We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #93 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

Front desk staff is wonderful. Room is clean, big comes with a safe and has a lot of easily accessible power outlets including on the front side of the lamps at _both_ ends of the bed and a lot more on (not under!) the desk. No contortionist skills needed. Location is excellent. Portillo's is a block away, Gino's East is about the same distance, Pizzeria Uno is a third of a mile away, Millennium Park (with outdoor ice rink) just a mile away, Navy Pier is under 2 miles away - no need to drive or even take public transportation! On top of that...free parking! Parking is easy and spots are not tight.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mptce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,689 - 1,695 of 2,360 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

This hotel had it all for our small family! There were many families staying at the hotel this week, so when my daughter went in the pool, she had other kids to play with. Please note that there were also several couples of all ages, so the hotel is not solely geared toward families. The hotel is extremely clean and our room was very spacious, The heated indoor pool has a beautiful view of the Chicago skyline. We booked a suite that cost slightly more than a room with two double beds. It had a king size bed and a separate living room with a pull out couch. The room also had two televisions and a small fridge. We stayed the week between Christmas and New Years and walked just about everywhere! There is a 24 hour retro-like McDonald's across the street, which helps if you want coffee or a snack or have kids. The Magnificent Mile is about 6 blocks away. The staff at this hotel, from the parking attendants to the maintenance crew were friendly and helpful. I felt right at home, especially at 6:00 AM when I ventured into the lobby for my morning coffee and the man who made the coffee poured it for me. The hotel provides complimentary parking, which is about a $40 value, and apparently unheard of in Chicago. Be advised though, the lot gets full and you may have to have the attendants fetch your car because you could be blocked in, but they are quick. Breakfast was included in our package, which I booked on Expedia.com. Although there were the same four choices each day, it suited our needs. If you decide to go on the Ghost Tours or some of the other quirkier tours, the busses meet one block down on Clark Street, across from the Rainforest Cafe. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Stayed over the new year holiday. We came to Chicago to eat, shop and sightsee - the hotel was perfectly located for each of these. Just a few short blocks away from Magnificent Mile, short walk away from fantastic places to eat (a few nice surprises nearby were Cafe Iberico and Zed451, highly recommended) and close to most attractions. Our room was MUCH larger than we expected at about 4 - 500 square feet of space and two televisions so that my husband and I didn't have to argue over morning programs. Staff, from security to desk staff to restaurant were all exceptionally friendly and quick to respond. The pool on the top floor was always in use, which is good to see. The gym leaves much to be desired, with only two cardio machines (a low grade treadmill and an elliptical) and one universal in a very small room. Hotel management, please spend a little more on the fitness room - that would really make the hotel perfect. Noise was an issue on new year's eve, but it was totally understandable. Great stay overall, highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank smorgasbord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Thanks for taking time out of your day to leave a review of us on TripAdvisor. We always appreciate the feedback. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! It sounds like you really took advantage of a lot of the hotel's amenities and services, which is exactly how we want it. Thank you for the compliments on our rooms and service. Hopefully now that you're home, you and your husband can share the TV with some compromise!

We hope to see you again next time in Chicago,
Sam
Assoc. Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Recently stayed here again from 12/25 to 12/28. Check in was quick and easy, staff continues to be wonderful. Pool and work out room are great. Perfect location, can be noisy at times, but what isn't in Chicago. Free parking is... Free, easy in and out. Never had a problem getting our car in or out. Have stayed here at least 20 times in the past and will continue to stay here. It is in a great location, close to everything we need. Metro only a few blocks away. Lots of great food close by, Maggiano's , Fado, Eggsperience are some of our favorites.

Had great service from both Michael Jackson and Wallace while we were in town. Really appreciated all of their help during our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off of Ohio, towards the back of the hotel. Ask for a high floor to get away from som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Thank you for your review of the hotel here on TripAdvisor. We are overwhelmed by your continued loyalty and your choice to stay with us over the years. We sincerely thank you! We're so pleased that we can provide what you're looking for, including services and amenities, and make your time in Chicago special. Please come back to see us soon!

Sam
Assoc. Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank EVA V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Best Western Plus River North Chicago is by far the best hotel in Chicago. The price is very reasonable, indoor pool, parking is included, the location is phenomenal, and the staff is amazing. We go 2-3 times a year and have never had a disappointing visit. Everyone goes out of their way to help you and make you stay the best they can. Michael at the checkin area went out of his way to help us get to where we wanted to go and then checked in with us the next day to make sure it was all ok. Wallace is the best!!! He is so friendly and helpful!! We love him and his sense of humor! I love the bed and the comforter so much that my family tried to buy one for me!! When we can't afford to go on a vacation, coming here is always a huge treat for our family and we always feel like we have traveled and had a great trip!

Room Tip: Level four is a connector floor so all the elevators go to this level and you don't have a far d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristi k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We'd like to extend a special thanks for your loyalty to us over the years and we are pleased to see that we can contribute to a positive stay in Chicago for you time and again. Thank you for sharing your tips and for your compliments about Michael and Wallace. We'll pass them along and know that they'll be appreciated.
We hope to see you soon in Chicago!

Sam
Associate Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We chose this property because of the price/amenities. Later did we discover it being comfortable, conveniently located, extremely clean, safe, and friendly, If you need a place to stay that has comfy beds, great free lobby coffee, free breakfast, free parking, a nice pool, elliptical trainer, bar, room service...... near a lot of cool things.... and concierge, Wallace to help.... STAY HERE!!

Room Tip: We were first in a well appointed but smaller room upon check-in. Since we were there 5 nights, we r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neilly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are always interested in hearing honest feedback from guests about their experiences with us. We're really pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. We're so happy you decided to stay with us but even happier that you were pleasantly surprised by the service from our staff and by the amenities of the hotel. Exceeding expectations is something we strive for and we appreciate you taking the time to tell us about the positives of your stay. We will pass on your compliments to the concierge you mentioned - Wallace - and we know he'll be happy to hear them.
We hope to see you again soon in Chicago!

Sam
Assoc. Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#107 of 192 in Chicago
1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654-4410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#54 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £67 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing