We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value near the Chicago Loop & major attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #97 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
San Dimas, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value near the Chicago Loop & major attractions”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel is conveniently located within comfortable walking distance to a mass transit train station and nearby major attractions, i.e., Chicago Loop; Willis/Sears Tower; Art Institute of Chicago; Millennium Park; and the Magnificent Mile of Michigan Avenue. The hotel offers the following values; rare, free parking in a secured area; a very reasonable room rate; clean room with comfortable beds; friendly professional staff; discounted tickets to major Chicago attractions; and a restaurant with an inexpensive breakfast menu.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1holoholokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    820
    861
    323
    129
    73
See reviews for
835
591
75
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Clean, large spacious rooms, good shower/water pressure and flow. Comfortable beds...Met our needs well. Special selling points are good location and PARKING included. If they ever change the parking to an extra cost, I would probably search elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We're so glad we could meet your needs and that you found the Free Parking to be a huge asset for you. We'll keep offering it and so will hopefully see you next time you're in the Windy City!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

An extremely clean hotel with well appointed rooms. Convenient onsite amenities were a plus. Centrally located and easy access to restaurants and entertainment. Highly recommend this property. Excellent for couples or families with children. Extremely friendly staff. Ease of check-in was also convenient. Free parking!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for your review! We're always striving to make stays enjoyable, to provide great value, give a speedy check-in, and assist guests however we can. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us (including the free parking). We'll see you again on a future trip!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level 6 Contributor
484 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Overall satisfying. Since I got a good rate, the value received was very good. + location, friendly front desk staff, free guest parking, impeccably clean room - too loud for my taste (I slept with earplugs throughout a 4 days stay, room was facing the parking lot and Ohio Street traffic noise was a constant issue), king size bed room small, bath room tiny (the door scratched toilet seat every time upon opening and closing the door)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank cibiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Short walk from the L or bus stop. Although breakfast was not provided, coffee/hot chocolate and granola bars were a nice treat. Room was clean, comfortable, and in working order. Pool was cold but big and clean. When we experienced problems with internet service and noisy neighbors, staff was quick to respond.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for your compliments on our property and especially on the quick response of our staff to any issues that arose. We're very glad to be of service and address issues so that our guests have the most comfortable stay possible. We'll see you next time in Chicago!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The location and ease of parking make this a good choice for someone visiting Chicago and will be driving around. Easing walking distance to downtown, Michigan Avenue and Rush Street. There are lots of very good restaurants also within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Denis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We're always happy to hear guests enjoyed the location and the convenience of everything nearby downtown. We hope you'll stay with us again!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel is a great value with parking included. It is a short walk from Michigan Avenue, but still is in the heart of Chicago and surrounded by bars and restaurants.

The staff was great, the breakfasts were reasonably priced and there are plenty of bars and restaurants near by. The rooms are old and the bathrooms are tiny. The rooms are clean enough and I felt safe inside my room, but this is an old hotel. It feels more like a motel than a big Chicago hotel.

I was in town for business and I spent very little time in my room. I would not bring my wife here for a romantic weekend in Chicago. If we were a family on a budget, the hotel does have a pool. I am unsure if I will stay here again. The free parking in a huge money saver and the staff was great, but this is an old hotel with small rooms and even smaller bathrooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for writing a review of your experience with us. We're so glad you enjoyed the location, free parking, and the service we offer our guests. I'm sorry you did not find the rooms exactly to your liking but I do encourage you to visit us again and let us show you an even better time in Chicago. Thanks again,

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Property: Best Western River North Hotel
Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing