We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #97 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Loved our stay here!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This hotel is very handy for everything in downtown Chicago. We were able to walk everywhere. The pool was warm, clean and not busy at all. The room was larger than most hotel rooms and everything was very clean. We loved the free parking and our breakfast was included. The restaurant was attached to the hotel so it was easy just to pop down and grab our breakfast. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us, and thank you for highlighting our amenities so well! We sincerely appreciate it and love giving great service to people coming through our doors. We look forward to seeing you the next time around.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    858
    323
    128
    73
See reviews for
833
588
75
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This hotel is fantastic. The staff is the best and very accomodating! The parking is free (in Chicago, that's a big deal!) and the parking attendant will even help you park your car or park it for you. The rooms are big and the beds are comfy. The little bar/lounge area also has fantastic food and service. We would definitely come back and might stay here every time we come to Chicago!

Room Tip: All the rooms are probably good, ours was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your rave review! We sincerely appreciate it and are so glad we can help you enjoy Chicago so much when you're here. Please come back and see us anytime!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Ulm, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We are always pleased with our accommodations at this hotel. The location is very convenient, the staff helpful, and the free parking is a real bonus. We have been staying here for years when we come to Chicago and recommend it to other travelers. They also have very good pizza in the restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I've stayed at this hotel dozens of times (which should say something on its own). Why do I like this hotel? The staff is always friendly and helpful; the rooms are very clean; the beds are super comfortable; wireless internet is included in the price; and oh yeah, there's FREE PARKING (one car per room). If you take a cab everywhere or use public transit, then the parking piece might not mean as much, but if you drive, then parking at any of the other downtown hotels could run you $40/night alone. The not-so-good: the water pressure isn't great; the rooms facing the street aren't exactly quiet (typical muffled "city" noises); and the food (both in the restaurant and room service) is mediocre at best. Depending on the room, your floor may slant at odd angles at times (I call it the Alice in Wonderland effect), but it's not enough to turn me off to this hotel. And if you have to have a large bathroom, don't stay here either; they're functional and clean, but small. The negatives are minor; the positives are huge. I will continue to stay at this hotel (in fact I've already made my next reservation).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We're so glad to see that you enjoy your time with us and come back again and again. I am sorry though that you have encountered a couple issues. If your other rooms have been too noisy, please give us a call next time and request a quiet room. We're happy to make those accommodations when we can.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, but the hotelis terrible. The halls have a moldy and musty smell. The rooms were okay aside from a headache inducing smell of smoke in the nonsmoking rooms.

The lady at the front desk seemed to hate her job, she made it very clear that she would rather not have to interact with people ever.

The free parking is a nice perk but not even close to making up for the downfalls of this terrible hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spentshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your honest review based on your experience. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us, especially the customer service. We never want *any* of our guests to feel as if they are an inconvenience to our staff and I sincerely apologize. I know that this is not typical for guests and that we can offer you a much better experience in Chicago. I hope in the future you'll give us that opportunity.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Old facility but very clean and very good service. Free parking is an added bonus and so is the restaurant at the motel. Perfect Chicago location, especially for families wishing to walk to shopping and restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We value the feedback and are glad to see you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. We look forward to serving you again.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Very good location. 1.1 miles from the Magnificent Mile. Free parking. The hotel staff was very nice and polite. Front desk was always staffed. The restaurant had very good breakfast but did not give you enough toast for some reason. Close to everything

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Basil Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Property: Best Western River North Hotel
Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing