We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #102 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Clayton, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel is with-in walking distance to many of the tourist sites in the city. My partner wanted to go to Ed Debevic's which was just around the corner. We also were able to walk to the theater district, the boat launch/ticketing spot on the river for the architectural boat tour, and the Willis Tower (Sears). Our room was on the 5th floor, the elevators are very slow and the room was small. We were there for just one night so the small room size was not a problem. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NFCUMIKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of us with others. We're glad that you had such a pleasant stay and that we could serve your travel needs. We hope to see you back again on a future Chicago trip!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    847
    318
    126
    72
See reviews for
815
574
75
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My mom and I love visiting Chicago for weekend trips, usually. We always stay here; we've never stayed anywhere else. A main reason we chose this hotel is FREE PARKING! It's also usually reasonably priced, depending on when you're visiting. It's within walking distance from many downtown attractions, it's easy to get to, and for being downtown, there isn't much street noise. The staff here are always helpful and kind. We've never had a problem here, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who's going to travel to Chicago for any amount of time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your review and for your loyalty over so many stays! We certainly appreciate it. We're glad we can help you have such great experiences in Chicago, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

First time staying here and had a great experience. Across the road from Hard Rock Café and Rain Forest. Within 5 blocks or so of the Magnificent Mile. Hotel was very clean and wonderful maid service who cleaned everything daily. The hotel staff were very polite and willing to answer all questions. There is also a restaurant in the hotel itself that serves great pizza and also opened for breakfast. Has a bar with a friendly bartender. He remembered what I drank after our first night there. Free parking that is locked up every night. Will stay again on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your compliments about our service and amenities. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again in Chicago.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Cons: beds are not very comfortable

Pro's: location was great, easy to get to, free/gated parking and safe to walk around every where (also easy to find). I am really glad we picked this hotel. Price is cheap and everything was within 1 mile walking distance (attractions/food/pier). Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bichsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
I'm sorry you didn't find your beds comfortable, but I'm glad you still enjoyed your stay. Thank you for staying with us, and we certainly look forward to hosting you again.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The staff was very nice. This is an old hotel, which has never been an issue in the past. However, we just did not feel safe in this building. You can hear every footstep above your head, even in the hallways.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank woggy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We're sorry that you did not feel safe in our space. I can assure you that we make every effort to provide a safe environment for our hotel guests. If there were other safety issues not listed on this review, please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel. We do hope to see you again.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Good location, free parking, free wifi. Easy to get to when travelling in by car. Parking lot isn't too large, so better to park your car there for the duration of your stay and walk or take transit when you are there. The hotel is located downtown and is within walking minutes to Mag Mile / Michigan Ave and the Navy Pier. Didn't experience the hotel's restaurant, but there are so many nice restaurants around the hotel to experience. Close to the L line that goes to Wrigley Field if you're wanting to go to a ball game ... 15 minute ride to get there. If you buy tickets for the double decker bus tour, there is a stop around the corner from the hotel. Hotel seemed clean, but they were doing renovations in the lobby while we were there. A bit confusing to get to the pool from our room, but easy once you know the way.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We're happy to see that you enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate your honest feedback. We hope to see you again in Chicago.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a hard property to review - so I am going to break it down into a list of pros and cons and you can judge for yourself.

Pros:
-FREE PARKING!!! We also arrived early and left late by several hours and were accommodated with a parking spot while we went sightseeing. :)
-Walkable to everything - only several blocks from The Mile, also walkable to many attractions (Navy Pier, restaurant district, Willis Tower, etc...)
-Discount tickets to major attractions - we secured discount tickets to Art Institute, Willis Tower, and Navy Pier Ferris Wheel and skipped the lines.
-My father-in-law lost his wallet in the lobby, left for an hour before he realized it was missing and HAD IT RETURNED!!! It dropped out of his pants pocket, an employee found it and kept it at the front desk until he returned to get it (and yes, everything was still there...)

Cons:
-A dated building with updated but still slightly shoddy interiors, rugs, and walls.
-An odd chemical smell in the hallway that wouldn't go away.
-Full sized-beds in the double rooms with VERY uncomfortable mattresses :(
-A lot of street noise that you can hear in the bedroom

So, this review was hard for me to write - when we looked at the price we paid (through a won't show you the name until you book discount site) versus the price we would have paid for a discounted 4 or 5 star hotel without parking, the costs came to about equal. Although we had a positive stay, I don't know if I would run back - I might stay elsewhere and pay for parking while in Chicago.

Room Tip: You might want to book a suite with a king sized bed and pull-out sofa - beware the double rooms wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravlr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review and your compliments. I'm happy to tell you that we will be having renovations throughout the hotel over the next year or so, and I hope you'll come back to see some of the positive changes. We'll keep the free parking, of course!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Property: Best Western River North Hotel
Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing