We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel for a quick stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #100 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We have stayed here for the past 3 years for just a overnight stay to take our son back to college.It's a good clean hotel, for a day or two. No thrills or frills, good overnight and free parking. Plus you get a complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lecia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,241)
There are newer reviews for Best Western River North Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

861 - 867 of 2,241 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

Don't let the FREE parking mislead you! This hotel was overpriced for the value. The room was very small & outdated. This is the first review I have written for a hotel & I wanted to make others aware before they stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

The room was very clean and well appointed, but lacked a small refrigerator. My complaints are with the maintenance of the facility. The air conditioners drip water from the floors above and those drips fall onto the outer metal casing of the room air conditioners. The fix for this was for the maintenance man to lay a wash cloth outside on the metal casing. This helped until the wash cloth was soaked, at which time the annoying dripping noise resumed. By the second day, a new drip appeared and I requested that it be fixed, and not with a wash cloth. The fix was to move me to a room on the 5th floor so that there were no rooms above me.

The area outside the valet service office was constantly wet and dripping from the air conditioning units located in the tower above that area. You could not stand on the landing and wait for your car without having water drip on your head or your luggage.

The elevator that serviced the wing where the pool and fitness area are located was out of service. The only way to reach that area of the hotel was to climb the stairs. Not a horrible request, but the front desk gave the impression that this was a recent break down, but after reading reviews on Trip Advisor, it appears to have been out of service for several weeks already. It was not fixed during my four night stay.

Lastly, I was awakened at 5:00 am to an unwelcome guest pounding on a room door across the hall from my door. After nearly 20 minutes of her pounding I called the front desk. They immediately sent security up to evaluate the situation and then called the CPD. I thought the hotel staff responded very well to the situation, but I have to question how the unwelcome person gained access to the hallway if they needed a room key for access to the floors. That was an unsettling thought. I could not go back to sleep, so I packed and checked out of the hotel.

This hotel needs some serious attention to it's maintenance. It is not enough to refurbish the rooms if the areas outside the rooms are deteriorating.

Room Tip: Go high! Especially in the summer so that the very outdated air conditioners do not drip down onto...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

I'm sorry for your disappointing experience with us. I'm glad we could address some issues, but I apologize for the others. As I stated in my email response, we will be conducting renovations throughout the hotel in the next year and a half, and we hope you'll come back then to see how we've addressed any reservations you had.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

The room was very clean and well appointed, but lacked a small refrigerator. My complaints are with the maintenance of the facility. The air conditioners drip water from the floors above and those drips fall onto the outer metal casing of other room air conditioners. The fix for this was for the maintenance man to lay a wash cloth outside on the metal casing. This helped until the wash cloth was soaked, at which time the annoying dripping noise resumed. By the second day, a new drip appeared and I requested that it be fixed and not with a wash cloth. The fix was to move us to a room on the 5th floor so that there were no rooms above me. The area outside the valet service office was constantly wet and dripping from the air conditioning units located in the tower about that area. You cold not stand on the landing and wait for your car without having water drip on your head or your luggage. The elevator that serviced the wing where the pool and fitness area were located was broken down. The only way to reach that area of the hotel was to climb the stairs. Not a horrible request, but the front desk gave the impression that this was a recent break down, but after reading reviews on Trip Advisor, it appears to have been out of service for several weeks already. It was not fixed in my four night stay. Lastly, I was awakened at 5:00 am to an unwelcome guest pounding on a room door across the hall from my door. After nearly 20 minutes of her pounding I called the front desk. They immediately sent securty up to evaluate the situation and then called the CPD. I thought the hotel staff responded very well to the situation, but I have to question how the unwelcome person gained access to the hallway if the needed a room key for access to the floors. That was an unsettling thought. I could not go back to sleep, so I packed and checked out of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

As I said, Location! Right in the heart of it all, with bus and train stops nearby for anything not close. Italian restaurant connected to the building, a Blues club around the back, Irish pub on the other corner, and a California Deli and Peruvian place too. WOW. Some rooms are small, others are quite large, and the suites are huge. Staff is helpful and friendly. An ice machine on the 5th floor would be nice... Plenty of stairs to get anywhere in the building if the elevator doesn't work. The pool is worth the climb, as is the view of the city from the pool deck. Next trip to Chicago, I'll stay again.

Room Tip: The building is divided onto two buildings, with the 4th floor the only one that connects to both...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to having you again in Chicago.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the last 10 years. The quality of the rooms, staff, and service are outstanding. And the best perk: Free parking! The restaurant is reasonably priced and the food excellent. This is always my hotel of choice when visiting Chicago.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for your review and for the compliments! We hope to see you again soon.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The room was clean, the staff was pleasant. It is a place to go to sleep. About ten blocks to Navy Pier and two blocks from a trolly if you want a ride to the pier. Walgreens a block away. Mcdonalds across the street along with Rain Forest Cafe. All muesums, sky towers, are quite a distance. Parking on streets about ten dollars and ramps average about 18.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £74 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing