We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive, Basic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #100 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was my first stay at a Best Western. I usually stay at the Marriott closer to Magnificent Mile, but since I was with friends and was looking for a more "value-oriented" trip, we chose the BW River North.

Extremely satisfied with the value, for the free parking alone. Lot was safe and well-managed. It can get a bit crazy with cars coming in and out, and with many cars double (even triple!) parked, but no issues.

Room was much smaller than expected. Hallways and corridors smelled really weird and definitely has the signs of being a much older hotel, but the room itself was very clean. Bathroom was also very clean, though the toilet was surprising...it was like a public toilet! Maybe bring your own body lotion and conditioner though, or grab extras from the housekeeping trolley; only one small bottle of each provided. Shampoo and body wash are dispensed in those old school units fixed on the inside of the shower. Towels are clean and fluffy.

The A/C was really loud but necessary as there was very little air circulation in the room without it and the room felt stuffy.

Great location, directly across the flagship McDonald's and famous Portillo's. Quick walk to Mag Mile, the river, and a 20min walk to Navy Pier and Milennium Park.

I'm not sure if I would necessarily WANT to stay there again, but if I needed to I wouldn't mind.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TORebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We're glad that you did get to enjoy your stay with friends and that we could provide a clean, friendly, affordable option for you. We're sorry that you did not have a lasting impression of us but I assure you that if you come back again, we can offer you an even better experience in Chicago.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,241)
There are newer reviews for Best Western River North Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,059 - 1,065 of 2,241 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed there over the Easter holiday with my family and couldn't have been more satisfied. The service was great, the location was perfect and the Concierge, Wallace, was beyond helpful. If you're looking for luxury maybe you should go elsewhere. If you're looking for convenience, friendliness, excellent service then this is the place to go. I'll be back often!

Room Tip: Ohio Street side was a little noisy during the night. They offered to move us but we didn't bot...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We're so happy you enjoyed your time with us, and thank you for the compliments on our service. We hope you'll see us again the next time you're in Chicago.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

When I arrived the water was not working. The bed was not comfortable. The room cost me $125 for a Monday night. There is free parking, but it is quite a hike to the park. It felt like a discount hotel without the discount price. I guess you have join a club or screw around on the internet to get a fair price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that you did not think our rate was fair. I can assure you that our rates are extremely competitive with other hotels in the area and our free parking is an added benefit. I hope you'll come back to see us in Chicago again.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We mainly chose this location for the free parking. Upon arrival, we found everyone on staff to be very nice and helpful. We were able to park in the garage before check-in without cost. The nice young man at the front desk gave us the directions to everything we wanted to see and we were able to purchase discount tickets at the hotel desk. If you don't use the tickets, you can even get refund. It is conveniently located in walking distance to Michigan Avenue for shopping, Millenium Park and the Sears/Willis Tower. Would most definitely stay here again!!! We can't wait to try the Pizza downstair tonight! Great price also!

Room Tip: Stay in the building with suites..very spacious
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for the review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location and our discounted tickets so convenient. We would love to have you back anytime, and we hope to see you again soon!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I love its location, as we can walk to downtown and most of the attractions pretty conveniently. With free parking, this hotel is unbeatable. Also, the hotel rooms have been recently renovated. The bedroom is great. But the bathroom is a little too small though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Radaphat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The hotel was clean, quiet (well, as quiet as a hotel can be in downtown Chicago - there was street noise but not much guest noise), close to everything we wanted, and had free parking! Incredible value for the money. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Depending on what building you are in will depend on what type of experience you will have. All of the standard rooms are in the second building which you enter through the parking garage. We stayed in a standard room the first night and got only 3 hours off sleep. We checked in late and went straight to sleep but were quickly woken by people out side talking and throwing trash away all night long. At around 4am the people on the floor above us woke up and started stomping around. When we went to the front desk about it they were very nice and accommodating and moved us to a suite in the main building right away. The suite is very spacious and had no issues in that room. So overall our 2 night stay was decent. Would recommend as long as you do not get a room right next to the alley. Even thought we did not go swimming this time it has a nice indoor pool. We would stay again because of the good location and the free parking.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorenzn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry for the inconvenience on noise on the particular night you were in a standard room but I can assure you that those are isolated incidents. We hope you'll come back again to see us soon.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £74 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing