We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #92 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

As I said, Location! Right in the heart of it all, with bus and train stops nearby for anything not close. Italian restaurant connected to the building, a Blues club around the back, Irish pub on the other corner, and a California Deli and Peruvian place too. WOW. Some rooms are small, others are quite large, and the suites are huge. Staff is helpful and friendly. An ice machine on the 5th floor would be nice... Plenty of stairs to get anywhere in the building if the elevator doesn't work. The pool is worth the climb, as is the view of the city from the pool deck. Next trip to Chicago, I'll stay again.

Room Tip: The building is divided onto two buildings, with the 4th floor the only one that connects to both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to having you again in Chicago.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

971 - 977 of 2,354 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

Have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the last 10 years. The quality of the rooms, staff, and service are outstanding. And the best perk: Free parking! The restaurant is reasonably priced and the food excellent. This is always my hotel of choice when visiting Chicago.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for your review and for the compliments! We hope to see you again soon.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The room was clean, the staff was pleasant. It is a place to go to sleep. About ten blocks to Navy Pier and two blocks from a trolly if you want a ride to the pier. Walgreens a block away. Mcdonalds across the street along with Rain Forest Cafe. All muesums, sky towers, are quite a distance. Parking on streets about ten dollars and ramps average about 18.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The hotel was nice. Elevator broken so couldn't get to the pool. Room was clean. Sun Blocking curtains gave me the creeps. They were old and very worn. But there was decorative curtains and sheers covering the sun blocking curtains. There was no microwave or fridge. There was no parking fee for our auto. Which for Chicago is valuable. And McDonalds was just across the street! We could also catch the Bus trolley tour right at McDonalds. And it's an easy walk to downtown stores and shops.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for your review, and we're glad you enjoyed many aspects of your stay. I'm sorry there was some aspect you did not enjoy. As other reviewers have noted, we are indeed planning some renovations, which we hope will gives guests an even better experience with us. We hope you'll come back to see some of the positive changes.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This hotel is poor. It is old. The elevators are slow and smelly. The water in the tub/shower is tepid, never hot. You have to lug your luggage up a half flight of stairs to check in, then back down a half flight, cross the parking garage, just to get to the elevator. The breakfast we very low quality, service was slow, I had to get up and ask for my check.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The hotel staff is great. That said, they need to do some refurbishing to a hotel that is past it's use by date. The room had a musty smell (508) and by 8 pm in the evening there was no hot water for a shower - (Showers in the am were fine). We had breakfast both mornings we stayed there and the eggs were cold both mornings and my waffle was just this side of warm (the plate was hot so you know it was micro waved). Had oat meal one morning and it was fine.

The hotel is in a great location and the parking offering is a great amenity. Was told they were going to be doing a rehab soon and if that is true, I would not hesitate to recommend it - after the work is done.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prairiefoxMn_Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Walking distance to Michigan ave, bars, restaurants. Outside looks crummy, hallways look dingy, but the rooms and lobby are quite pleasant and well appointed, and the beds are very comfortable. Free parking is a plus, but they could be a little more generous with the time you need to leave their parking lot on day of check out - especially when their is plenty of space .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Carlos J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your review, and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. With regards to parking we've found that if we don't consistently enforce our policies across the board, then we see a large increase in complaints about fairness. Because parking spots are guaranteed for each of our rooms, we have to ask that guests remove their vehicle upon checkout so that we have the available space to guarantee arriving guests have parking. We appreciate your understanding!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#107 of 192 in Chicago
1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654-4410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £64 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing