We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Passable hotel, good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Ranked #100 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Passable hotel, good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

The location is pretty good, easy to grab a cab anywhere in town. The layout is strange -- as far as I could tell, it's actually at least two separate buildings. The lobby felt really disconnected from the hotel itself. To get to my room after checking in, I had to go back outside (note -- I only saw stairs in the front of the lobby, though I'm sure there has to be an elevator or ramp somewhere) into the parking lot, open another door with my room key, then take an elevator (which never came -- I ended up walking up the stairs) up to my room, apparently in a separate building. It felt strange and oddly insecure.

Room was fine. Clean, comfortable enough, clearly old but kept up. The earlier poster's note about the lukewarm shower is pretty dead-on -- it wasn't cold but it sure wasn't hot. Bring shampoo/conditioner/soap -- the stuff they offer is the non-descript product in the in-shower dispensers, no clue what it is or how long it's been there. Super loud AC/heat that I couldn't get to turn off. Eventually, I found a spot on the dial between low and high that turned it off, thankfully, because that thing made a racket. Room faced an alley and what looked to be an apartment building, so I heard a lot of late-night/early morning dumpster noise.

Room Tip: I'm not sure how much better the roadside would be, but the alley side of that second building w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Thank you for your review. You're right about our hotel being two buildings that connect on the 4th floor and we do understand that this can initially be a bit confusing. However, we have posted floor signs and guides throughout the hotel to aid with this. We're glad you had a fair stay though we would hope it to be an excellent one. Please feel free to return and allow us to improve upon your experience.

Samuel
Assoc. Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    823
    303
    117
    70
See reviews for
774
551
74
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

It is in a good location, free parking was a plus. The room was clean. I have to compliment them on the retro style... I didnt know you could buy a toilet that small, and of course who wouldnt want luke warm water for a shower. For the price I would have thought they could have afforded a small fridge, but then again there wasnt room to put it.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank vincent w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

The rooms are very clean the staff are very friendly free parking in downtown Chicago and only three blocks from the L. The manager was giving away extra tickets to the Cubs game. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank ericthomasamundson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calumet, MI
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed with my family for 3 nights. First thing...free on-site parking with unlimited vehicle access! I saw parking from $20-50 a night at most other hotels.
This is a smaller older hotel, only 6 floors (I think they count the rooftop pool room as the 7th floor), but the rooms are updated and quite big. The bathroom was very large and modern.
The staff was incredibly nice and helpful.
Walking distance to: Navy Pier (1 mile), the Willis Tower (1 mile), Michigan Ave and the River (less than a mile), dozens and dozens of restaurants, the closest restaurant is an upscale 2 floor McD's which is nice if you want to get a cheaper meal.
Me and my family loved this Best Western and strongly recommend it to anyone who wants to save a little $ and get a quality gem of a hotel.
Another bonus...you can buy tickets for many popular attractions from the hotel desk. We bought our Willis Tower tickets for $11 instead of the $18 you would pay there, plus we didn't have to stand in the ticket line! We bought Field Museum tickets and saved $3.50 on each one.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Connecticut
Level Contributor
131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 549 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We have been going to Chicago about seven years now. We were lucky to find this Best Western our first time. With the great rates, free parking, great restaurant for breakfast, and great location, this hotel can't be beat. The entire staff seams very friendly and helpfull. Wallace is a joy and great help to anyone he is in contact with. The outside noise is THE CITY. the noise from rooms above is noticable but comes from the building design. Kudos to the entire staff front desk, parking, housekeeping and building engineres. We will be back. Don't change a thing.
Jerry the K
in Ct.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jkesn228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for reviewing your experiences with us here on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to see that you enjoy your stays and we're very happy to have you return time and again. Thank you! We're glad that you find our amenities and the friendliness of our staff to be of real benefit for your travels. We are very thankful you shared this with us and with others. We look forward to your next visit, Jerry K. Thank you,

Sam
Assoc. Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flossmoor
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

In a vast downtown area sits a small hotel...featuring fair pricing, pleasant and attentive staff and a perfect location to bus or taxi anywhere. Park your car FREE and forget about driving in this busy city. Pool at the roof level with workout equipment.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davida s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654-4410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your BEST WESTERN River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing