We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location. Location. Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #98 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    822
    862
    323
    129
    73
See reviews for
836
593
75
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Have stayed here before and found staff as courteous and helpful as always,room was excellent and everything in working order.will stay here again when here on business.very good places to eat within walking distance.have stayed here for extended stay and found location ,staff and everyone that represented hotel was an asset to this hotel.

Room Tip: had a business king room and it was ok nice city view from window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppadoodle60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The location is pretty good, easy to grab a cab anywhere in town. The layout is strange -- as far as I could tell, it's actually at least two separate buildings. The lobby felt really disconnected from the hotel itself. To get to my room after checking in, I had to go back outside (note -- I only saw stairs in the front of the lobby, though I'm sure there has to be an elevator or ramp somewhere) into the parking lot, open another door with my room key, then take an elevator (which never came -- I ended up walking up the stairs) up to my room, apparently in a separate building. It felt strange and oddly insecure.

Room was fine. Clean, comfortable enough, clearly old but kept up. The earlier poster's note about the lukewarm shower is pretty dead-on -- it wasn't cold but it sure wasn't hot. Bring shampoo/conditioner/soap -- the stuff they offer is the non-descript product in the in-shower dispensers, no clue what it is or how long it's been there. Super loud AC/heat that I couldn't get to turn off. Eventually, I found a spot on the dial between low and high that turned it off, thankfully, because that thing made a racket. Room faced an alley and what looked to be an apartment building, so I heard a lot of late-night/early morning dumpster noise.

Room Tip: I'm not sure how much better the roadside would be, but the alley side of that second building w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Thank you for your review. You're right about our hotel being two buildings that connect on the 4th floor and we do understand that this can initially be a bit confusing. However, we have posted floor signs and guides throughout the hotel to aid with this. We're glad you had a fair stay though we would hope it to be an excellent one. Please feel free to return and allow us to improve upon your experience.

Samuel
Assoc. Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

It is in a good location, free parking was a plus. The room was clean. I have to compliment them on the retro style... I didnt know you could buy a toilet that small, and of course who wouldnt want luke warm water for a shower. For the price I would have thought they could have afforded a small fridge, but then again there wasnt room to put it.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank vincent w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The rooms are very clean the staff are very friendly free parking in downtown Chicago and only three blocks from the L. The manager was giving away extra tickets to the Cubs game. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank ericthomasamundson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calumet, MI
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed with my family for 3 nights. First thing...free on-site parking with unlimited vehicle access! I saw parking from $20-50 a night at most other hotels.
This is a smaller older hotel, only 6 floors (I think they count the rooftop pool room as the 7th floor), but the rooms are updated and quite big. The bathroom was very large and modern.
The staff was incredibly nice and helpful.
Walking distance to: Navy Pier (1 mile), the Willis Tower (1 mile), Michigan Ave and the River (less than a mile), dozens and dozens of restaurants, the closest restaurant is an upscale 2 floor McD's which is nice if you want to get a cheaper meal.
Me and my family loved this Best Western and strongly recommend it to anyone who wants to save a little $ and get a quality gem of a hotel.
Another bonus...you can buy tickets for many popular attractions from the hotel desk. We bought our Willis Tower tickets for $11 instead of the $18 you would pay there, plus we didn't have to stand in the ticket line! We bought Field Museum tickets and saved $3.50 on each one.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Property: Best Western River North Hotel
Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing