rocket science to figure it out. having couple of stairs to get up while dragging a suitcase may be hard for some people but if they asked for assistance I am sure someone would be more than willing to help.

All in all I would highly recommend this hotel.

Thank you Best Western Plus River North

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on TripAdvisor. We read every single one and are always incorporating feedback in order to provide better experiences for guests in the future. We're so glad to see you enjoyed your stay! The tips are good ones for other guests to see, and we really appreciate your high recommendation of us to other travelers. And congratulations on an amazing 51 years of marriage! We're really honored that you trusted us to provide you with a great experience during such an important event. Thank you!

Sam
Assoc. Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Chicago hotels are very expensive. This one was reasonable, in a great spot, clean, and the front desk was very helpful. The room had been updated and was spotless. The cleaning staff did a great job every day. I wont say they are ultra luxurious (the rooms) but they were everything we needed. Within blocks of all kinds of interesting spots. You can catch the Chicago trolley within a block as well as locate a number of good restaurants within a block or two as well. Great Irish bar and blues club close. Give this a go as we can't imagine anything that is more value for your dollar.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonnyBoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#107 of 192 in Chicago
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654-4410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#54 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £62 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing