We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise level”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #96 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

To be fair, the hotel parking (bicycles too, parking staff too), room space, rate, and location convenience are decent. However the noise leve (A/C unit and street traffic at night) was quite annoying, especially I asked the front desk for a quieter room at check-in.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank cxsisback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that you had trouble resting with the noise. I understand that our downtown location can sometimes have that affect. I hope you'll be back to give us another chance to provide you with a better experience of Chicago.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

993 - 999 of 2,275 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed her for two times, at the beginning and at the end of our USA tour. I suspended the opinion on the first time, because service was under expectations, probably due to high occupancy of the hotel. I would review my opinion after the second stay: room was great and well located in the quietest part of the main building, extremely clean and comfortable. Staff was kind and professional; parking service was efficient. Take care of the noise in the surrounding area; being located in downtown, there is heavy traffic, a lot of ambulance and police, and, most of all, Chicago drivers like to horn for everything!!! Recommended heavy sleep of earplugs! Thumb down for breakfast served in the nearby Pizzeria Ora; service in extremely slow, food choice is poor and options are not well presented: to be reviewed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Edoardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and especially for spending two stays with us before writing a review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and the service, especially on the latter stay. We appreciate your compliments! We hope your US tour was a wonderful trip, and we hope to see you in Chicago again someday.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is our 2nd time staying at this hotel while visiting Chicago. My family and I love it. Great price for a downtown hotel. Love the pool! Love the free parking garage. And definitely love the location - convenient to all of our favorite restaurants. On one day of our visit, my daughter plugged in a curling iron and blew a fuse and the entire room went dark. I called the front desk and maintenance had the power back in within 2 minutes. We were very impressed! The staff is friendly, the hotel is clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your compliments, and we're very glad our prompt service helped you get back to your vacation! We look forward to seeing you again.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel offers good service and amenities for a place so close to Mag Mile and downtown Chicago and with free parking. This is a budget hotel with smaller rooms and a weird set-up with the east/west buildings. The rooms were clean and they had a great swimming pool/sundeck. If you are used to the Hampton Inn type of place this is not it, but for $145/night and parking, it is a great deal for downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 899lucyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay and the value we offer. We hope to see you again!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

For location the River North can't be beat as well as the free parking. Our major complaint about the hotel were the beds and air conditioning. The bed was very hard and uncomfortable and the air conditioner kept rattling the whole night which kept us up.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Familyman94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay, though we're sorry you felt uncomfortable at night. We'd be happy to move you to a different room if that problem ever arises again. We hope you'll come back to see us.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel is in a very good location and parking is included in the price, otherwise, very disappointed. The hallways and the room had an odor and room service was poor. One day, a used hand towel (obviously soiled but not by us) was placed in the bathroom. The air-conditioning system is very load and the walls very thin.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your experience with us. I'm sorry that your stay left you feeling less than satisfied. I apologize for the inconvenience and the stray towel in your room. If I can help in planning a future trip, please feel free to request me personally. I'd be happy to make sure you're as comfortable as possible on a future trip.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We spent 4 days in Chicago at this hotel. It was great to have a hotel downtown with included parking and a pool. The hotel is clean, update and the staff friendly. The pool and rooftop deck are an excellent way to cap off a day of sightseeing. The desk staff was very helpful with arranging tours and dinner reservations for our group of 17 people. The location is nice, about half mile from Michigan Ave, 2.5 miles from the museums, close to the subway and bus system. The room was very comfortable with 4 of us in it. Wi-Fi was fair, kicked us off a couple times, but adequate. I am not sure about the restaurant- breakfast was just mediocre.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank lorlilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your review and for sharing so much of your experience with us. We're very glad to see that it was a positive experience for all of you, and we hope you'll come back to see us again!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#104 of 192 in Chicago
1,747 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £71 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing