We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #99 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Peoria
1 review
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Just returned from a two night stay at Best Western River North. This is a great place to stay for visitors to Chicago who are looking for value. This hotel is the only one that I am aware of that offers free parking for the first car and charges additional $20 for second car. The lot is right next to hotel, street level, monitored by an attendant and is gated at night. Check-in was easy, concierge very helpful/friendly. There is restaurant on-site, but there are a varienty of restaurants/bars all within 4 block radius in River North area. Room was clean and quiet. Medium sized pool on top floor was clean, warm, and has a great outdoor deck for sunning in summer. This is not a fancy hotel, but that is outweighed by the value offered. NOTE: I recommend requesting a room in the main building with pool (larger, updated rooms with easier access).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbb1246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    840
    313
    121
    72
See reviews for
802
567
75
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Absolutely the best. The room was large with king sized bed with ample room all around. It was very clean. Bathroom was spacious enough. Can't beat the location. Close to the subway and Michigan Ave. Free parking. What more could you want. Great little restaurant across the intersection. Two eggs, two pancakes. two sausage patties and two strips of bacon for $5.25 or $5.75 (can't remember). And it was good. We will certainly stay there again when we return to the windy city. If driving, the hotel is easy to get to and return from the interstate highway. My suggestion: make your reservation now.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska City, Nebraska
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

For less than $130 including taxes etc and with AAA discount this was a great place to stay. It is an older hotel. No fancy lobby but the hallways and rooms were clean. Great location. One block from the Hop On/Hop Off Double Decker Bus stop. Loved the funky, giant sized McDonald's across the street. Hard Rock Cafe one block away and Navy Pier within walking distance. The staff was very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ichoosejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2010

A clean hotel is a must for us, and this one was fine. It is an older hotel with slow elevators and noisy air conditioners, but it worked for us to do some site-seeing in Chicago. We parked the car for a long weekend, and took the trains and buses everywhere we wanted to go. I think if we do a weekend in Chicago again, we might take the train from Michigan and then stay in a nice hotel by the water for something different. This hotel is walking distance from the Magnificent Mile and lots of restaurants, which is nice. For breakfast we ate at Eggsperience (wonderful! get there early) and McDonald's across the street for something quick and easy.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtotravelmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

This is not a 5 star hotel, and if that is what you are looking for, look elsewhere. But I have never been treated better in any 5 star hotel in my 60 years. I booked a room for myself an dmy daughter to watch my son, who was supposed to stay with friends, run the Chicago Marathon. This Marathon has 45,000 runners and 1.5 million spectators. Hotels are booked a year in advance. It should have be impossible to receive special treatment. Not here. They gave me free breakfast when it was not supposed to be included in the price (it was great!), they allow you to park your can, it's included in the price, and go in and out at will. (Saved at least $50 a day and allowed us to explore as never before. When my son's lodging failed, they found me a big room with a king bed and pullout queen - at no additional charge. They let me stay late after the race- no charge and no hassle. Everyone tries to please. The rooms are not fancy, but clean, and there is a nice outdoor rooftop pool deck where we ate our take-out Giordano's pasta before the race the next day. FREE INTERNET. Free computer and printer in lobby. It is easy to get to and easy to walk everywhere from there. Could not have been happier.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cincinnatiian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We stayed here a total of 3 days (Sat-Mon), had a 2 double bed room and traveled with 3 adults and a 3 year old. The room was nice and a good size, bathroom is a little on the small side but there was a sink and mirror right outside the bathroom door that kept everything moving nicely in the mornings. The room was clean and the housekeeping did a good job, there was also a safe in the room for any valuables you might need to store. The beds were clean but a little uncomfortable. The free parking was the big plus for this hotel, you could also have unlimited in and outs and when the hotel was not busy you could park your own car but when they were bust you had to wait on someone to park it for you. Again for free parking it was not a big deal. We did not use the pool or the restaurant so I can't comment on them but we did use the outside deck on the roof and it was very nice at night. Breakfast is not included unless you pay extra for it but there is a McDonalds right across the street and behind McDonalds is a restaurant called Portillo's I would definitely recommend going there and getting the beef and cheese croissant. Walking distance to Navy Pier is about 30 minutes and 20 minutes to Michigan Ave. Overall a good hotel for budget seekers looking to stay downtown.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IUalumni95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chestermere, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

You can't beat this one for the FREE PARKING. This is very rare in Chicago. The location was close to transit (bus and subway) and catching a cab was easy as well as it was a busy location. No issues with street noise except the night that the Blackhawks won the Stanley Cup. Who could blame them! We have small children and there were several restaurants across the street including a McDonald's and a Rainforest cafe. Lots of restaurants and lounges within walking distance, including Portillo's (the hot dogs are amazing!). You can walk to the downtown in 15 or 20 minutes as well. An easy walk. We had a great stay and it was very affordable compared to most Chicago hotels.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laker_girl_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Property: Best Western River North Hotel
Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing