We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tight rooms, nice pool & service! Good location & Free parking!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Ranked #102 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tight rooms, nice pool & service! Good location & Free parking!”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This a great hotel option for traveling to Chicago! The prices were very decent for the location! It's a short 15 minute (8 block walk) to the water front with lovely shops on the way there! The lobby is small and nice, with great team members! They always had the best suggestions and were very helpful! The free parking was a definite plus, but it's soooooooo tight! You're blocked in until you leave! And then, workers have to move their cars for you to leave, but hey it's free !! The rooms: Very tightly packed with double beds... bathroom tiny but it was usable The view ... oh god the ghetto. Lol, Would stay here again! P.S. Try Eggspearience and Chicago Q! Two AMAZING restraunt! OH! The pool was huge & great! BUT ADD A HOT TUB!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Thank you for writing a review of us on TripAdvisor. We really do appreciate the feedback and incorporate it into making our hotel better at providing a great experience for our guests. We're so happy that you found the friendly staff and service helpful. That's a win for us! And we're glad you got to enjoy the pool and our other amenities. You mention the room size, and I think you'll find rooms downtown in Chicago tend to be more economically spaced in general, though you'll have to be the final judge on that of course. And we're sorry to see you found the parking tight. It can sometimes be a very busy parking lot, particularly on really busy weekends in Chicago, but know that in the future all guests have free in & out privileges, even if they're temporarily blocked in - our attendants are always happy to get you on your way as soon as possible.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope you come to see us again on your next trip to Chicago! Ask one of the concierges or front desk agents for their favorites sites/eats around the city. It's a great way to get an "insider's tip".

Sam
Assoc. Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    829
    305
    118
    70
See reviews for
784
553
74
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
256 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I chose this hotel based on other reviews on TripAdvisor and I am so glad I did. My room was clean, the staff was absolutely wonderful- especially Michael at the front desk- and the location in Chicago was perfect. Close to Michigan Ave., Hard Rock Cafe, great dining options, and great blues club. It is not super fancy, but is an excellent value. I will be staying here again the next time I visit Chicago.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2012

It was my wife and my anniversary and we came to chicago for the first time. This hotel is great the free parking is a plus and the parking attendants were very friendly. Michael at the front desk made our experience so much better. This hotel is a central location and close to everything you would want to do in Chicago. I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great time along with a great value!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the lobby area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ali b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Just got back from a 4-day stay at this hotel. I was very impressed by how helpful and friendly the staff was. True, it's not a swanky, luxury hotel like you can find on Michigan Avenue, but it has everything that you need or want and very good quality for the money. My friend and I stayed in a suite, and my friend wanted to sleep on the pull-out couch. Well, the mattress was too lumpy, so we called the front desk, and right away they provided a roll-away, which worked perfectly. You also can't beat the location. I also found the staff to have a great sense of humor and provided service with a smile. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeresaMinnetonka_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notre Dame, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We were told the room was going 199$ than when we checked in we were told it was 229. When we finally got to our room, we got a text message from our bank saying we were overdrawn. We found out that without telling us the hotel charged 319. They never mentioned they charge 20% just in case we get room service. we were not planning on room service. They charged us 90$ more than they said they were going too. 90$ more than my husband signed to pay. I do not understand how they could charge and not tell us the actual amount. It ended up making it so we could not go to the Willis Tower because the money was being held. Very disappointed. Also, the lady checking us out forgot to ask us for the room keys. we didn't realize so we had to walk all the back to the hotel since we could not afford a cab. Location was great. The room didn't even have a fridge. The vending machines were right outside our room so we got woken up a few times by other hotel visitors during the night. For the price, I think it was an awful experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback on TripAdvisor. We read every review and every guest experience is important to us. We were disturbed to read that you had a different rate checking in than the one quoted at the time of booking. I encourage you to call the hotel - 312.467.0800 - because if this is the case there will be a way to look up the original rate. It is all electronic and any changes to the rate will be digitally logged, and so should be an easy fix if there's been a mistake.
The 20% for incidentals that you mention is a standard practice for hotels - similar to CC authorizations at gas stations. I'm truly sorry if you used a debit card and this was not explained to you. Also, unless a guest is paying in advance, there are no "charges" until the time of checkout. We simply "authorize" the CC when guests are checking in, which I think is what you're talking about. Whatever amount is not used for incidentals though is simply released at checkout and goes back on your card.
Again, we apologize for the confusion and for the inconvenience this caused you. If you should see fit to come to Chicago again, we'd love the chance to earn back your trust.

Sam
Assoc. Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I've stayed at this hotel twice each time for a week. Besides being the absolute best value in downtown Chicago because of price and free parking, it is also clean and the staff is very considerate and helpful. The hotel is older and a little dated, but you can't beat the location. It's just a few blocks from some of my favorite restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel for the budget minded individual or family that wants to experience this great city.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Pros: Reasonable Price for Downtown, Free Parking, Location to Good Food and Attractions, Helpful Recommendations from Front Desk, Clean Room and Smells Great, Fun Rooftop Deck with View, Comfy Bed Linens with Firm Bed, Easy to Use In- Room Safe Easy, Free WiFi

Cons: Parking is Tight, Air Conditioner is Loud but Drowns Out Street Noise, Small Elevators and #3 Elevator Closes Way to Fast, Layout is a Little Confusing and Only 1 Out of 3 elevators reaches the top floor (pool) and lobby floor, Pizzeria Ora breakfast is poor quality, Bathroom Pretty Small, Vending/Ice Machine not on Every Floor, Speed of WiFi

Room Tip: Let the front desk know if you plan to use the pool/rooftop deck a lot. It is a lot easier to get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsdokken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654-4410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing