We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,682)
Filter reviews
2,682 results
Traveller rating
1,089
1,008
364
139
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,089
1,008
364
139
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rainforest cafe great location parking attendant within walking distance downtown chicago ohio street rooftop deck indoor pool river north navy pier top floor an older hotel street noise few blocks front desk staff the magnificent mile free breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 2,682 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2019

Enjoy your stay! The staff will do anything to make your stay enjoyable, from the bellman to the barkeep. Free coffee in the lobby and the restaurant is steps away. Not a big place so you will be attended to. The hotel is within walking distance to the heart of Chicago.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tour40371424178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2019

Thank you for staying with us while in Chicago, we're so pleased you call us your home away from home as we strive to make all our guests feel that way! We look forward to seeing you again on a future trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2019

We stay at the River North Hotel every visit to Chicago. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. Wallace Pope is the best!! He goes above and beyond for every guest. Always and a smile on his face and is ready and eager to help. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone heading to Chicago.

Room tip: Room 442 was a King suite with a great view and lots of windows!
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2019

Thank you for your continued patronage of our hotel. We're pleased you always find the team friendly and helpful and we would agree that Wallace is the best! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2019

Room was clean & updated. Staff was friendly. Lobby was updated but case good condition issues evident. Security at this hotel could be improved as the parking garage reeked of marijuana & a guest (?) was hanging out in the basement of the parking garage. Used BW points but wished I would have stayed elsewhere. Never really felt safe.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank anakrion76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2019

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologize if any of your stay was less than expected, comments such as yours are not typical of our hotel. Our guests safety is our top priority. Our hotel is 100% non-smoking, as such we have designated smoking areas outside in the parking area. We are pleased you found the hotel to be clean and updated and the staff to be friendly. We hope you will give River North Hotel another chance on a future trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2019

The hotel itself is outdated and quite confusing to navigate. The room was average. Wifi didn't quite reach our room. The pool was a great size and I was pleasantly surprised with the bathroom in the pool area including a private shower with amenities. They sold tickets to Shedd Aquarium for a reasonable price. Overall the stay was enjoyable.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Passport49565448613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2019

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We're pleased that you overall had an enjoyable stay and were able to take advantage of the Shedd Aquarium tickets that are available through the front desk. This offer saves our guests time and money on a Shedd visit. We're also pleased that you enjoyed our indoor pool area. This area along with all of guest rooms and public spaces has recently been renovated. We hope to see you again on a future trip into Chicago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2019 via mobile

As always, the staff were exceptional. They are a gem of this property. My room was on the 5th floor and it was quiet especially considering street noise. If possible I would recommend trying to get a room on the 5th or 6th floor. Considering the price, this hotel is a value for this area of Chicago.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank AfishnamedArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2019

Thank you for your continued patronage of our hotel and for recognizing the value our hotels offers in your review. Our team takes great pride in the service they offer our guests and we are pleased you always find them exceptional. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews