We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #100 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Monmouth, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Other than the hi-speed in-room internet going out due to the polar vortex, everything about my stay was top notch! The room was neat, clean and well-heated. I enjoyed my stay very much. I have stayed at this hotel 3 or 4 times before and have never had a problem.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Kristian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you very much for the review and for your continued loyalty. We're so happy that you have always enjoyed your time with us, and if there's every anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable, please let us know. We'll see you next time!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    838
    312
    121
    72
See reviews for
799
567
75
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
177 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is a gem in Chicago. We were traveling with 4 people and stayed one night in the suite. It had a master bed, bedroom with 2 beds, and a living area with a fridge. The bathroom was a little small for this large a room, but was clean. The only problem, there needs to be a microwave. We had some food left over too reheat and was not able to do so.
The views from our room were lovely. The window has a nice big ledge on it where you can sit and look out. It was loud at night but it is the city, to be expected. We all felt safe and secure there.
The pool was heated nicely. It is plenty big for everyone staying there. It was clean and well kept. The staff was friendly and helpful. Parking was free which is a big plus. Yes, we paid a little more than we wanted but it was so worth it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay(!) and thank you for writing a review for future guests. We really appreciate the compliments about the suite, our amenities, and our staff. It's a pleasure for us to hear that we helped make your stay so comfortable. We hope you will come again!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian, Mi, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Multiple stays-never disappointed-best all around staff-can t beat the location-simple, classy hotel. restaurant and bar very good but there is also hundreds of other choices all around you. also free parking which is unheard off in Chicago. great value!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you so much for the high compliments and for your continued stays! We sincerely appreciate you letting other guests know about your experience with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, OH, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I always stay here when travelling to downtown Chicago, for business and leisure. Great location, friendly staff, and free parking hit all my marks. For downtown Chicago they will get my business and referrals every time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattoon, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Had a good 2 night stay at this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and nice. Pool was also very nice and warm. The location of this hotel is great, many great restaurants within 1 to 2 blocks. We did not take advantage of the free parking; however, that is a huge plus in downtown chicago! The hallway and elevators could use an update. Overall we had a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you very much for the kind review. We appreciate the compliments about our location and services. We look forward to your next visit!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Nice rooms, just what was needed to get a good rest, in a good location for a good value. Pleasant staff, people were very helpful, easy to navigate the area. I have stayed here before and I will certainly be back in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope your next trip to Chicago we'll be able to be a part of too.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Every year, for several years, my pastor and his family have stayed at Best Western, River North (BWRN) whenever they would visit Chicago. When I stayed here for the first time last month, it was clear to me why this hotel was #1 for him and why it would soon be for me. The evening employee at the front desk, Jonathan, was a breath of fresh air in the busy, big city. He was especially helpful, but there were actually many reasons why I liked BWRN. Professionalism. Cleanliness. Friendliness. Value. And, Location. Location. Location.

This month, when returning to Chicago to take my daughter back to Moody Bible Institute, I decided to take along the whole family. Without hesitation, I called and talked to Nikita to make reservations for our family of six to stay at BWRN, January 4th through January 6th. Nikita helped me to find the best room for the best price. Period. I was very surprised...and excited. It was well within our budget, and I didn't even have to go searching online.

The room was spacious and clean, and included a refrigerator, sofa bed and free Wi-Fi. The children very much enjoyed the indoor pool, evem though we couldn't go out to enjoy the rooftop patio. (Did I mention that it was 0° or less - mostly less - for most of our stay?) Everyone enjoyed the delicious breakfast, served each morning at the family-owned restaurant next door. We very much appreciated the free parking, which is seldom available at other city hotels. And, again, the staff members, at all levels, carried themselves in a very professional, yet caring, manner. And, finally, did I mention how much we liked the location? Several stores and eateries are within walking distance, as is the "L" and the bus. Taxis are always available, as well. Best of all, my daughter's school is only a few blocks away.

We were planning to leave on January 6th, but because of the freezing cold temperatures in Chicago and school cancellations back home, we decided to stay an extra day, mostly inside, especially since one of the kids didn't feel well. When I asked the morning employee, Stephanie, about this possibility, she made the arrangements right away. At the time, I also mentioned that we were having a small issue with one of the beds. She wanted to take care of it right away and therefore offered us a room upgrade so that they wouldn't disturb us.

On January 7th, we checked out of our hotel room, feeling refreshed and satisfied, especially after our hearty breakfast. 3 teenagers, 2 parents and 1 "tweenager" all agreed that we would definitely stay there again and again, if given the opportunity.

And, now for the rest of the story...on our way home, I realized that I had left my small, gold hoop earrings near the bathroom sink. I called the hotel soon after my discovery and was told that they would look into the matter. Although they did not immediately find the earrings - the speckled sink counter made it challenging, to be sure - a subsequent search did finally produce my lost treasure.

BWRN's location, price and amenities make it a great first choice for lodging in Chicago, but the employees there are the real blessing. Hardworking, dedicated and kind, they truly make this the warmest place on earth on even the coldest of days. ~ B. Shaub, Ohio

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HartvilleOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Ms. Shaub, thank you - truly - for your heartfelt review! We are so glad that our staff, including Jonathan, Stephanie, and Nikita, could all prove so helpful and accommodating. This is exactly the kind of customer service we strive for and we love to hear the difference that it makes to our guests.

We're glad you enjoyed a very comfortable, convenient stay despite the extreme weather conditions. We'd love to have you back anytime and we look forward to that day. Take care!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Property: Best Western River North Hotel
Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing