We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, large suites, poor (shower) water pressure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #96 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great front desk staff... friendly, professional and helpful. Large suites... great for larger families or those with older kids. Very poor water pressure in the shower. Great location for experiencing Chicago. AND PARKING included with room cost ...onsite!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your review and your compliments. I do apologize for your issue with the water pressure in your room, but I hope you will come back to see us again and give us another chance to help you have an even better experience of Chicago.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,008 - 1,014 of 2,277 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

When we went to check in at 3pm we were told to wait in the lobby for nearly an hour to have the room made up. When we finally got into the room at about 4 pm the tap handle fell off when the tap was turned on. The highlight of our stay was the speed that it was repaired and the guy who attended to the repair. That night, at 2am we were awoken by people who were staying at the motel, as they were in the street under our window talking in loud voices before they entered the motel to go to bed. (They had been to a wedding.) The next two mornings we had to run the hot tap for some 10 minutes to get the water hot enough to have a shower. After being out all day we returned to the room to find that it had not been made up and on contacting the front desk the reply was "Oh, you want the room made up." We then had to go to the lobby whilst the maid did the room. We were tired and just wanted to rest. We are both in our late 60's and being treated this way I find appalling. Also our room did not have a fridge or microwave which we always get with Super 8. When compared with Super 8, the service received there is far superior to this Best Western. During the next three weeks in the USA we certainly will not be staying at any more Best Western Motels. We suggest that everyone who reads this does the same.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for submitting a review. I sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations for your stay at our hotel. As explained in a previous response to you, I believe the mix-up on check in time may have been due to the time difference since we did check you in just before our guaranteed time of 3pm CDT (rather than 4pm EST). I'm sorry for any confusion. And I apologize that our staff did not seem more earnest to resolve any issues. I hope you'll give us another chance to give you a great experience in Chicago.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We love staying in this hotel. Convenient to drive to, free parking, close public transportation, pool, lots to do & eat nearby, good beds, exceptionally friendly staff. Have stayed here several times of the last couple of years and have always had a great experience. Gotta love Wallace!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jeryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your continued experiences with other travelers! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and we'll certainly pass along your compliments to Wallace. We look forward to seeing you again.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel has large, clean rooms, and a great, friendly staff! It is in a fantastic location for downtown Chicago sight seeing and proximity to restaurants/grocery stores. It's a great value for the money, and who can beat free parking in a garage in Chicago?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Leandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for such a positive review and for mentioning the value that we offer. We hope you'll come back to see us again soon!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Decent price for a Chicago hotel. Friendly front desk staff. Room was clean and surprisingly large for a room in the city. The hotel layout was a bit confusing at first (there are 2 buildings that only connect on some floors), but the location is fantastic. Easy to walk to restaurants, Michigan Avenue, subway line, etc. The hotel is right across from the old McDonalds and the Rainforest Cafe. Trader Joe's is just a few blocks away. And FREE PARKING!!!! Yes, you could hear street noise (you are in the city), but the bed was comfortable. If you are a light sleeper, I'd suggest earplugs. Free coffee and granola bars were available in the lobby. There was also a computer for use and wifi passwords were provided. There is a pool, but we didn't go to it. We would stay here again because of the free parking--a huge cost savings. We don't spend much time in our room when we're in Chicago because there is so much to do. There was a car parked behind us when we were ready to leave, but it was moved quickly by the pleasant parking lot attendant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelPlayEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your compliments about our location, staff, and services! We're so glad you enjoyed what we have to offer, and we hope you'll come back to see us again.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel, since it was within walking distance from downtown Chicago, the stay was average, they have the worst signs to find your room. This probably was one of those old buildings that have been updated to look like a 4 star hotel, but it's not. Only the price may be, but if you’re looking for a place to rest and sleep, this is not the place. There was constant noise from the outside, (ambulance, cars, people, horns, etc.) Since it's so close to downtown. The only good thing this hotel has it's a free parking space, but don't be fool by it either since they overbook for the parking and the end result is that they will have to park your car for you and you will have to leave the keys of your car with them overnight. The week I stayed they were having problems with the internet (Wi-Fi) that took like 2 days to fix and that is a problem in today’s dependency on the internet; I was frustrated because of it. The inside its average, the help it's average, I asked a front desk guy via phone where was the exercise room and he could not tell me, since he picked up the phone when he was taking care of another customer at the front desk. Last the restrooms are small in the so call "suites" and they do not have a restroom fan, which is not ok for me, since the fumes from the rest room carry on into the room.

The worst sign in any hotel, I've ever stayed, I came down some of the stairs thinking I was coming down to the front lobby and instead I ended up, and the back of some basement for employees only, the sign did not indicated that. I just hope the people staying here know their way around in case of an emergency since this could be a problem. They have a restaurant I hand lunch there and the food was average.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler22Salem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your review, and on behalf of our team, I'd like to apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The front desk agent was probably our new hire, but if he did not know the information you requested, he should have asked another employee; I'm sorry about that. The layout can indeed be tricky, but that is why we have new, large hotel map posters and directions posted on every floor, by every staircase, and outside every elevator. I'm sorry that you got lost.

I hope you'll consider staying with us again so we can show you why most guests applaud our service and amenities.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This place is great for people who want to stay near downtown but have to stay within budget. The hotel is in a great location and offers free parking. There are numerous restaurants within walking distance. Michigan Avenue is also only a few blocks away. While we were there we rode the free trolley to the Navy Pier and we also rode the train to Wrigley Field so we did not have to drive at all. The hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. I would definately recommend this place. We were travelling with a family member that uses a wheelchair and the hotel has a few steps to get into the main lobby but the staff placed us in a room closer to another entrance and we had no problems.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baseballfan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your review, and I'm very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay! I'm happy that we could make a difference in your Chicago trip and that we could meet your needs. We hope to see you back again!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#104 of 192 in Chicago
1,747 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £71 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing