We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff- Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #101 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Friendly staff- Great location!”
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Thank you- we printed and used the free upgrade. It was great! Room was clean and comfortable. Great pool and deck area. Wallace was very helpful in setting up tours and getting tickets to see the Sox! Great location- excellent value for the money and free parking to boot!

Lynn C Michigan

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsWard66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    838
    313
    121
    72
See reviews for
801
567
75
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MaconMO
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

The clean and temperate indoor pool, free parking, discounted activity tickets/coupons found at the front desk for every other tourist spot, delicious free hot breakfast , nearby and walking distance shopping, and good food, courteous service and clean, smell-free room, made this trip to Chicago a pleasant trip.
I dare say if we had not found such a good deal I would have felt our trip in general was too expensive. Lots of ways to spend TOO MUCH MONEY in Chicago! Lol
This is an older buiilding, and it is/was being updated at the time of our stay (new carpet, paint, and such in hallways). The only negative for me is the elevators are not marked very well. I used the extremely small front desk elevator several times before I found the one right next to my room! They have an attached restaurant, a website with printable coupins for upgrade availability, maps etc.
Just across the stree is an "upscale" McDonalds (way over priced!), Rain Forest Cafe (awesome shrimp pasta dish, experience, service and food, well worth the money), Hard Rock Cafe (over rated, food mediocre and over priced) A GAS STATION!! Hard to find in the downtown area! Bars, other restaurants, bus station, shopping, etc.
We visited Navy Pier (A+), Shedd Aquarium (B+), Adler Planetarium (D), Sky Deck (B-), and walked the downtown area.
This is a great little spot and of high value!
Best Western River North gets an A++ from me!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DbleDMaconMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

The Best Western River North is in a great location, just five or six blocks from Michigan Avenue, to the east, and the Chicago River, to the south. Additionally, the staff is very friendly and the hotel offers free parking and free wi-fi. However, that's about all it has going for it. Is is, after all, still just a Best Western, a no frills accommodation for those looking for merely a place to crash at the end of a long day. The rooms are mediocre, with so-so beds (bad mattresses, decent linens), VERY loud A/C units (I'd hate to stay here in the thick of summer...I'd have to choose between A/C or quiet for sleep), and tiny bathrooms with little counter space. They do have nice flat screen TVs, though. If you're not planning on spending much time in the room and are a great sleeper, this place would be fine, but if that's not the case, I think you can find much better than this Best Western. I find Hilton Garden Inns to be much newer and nicer than BWs, and there's one right in this area, though I haven't stayed at that particular one to be able to recommend it personally.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank life_is_my_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Free parking, reasonably convenient location, large, clean, comfortable room, decent and inexpensive restaurants nearby, and very friendly hotel staff. The parking attendants were especially cheerful and helpful, but front desk staff and housekeeping were courteous and friendly, as well. This particular hotel was fine - we would definitely stay here again. The Best Western website, however, is absolutely terrible, the worst and most I've ever encountered ... e.g., tells you that certain rooms are available at the "Internet Only" (i.e., the lowest) rate, then suddenly NOT available after you get to the end of the online reservation process. When I then called their toll-free number for clarification, I was told the room I wanted is actually available, but at a higher rate than was displayed online. Talk about bait and switch! In addition, their "Best Available" rate (the rate category that pops up by default) is, literally, the HIGHEST rate. So, don't be fooled by this - instead, open the rate menu and look at the other (all of them lower) rate categories. In addition, it's very difficult to figure out what the BW cancellation policy is. We had to email them to find out (turns out that it varies by rate category, apparently), then later when I tried to confirm the policy with a BW customer service rep by phone, she argued with me that it was different than what we had been emailed. The BW website seems to be designed (I don't know what else to conclude) to be misleading and dishonest. What a shame, since this hotel property itself turned out to be great.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaneRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2010

I had some work at US passport agency for which i had to travel to chicago. I checked a few hotels near by the agency and found bestwestern had a reasonable price($130-$160). But they have the worst service i had ever experienced. When i went to the lobby for check in, there was no body in the reception and 2 guys who work are standing by. None of them cared if we needed some help. After waiting for 15 min and no one showing up at the reception i asked one of the guys if he could help. He then went inside and called somebody up. We checked in to the room and it was descent. There was no water in the room.. So we called guest services and requested for water. No response till 30 min. I called again and then they sent some. We switched on the AC and after 2 hrs , my kid was perspiring in sleep. I couldn't go to sleep because of the sleep. So i called guest service and asked to check the AC. They talked some horse [---] and gave me a wonderful advice .. guess what...all i need to do to fix the issue was to "OPEN THE WINDOW"....

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avatar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We stayed here after attending a conference at a different hotel. We couldn't afford to pay $50 a day in parking and we found this place instead. We found a suite upgrade coupon on their website and were upgraded after our first night. Location was excellent. Only 4 blocks to a red line station.

Rooms are ok. The decor is quite dated. The suites are very spacious and nicer than the room we were in the first night.

There is a pool on the 7th floor and seemed to be used a lot. There is also a deck which provides a nice view of the surrounding area.

Wouldn't recommend getting a pizza from the restaurant onsite. Very bland. If you want good deep dish, go to Giadarrno's.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedHeadedGidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2010

The Hotel had a great locaton and the parking can't be beat. Room was clean and nice,descent pool with good view of city! Got a very good price on Hotels.com. Had a big problem however with our reservation. Reserved a King size bed for the family,was told all they had,requested two doubles,upon arrival was given one double bed for a family of four! Was told that no reservation is guarenteed!! from front desk.! and that they were booked. Also told to call Hotels.com to help find another Hotel! After calling, Hotels.com,they spoke to manager and got us our room.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganTurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Property: Best Western River North Hotel
Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing