We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Ranked #101 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Highland, United States
1 review
“Good Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is an awesome location! The rooms were outdated VERY outdated. Everything seemed clean though There was NO way through the inside to get to the lobby, and the pool was an elevator ride, walk aross the hotel and another elevator ride. We ate breakfast every morning there. poor quality for most breakfast places, but did it's job. We ate pizza one night there & my son and I both got sick later that evening. Best part was the location & FREE parking. All and All the hotel did it's job. A place to park the car and rest at night & close enough to walk to Navy Pier, Free Trolley, public transportation and great places to eat & shop.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Angi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review, and we're glad that you did enjoy your stay overall. I'm sorry that you were not completely satisfied. We are aware that some of our amenities could use updating, and we are currently in the process of planning exciting changes for the coming year. We hope you'll come back and see some of them.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    772
    830
    306
    118
    70
See reviews for
786
553
74
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The water pressure was terrible nad no one even tried to fix it. The internet didnt work in the room at all. I went to the lobby to try to use the internet and it worked but barely. The singal strength was at one bar. Checking out was a nightmare. The room was put on a cpomany credit card and it took 3 phone calls from my office to get out of there and almost missed my flight.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm so sorry for the issues during your stay. We certainly want to make the experience both enjoyable and hassle-free, and I'm sorry that your recent trip did not meet your expectations. If you'd like to come back, I'd be happy to personally assist you with a reservation and to help make your next Chicago stay a very positive one.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Fallon, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel was in a perfect location, right off of the highwa and you could walk across the street and get McDonalds or walk a few blocks for other shops, restaurants and bars! The staff was friendly, rooms were clean, bed was very comfortable and the staff at the restaurant/bar Pizzeria Ora attached to the hotel were very friendly and the pizza was AMAZING! The best part about this hotel was the FREE PARKING!!!!!! Will for sure come back!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank TStamp_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review and for your compliments. We're so glad you enjoyed your time in Chicago with us and that you got to take in a great ballgame. We hope to see you again!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Bathroom was tiny and looked dirty. Room had a stale dusty smell that made it had to sleep in. I didn't know expecting a clean and fresh room was too much to ask. The staff also seemed uninterested. I mean I had a late check-in but there should have still been SOME energy left in them.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Itohan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you did not find your room to your liking. I hope you will stay again with us in Chicago so we can have another chance to give you a great experience.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel when attending a baseball game at Wrigley Field. It is very close to the el stop on Grand, which takes you directly to Wrigley. There are many activities surrounding this hotel for families, such as the Rain Forest Cafe. I would have preferred a lower rate, but the price does include parking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank TeresaA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We're glad you found the hotel to your liking, and thank you for the compliments on our location. We hope you'll come back again to see us!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights on our roadtrip through the US. Since we had a car, it was great to find a place in Chicago with free parking. Really convenient.

The location was good too and most of the city (at least the parts we were interested in) could easily be reached by foot. Our room was big and clean.

If you do not have a car and need parking it might be possible to find a cheaper hotel of the same standard.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for the recommendation about our free parking. We hope to see you again in Chicago.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Bear Lake, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

While this hotel is certainly not the nicest hotel we've stayed at, the price was perfect for our budget, + free parking! All the staff we interacted with were extremely friendly and helpful, the beds were surprisingly comfortable and the location is fantastic! And did I mention the free parking! We have a daughter starting school here in the fall so we may be visiting often and this will definitely be were we stay :oD

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review, and we certainly do hope to see you again during your daughter's time at school. Good luck to her!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654-4410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing