We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western River North Tops in Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #100 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Western River North Tops in Service”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I'm in sales and stay in many places around the central U. S. and one place I always stay in downtown Chicago is Best Western River North. it is the only hotel downtown that I know as free parking. The hotel is situated just blocks from Michigan Ave. and many different sites. The hotel staff treats you with kindness and friendliness that's rare now a days. The rates aren't bad, the hotel is a little older, but they are clean and very comfortable rooms. If you're staying in downtown Chicago and want to enjoy some great service, free parking, and a soft comfortable bed, I would only stay at the Best Western River North.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bob Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    850
    319
    127
    72
See reviews for
821
575
75
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novi, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Went to Chicago for a soccer game and stayed overnight. The building is a bit older than some of the other places I've stayed at in Chicago but that doesn't make it any worse than those places. Service is top notch. The valet guys (free parking by the way...) are great. Hotel is a stone's throw from Michigan Ave. Great place. Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Pierre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Wallace was awesome! The other staff were good as well. But Wallace made my mood better when it was bad. It was cost efficient, great location, located in an easily accessible area. You could walk to Magnificent Mile in no time. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tanisha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for submitting a review. We really value the honest feedback. Thank you for the compliments on our location and our staff, including Wallace. We're glad to see it made a difference in your stay in Chicago. We hope to see you again in the Windy City.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gahanna, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is one of the cheapest places you'll find in downtown Chicago. You are only a few blocks from the Magnificent Mile and public transit. The nightly rate may seem higher than some other hotels, but this place includes parking! Cheaper places per night don't tell you up front that they charge $40 to $60 a night for parking! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone taking a road trip to the Windy City. It's not the fanciest place in the world -- but it's clean, comfortable and an overall great value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galena, IL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Awesome location. Within walking of Michigan Ave. Received a free upgrade to a suite upon arrival which was appreciated. Staff helpful and nice. Guest room updated and clean. Overall a fantastic stay and will stay here again when we come back to Chicago and will recommend it to others. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanstro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013

From the time we drove in to the time we drove out we had the best experience at this hotel. There were some negative reviews left previously by others that made me a little leery to stay here but I am so glad I went ahead. The parking attendant called a bell hop as soon as we arrived to help us get our bags in, both men were extremely courteous and helpful. Then the ladies at the front desk were kind and fun as well as professional and helpful with every request. I asked for a fan and they found one, it came to our room within five minutes. I asked for directions to the Shedd Aquarium and to a grocery store and got them with a smile, they had a card with directions on how best to get to major attractions. I said I needed to call a cab and they turned on a light outside the hotel that brought one straight to us. The room was fabulous, every inch of the entire building was clean and nowhere did I encounter any bad smells or even dirt. The bed was very comfy. The only thing I would call a negative had nothing to do with any of the staff or the hotel at all but was due to being in a city and having the noises that come with that...I am a light sleeper and had some things that woke me but overall it was something I was able to become accustomed to in the few days we were there. I may try to get a higher floor for that reason next time but it would not keep me from staying here again. Every staff member that we encountered including the cleaning and maintenance staff we passed in the halls were very friendly. We travelled with a toddler and two older boys and our room was very spacious so we weren't on top of each other...plus the older boys loved the pool. We felt very safe in that area even walking to the pier at night...Mcd's across the street was a huge plus as well. Free parking is a huge deal in downtown chicago...we didn't use our vehicle the whole time we were there choosing to walk to the pier and sears tower but if we should ever have needed to we would have been able to have our vehicle out in a matter of minutes...most of the time it wasn't even parked in and I never saw a vehicle parked in by more than one other. I think I've covered anything that I saw in previous reviews that were simply untrue and hope that my comments will cause anyone looking at this hotel to have every confidence in staying here...we will definitely be going back again!

Room Tip: higher floors may help with some of the noise from traffic/people on the sidewalks...corner rooms, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you very much for such a detailed review that not only shares your experience but addresses other issues guests have mentioned in reviews. We're please to see our amenities and services helped you to enjoy your time in Chicago. We hope to see you on a future trip.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

my husband and i recently stayed here for a long weekend getaway. the staff was very friendly, the rooms were very clean and well kept. sitting on the deck in the evenings before dinner was very pleasant. there was a bit of noise, but that is expected with being in downtown chicago. well worth the money to stay here with the quality of the hotel, free parking, and an excellent location!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Property: Best Western River North Hotel
Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing