We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and very affordable for Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #96 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2010

You can't beat this one for the FREE PARKING. This is very rare in Chicago. The location was close to transit (bus and subway) and catching a cab was easy as well as it was a busy location. No issues with street noise except the night that the Blackhawks won the Stanley Cup. Who could blame them! We have small children and there were several restaurants across the street including a McDonald's and a Rainforest cafe. Lots of restaurants and lounges within walking distance, including Portillo's (the hot dogs are amazing!). You can walk to the downtown in 15 or 20 minutes as well. An easy walk. We had a great stay and it was very affordable compared to most Chicago hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laker_girl_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,995 - 2,001 of 2,273 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2010

I made reservations for this hotel 3 weeks in advance, meeting 2 colleagues for a major convention. I called the hotel and confirmed my reservation at 8:00 am the morning of my arrival before going directly to the convention from the airport. My reservation was also guaranteed for late arrival with a credit card. After a long day at the show, we arrived at the hotel around 6 PM. My colleagues checked in with no problems, but when they got to me I was told that they overbooked and I did not have a room. They tried to put me in an absolute dump across the street; an ancient "motel", the type where your door faces the parking lot and the general public can walk right up to your door. I can't imagine a hotel like this in downtown Chicago is safe. I argued with the desk clerk, and with the manager over the phone. Their story was that there was not another room open anywhere downtown, so I either take take "Motel Hell" or I was on my own. They even suggested that it was my fault because I did not arrive until 6 PM and I was the "only one" that they had this trouble with. I had my wife calling for rooms from home, and she did find a downtown Hampton Inn for $499., but best Western said they would pay only $209. After having 100% occupancy in their hotel, they couldn't even spring an extra $300. to put me up in a reasonable hotel. I've traveled all over the world, and have never had an experience like this. They literally left me without a place to sleep, and with no notice to find another hotel. The manager even lied to me and told me they tried to call during the day. I had no messages on my cell, home or work phone, and no emails or texts notifying me in advance of the problem. I will never stay at another Best Western property, and since I am a VP at a fairly large company, neither will any of our employees on business travel. By the way, I ended up on a couch in a colleague's room...

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tom4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

hotel idealy situated,rooms nice and clean,pool and sun deck perfect for unwinding at the end of the day..free parking a must would recommend this hotel ..would advise you to get bus pass for stay a lot of working involved otherwise and passes to attractions defo worth it ..

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpe65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Chicago. Very clean and updatd with everything you need. The staff was excellent, very helpful and polite. Of coarse the free parking is a plus. They have a great resteraunt and bar, Food very reasonable and good. I give this a A+.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggy029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

WE picked this hotel cause of the free parking.. our room was soo small. We had 2adults and 3 kids..stuff was not friendly. No microwave,no breakfast,pool was not clean. It was a green looking color. They were painting a few rooms down from us so all we smelled was paint. Just not worth it. Wont stay here again. and the layout is crazy!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dallasgirl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We stayed Aug 23, 24, 25. There was a bit of concern because of some reviews, but we were quite pleased with our stay. It is not a high end hotel, however the place was spotless, and staff friendly. The free parking was great, and location can't be beat. We bought CTA passes, but really did not use them much. You can walk most anywhere from the hotel. For the money saved by staying here, we were able to enjoy much more of Chicago. The Blues Chicago on Clark around the corner was a blast as well! (2 nights in a row!) If you want luxury, go elsewhere, but for clean, comfortable rooms, this is a great place. We would stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoSnowCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

The location is good but we are not happy with the staff service (except for the bill boy). First of all we reserved for 3 nights but we had a problem the first night, our flight was deleted and we arrived the day after…I know that we had to pay for that night but I kindly asked if I could be possible to have a little reduction but there was any help from them. The room was quite big but noisy, I couldn’t sleep at all. Then we left the signal “staff require” in order to have the room cleaned up but when we came back nobody has cleaned up our room! Only the bill boy for the luggage was really nice at us… I wouldn’t recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkey_Lup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#104 of 192 in Chicago
1,743 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £71 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing