We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #91 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2010

WE picked this hotel cause of the free parking.. our room was soo small. We had 2adults and 3 kids..stuff was not friendly. No microwave,no breakfast,pool was not clean. It was a green looking color. They were painting a few rooms down from us so all we smelled was paint. Just not worth it. Wont stay here again. and the layout is crazy!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dallasgirl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,108 - 2,114 of 2,388 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2010

We stayed Aug 23, 24, 25. There was a bit of concern because of some reviews, but we were quite pleased with our stay. It is not a high end hotel, however the place was spotless, and staff friendly. The free parking was great, and location can't be beat. We bought CTA passes, but really did not use them much. You can walk most anywhere from the hotel. For the money saved by staying here, we were able to enjoy much more of Chicago. The Blues Chicago on Clark around the corner was a blast as well! (2 nights in a row!) If you want luxury, go elsewhere, but for clean, comfortable rooms, this is a great place. We would stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoSnowCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

The location is good but we are not happy with the staff service (except for the bill boy). First of all we reserved for 3 nights but we had a problem the first night, our flight was deleted and we arrived the day after…I know that we had to pay for that night but I kindly asked if I could be possible to have a little reduction but there was any help from them. The room was quite big but noisy, I couldn’t sleep at all. Then we left the signal “staff require” in order to have the room cleaned up but when we came back nobody has cleaned up our room! Only the bill boy for the luggage was really nice at us… I wouldn’t recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkey_Lup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

When we went to check in they couldn't find my reservation that I made 3 weeks in advance.So make sure you have a confirmation number with you. I had to pay 40.00 more and could only get a king bed instead of 2 doubles and that took 40 minutes to check in.We were in the corner room on the third floor and the traffic was so loud I would recommend earplugs. No microwave. The elevators are extremely slow and the hotel layout awful. Not worth what we paid .I will not stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mksmom97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We stayed 3 nights Thurs - Sunday. PROS: This is the reason we picked this hotel- Great location, average price per day $130 included free parking. All other hotels downtown charge for parking and they were expensive. I would recommend this hotel to others, rooms where clean & price was good. Hotel included coffee/tea/hot chocolate milk and cookies. You had access to free internet or lobby had computer and printer for you to use. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Walking distance to transit, subway and close to restaurants. CONS: air condition was noisy in room and elevators & hallways need updating. If you looking for 3 plus - 4star hotel this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovekin40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

This was a great hotel for the price. We had three travellers, and the room with the king bed and pullout sofa was plenty of room. (The sofa could only sleep 1 so two rooms would be needed to sleep 4) Check in was a breeze. Access to our room was through the main lobby, but some others had to use the elevator just around the corner from the lobby (Had to cross the drive way) I don't think this was that inconvenient for people as it was an enclosed space. the room included a fridge, safe, large TV and there was free wi-fi in the room. The free parking was excellent, with valet service. The car was retrieved quickly when needed. The concierge Wallace was a great help. He was able to sell us discounted tickets to different attractions. He also gave great tips on getting around the city. The only downside was the maids came very early (8am), but would come back if you weren't ready to vacate. The location is excellent - right across from the Rock & Roll McDonald's (great for breakfast) and the Hard Rock Cafe, Rainforest Cafe and other restaurants. One of the stops it seems on most of the sightseeing tour bus companies is right outside the McD's, so that made it very convenient. Didn't have a chance to use the pool, which is a shame - it's on the top floor (indoor), but had a sundeck and a small workout rooom. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucky_charm2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Great location, Great staff, FREE PARKING,Family friendly,FREE PARKING, Nice Pool

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottchurchillsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#107 of 192 in Chicago
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654-4410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#54 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £62 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing