We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many pros and cons...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #97 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Many pros and cons...”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a hard property to review - so I am going to break it down into a list of pros and cons and you can judge for yourself.

Pros:
-FREE PARKING!!! We also arrived early and left late by several hours and were accommodated with a parking spot while we went sightseeing. :)
-Walkable to everything - only several blocks from The Mile, also walkable to many attractions (Navy Pier, restaurant district, Willis Tower, etc...)
-Discount tickets to major attractions - we secured discount tickets to Art Institute, Willis Tower, and Navy Pier Ferris Wheel and skipped the lines.
-My father-in-law lost his wallet in the lobby, left for an hour before he realized it was missing and HAD IT RETURNED!!! It dropped out of his pants pocket, an employee found it and kept it at the front desk until he returned to get it (and yes, everything was still there...)

Cons:
-A dated building with updated but still slightly shoddy interiors, rugs, and walls.
-An odd chemical smell in the hallway that wouldn't go away.
-Full sized-beds in the double rooms with VERY uncomfortable mattresses :(
-A lot of street noise that you can hear in the bedroom

So, this review was hard for me to write - when we looked at the price we paid (through a won't show you the name until you book discount site) versus the price we would have paid for a discounted 4 or 5 star hotel without parking, the costs came to about equal. Although we had a positive stay, I don't know if I would run back - I might stay elsewhere and pay for parking while in Chicago.

Room Tip: You might want to book a suite with a king sized bed and pull-out sofa - beware the double rooms wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravlr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review and your compliments. I'm happy to tell you that we will be having renovations throughout the hotel over the next year or so, and I hope you'll come back to see some of the positive changes. We'll keep the free parking, of course!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    820
    861
    323
    129
    73
See reviews for
835
591
75
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location for visiting Chicago downtown. Free parking is a great asset. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. This is an older building but very well maintained and VERY clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank joanh302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate you sharing your experiences with other travelers. We hope to see you again on a future trip.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Great location with great rates. You will not find a more helpful more friendly staff in the city. Tell them where you want to go and they more than likely will have a card that tells you what bus or train line you need to take. They also sell discounted tickets for most of the major attractions in the city. Walking distance to Michigan Ave. and Navy Pier(if you're feeling ambitious). This was our third stay at Best Western River North and I intend to stay there again on our next trip to the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for the review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for the compliments about our staff and what we offer. We hope to see you again on a future trip!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I had to split between two hotels while in Chicago due to rooms not being available for 5 nights in a row (many conventions going on). This hotel was part two of my stay.
The hotel itself is old with squeeky floors and a sort of dingy appearance. The elevators were scary (they are old too). Also...the building has a very strange lay out, making it necessary to use different elevators if you wish to go to the pool and fitness area. If you are near the garage side, you can hear cars going in and out and conversations. The noise flows very easily through the building. The air conditioner was very loud. No refridgerator in my room.
On the plus side...the parking is free (yay!) and the location is wonderful (near Michigan Ave and the El trains). The fitness area has a few pieces of equipment, but all were in working order and good for a very brief workout. The shower had good water pressure.
Overall, a good value.......but this is far from a luxury hotel.

Room Tip: try to be on a high floor and away from the garage side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay, though I'm sorry there was some area for improvement on our part. We are beginning to plan renovations for the coming year, so I hope you'll be back in the future to see some of the changes.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is an awesome location! The rooms were outdated VERY outdated. Everything seemed clean though There was NO way through the inside to get to the lobby, and the pool was an elevator ride, walk aross the hotel and another elevator ride. We ate breakfast every morning there. poor quality for most breakfast places, but did it's job. We ate pizza one night there & my son and I both got sick later that evening. Best part was the location & FREE parking. All and All the hotel did it's job. A place to park the car and rest at night & close enough to walk to Navy Pier, Free Trolley, public transportation and great places to eat & shop.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Angi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review, and we're glad that you did enjoy your stay overall. I'm sorry that you were not completely satisfied. We are aware that some of our amenities could use updating, and we are currently in the process of planning exciting changes for the coming year. We hope you'll come back and see some of them.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The water pressure was terrible nad no one even tried to fix it. The internet didnt work in the room at all. I went to the lobby to try to use the internet and it worked but barely. The singal strength was at one bar. Checking out was a nightmare. The room was put on a cpomany credit card and it took 3 phone calls from my office to get out of there and almost missed my flight.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm so sorry for the issues during your stay. We certainly want to make the experience both enjoyable and hassle-free, and I'm sorry that your recent trip did not meet your expectations. If you'd like to come back, I'd be happy to personally assist you with a reservation and to help make your next Chicago stay a very positive one.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Fallon, Missouri, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel was in a perfect location, right off of the highwa and you could walk across the street and get McDonalds or walk a few blocks for other shops, restaurants and bars! The staff was friendly, rooms were clean, bed was very comfortable and the staff at the restaurant/bar Pizzeria Ora attached to the hotel were very friendly and the pizza was AMAZING! The best part about this hotel was the FREE PARKING!!!!!! Will for sure come back!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank TStamp_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review and for your compliments. We're so glad you enjoyed your time in Chicago with us and that you got to take in a great ballgame. We hope to see you again!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Property: Best Western River North Hotel
Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing