We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chicago Trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Ranked #100 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chicago Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel 2 years ago. This time I took the train to Union Station and took a rental car to the hotel. I love the free parking. I do remember the the room rate was less, but that was two years ago. The location is prime for walking to all the good things Chicago has to offer. I just wished I could have stayed another night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Magnet95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review and for your return business! We're very glad that we could give you an enjoyable trip both times. We look forward to hosting you again, and feel free to ask our staff for any event/venue recommendations. They'd be happy to oblige.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    823
    302
    117
    70
See reviews for
774
551
73
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
FENTON, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

A little gem in downtown Chicago - staff are super nice, clean rooms, on-site parking is free, nice restaurant with good food. You can find other, cheaper hotels, and you can find a lot that are more expensive, but you won't find better quality or value for your money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review! We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Chicago, and we look forward to having you back again.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Hotel looks rundown, parking is NOT good (even though in garage), halls and elevator dirty, room floors may appear clean, but left feet dirty, internet not working good, elevator to pool area not in service. Location is nice, staff was professional. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for the review. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I can tell you, though, that we are looking at updating aspects of the hotel in the next year and a half. We hope you'll be back to see some of the positive changes.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

When we arrived the parking attendants were sitting down at the office area smoking, the elevator was broke in the building we were assigned to stay in, our room wasn't ready after 3pm check-in time, we requested a roll-away bed the week before when making the reservation and it took 5 phone calls until midnight before getting one in our room, and the staff lied to us numerous times about the elevator and roll-away bed. We received free breakfast coupons for our trouble and at least the restaurant/breakfast was okay. I will say that the hotel room (2 double bed suite) had lots of room which we appreciated but the bathroom was very small in comparison.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Penny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review and for bringing some concerns to our attention. I'm so sorry that you did not receive great service from us, truly. I apologize on behalf of our entire team; we strive for a much higher standard, and I know that we can do better. I hope you'll consider staying with us again so that we can give you a truly great experience in Chicago.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This rustic 7 storey hotel still has charm that isn't in the large hotels. Generally the prices in downtown Chicago will be expensive as is any large North American city. You get your money's worth here. Prices are good, especially with using AAA rates. Centrally located in the restaurant area. From McDonalds to high end steak houses are within walking. If you like authentic jazz, Sweet Home Blue Chicago is located right around the corner. Doors open at 8 and live music starts at 9pm. $8.00 cover charge but drinks are cheap. Seating is limited and it packs up fast. Open 7 days a week. The hotel has a great little Italian Restaurant attached called Pizzeria Ora. Prices are reasonable. There is a bar in the restaurant that you can have a relaxing beverage. There is an indoor pool and small workout room on the 7th floor with a nice outdoor patio to enjoy the sites. Indoor parking is available attached to the hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the room gives you the view and minimize some street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of us for other travelers. We read each and every review, and we appreciate the feedback. I'm very glad to see you enjoyed your stay; thanks for listing so much of what we have to offer! We hope you'll come back and see us on a future Chicago trip.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Olmsted, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a great location to stay in Chicago. Walking distance to very good restaurants and attractions. Free parking and internet. Bar-restaurant(Italian) attached is first class. All employees friendly and attentive. Room very clean and comfortable. Don't expect this being the Hilton. It is a excellent Best Western.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jack N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were not looking for anything fancy since we knew we would basically just be sleeping there.

Check-in and FREE parking was easy and problem free. FREE parking is huge in the city. For a two night stay, this saved us a minimum of $100-$120.

The room was on the small side, but very clean and in good shape. The internet signal was weak at times, but it did work pretty good for the most part.

Express check-out was simple and the garage had our vehicle to us in less than five minutes.

About 5 hours after checking out, but still in the city, we realized we had left 2 pillows we had brought from home. We called and they said they would look. We drove by about ten minutes later on our way to the expressway and they had actually went and looked for them and found them!

If you are expecting a Sheraton or a Hilton this is not that. However, the Best Western River North is very clean, very safe, and as the title says "PERFECT FOR WHAT WE WERE LOOKING FOR!"

If you are doing the tourist thing on Michigan Ave everything is in very easy walking distance. If you are going to a Sox or Cubs game, the Red Line station is about 2 1/2 blocks away which is about a five minute walk.

Would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking to save some money as long as you aren't all caught up in the bells and whistles.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank llandeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your kind and honest review. We're very happy that you enjoyed so much of your stay, including our location, free parking, amenities, and services. I'm also glad that we could help you find your misplaced items! We look forward to seeing you guys again, and thanks for the recommendation.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654-4410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing