We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality for a cheap price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass
Ranked #108 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Quality for a cheap price”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This is my first time in this location and the staff are friendly. If you're not a very fancy person and just looking for a place to stay in for a couple of days to roam around downtown Chicago, this would be a good place. Clean room, internet, cable and other amenities are available at your disposal. Might check-in here again if the price is low. :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-Nigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TODD V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hello J-Nigma, thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you took advantage of our complementary amenities, like the free wifi and our hot, full breakfast spread. Thank you again for your time and we look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    457
    202
    73
    30
See reviews for
169
312
118
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I took my wife to Chicago for her 40th birthday. I did extensive research as to which hotels and what they offered. If you love a great value, this is your hotel. No glitz, just clean, friendly and breakfast included. Location close to everything. Take the train and bus everywhere. Fran at the front desk was awesome. Gave us a larger room than usual as most rooms in this hotel are on the smaller size. He also wished my wife happy birthday per the note in his computer, extra points with us. Our flight was cancelled the night before so we were short a day of our trip. They were very accommodating in adjusting our dates for us. Bed was awesome, however lacks a heavy comforter. Thanks for a great stay, we will be back.

Room Tip: Be kind to the front desk and simply ask if they have a larger room than usual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TODD V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hello Bradley J, thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. We hope you and your wife had a wonderful birthday experience. We know how unfortunate it can be when flight delays shorten fun trips, but at Hotel Cass we pride ourselves on being accommodating to changing schedules.Thank you again for your time and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Ideally located downtown, at a walking distance of pretty much everything. Prices are definitely good.
Rooms are clean, staff is helpful & breakfast is complimentary.
On the downside, you might want bigger rooms and a restaurant but hey, prices would certainly go up as a result :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Hello Gregory T, thank you for your review following your recent stay with us on your business trip. As a fully renovated historic hotel in the heart of the Loop, our rooms are comparable in size to similar hotels in the downtown Chicago area. Thank you again for your time and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
295 reviews
284 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Booked via IHG for 65$ per night for 2 night. Cheap!

Arrived at 11AM and room was ready, check in was cordial and efficient, the lobby of the hotel is nice retro 1930s meets hipster.

The room was on an upper floor, and first thing I noticed was it was on the smallish side, no furniture apart from bed and night table (drawers are in the wardrobe next to the bed). The king bed was comfie and I like the head board where you can sit to watch TV wall mounted, plenty of channels), as the other option is the work station chair. The hotel is old and it shows; the wall was repaired but the plastering job was not good, not giving a good impression. View was partially obstructed. Free wifi.

The breakfast was excellent with ample hot and cold choice and a nice pancake machines, press a button and voila! 2 pancakes are made. Plenty of room. Gym was small and elliptical was noisy and wobbly, they should invest in some better equipment. The business center was great.

Still, for the price, an excellent option.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lubiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Hi Lubiere, thank you very much for posting your review. As a fully renovated historic hotel in the heart of the Loop, our rooms are comparable in size to similar hotels in the downtown Chicago area. We are happy to hear that you liked our business center and free wifi. Thank you again for your time and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I spent three nights here at the height of the summer travel season. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, and the free breakfast, which includes hot and cold foods, is a nice feature (the breakfast room is crowded, though; give yourself plenty of time if you want to eat). This is an older property that has been redecorated with panache, but the rooms, judging by the one I was in, are very small. However, I got a very reasonable rate for downtown Chicago, and I was within easy walking distance of Loyola, just down the street. There are many restaurants in the area, and L stations are nearby, making it easy to venture farther afield. The front desk is great with suggestions and directions and will gladly help if you ask them. With parking being so difficult downtown, a location like this, convenient to amenities and public transportation, is a real find. The hotel offers valet parking, but this will add considerably to your costs.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bythemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Hi bythemoon, thank you very much for posting your review. We are happy to hear that you liked our our hot, complimentary full breakfast spread and our location right in the heart of downtown Chicago, steps away from the city's finest shopping, dining and attractions.Thank you and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Level Contributor
155 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The rooms are a bit small, but beautiful and very clean. The hotel is located in the heart of Chicago, you can walk everywhere. There are many restaurants, supermarkets, drugstores, shops and shopping centers nearby. Breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: I think they're all the same, not big, but comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi Maira C, thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. As a fully renovated historic hotel in the heart of the Loop, our rooms are comparable in size to similar hotels in the downtown Chicago area.We are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying at our location, right in the heart of downtown Chicago, steps away from the city's finest shopping, dining and attractions.Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to take a four day vacation and head to Chicago for New Years. This had been my second time to Chicago and his first. I had remembered from my previous trip that parking downtown can be very expensive so we wanted to stay somewhere within walking distance to Michigan Avenue (aka Magnificent Mile). Since we were driving we decided to go with the Park and Points package (includes parking with in and out privileges, wifi, breakfast and IHG points). When we arrived at the hotel we checked in (room 306) and were told that the valet was going to be parking our car in a garage about four blocks away. Its great that they have the valet service but I would recommend to call the front desk at least 20-25 minutes prior to needing your car retrieved because if the valet staff is busy it can take up to 45 minutes to get your vehicle. Once we got to our room we were shocked to see how tiny the rooms were. I had seen reviews saying the rooms were small but I didn't realize they'd be THAT small. We stayed in the non-smoking one queen room and practically bumped into the bed as we walked through the door. If you're looking for a room with a view I would not recommend staying in room 306. We opened our curtains to let in some natural light but quickly realized we were facing a brick wall. As far as the location goes, if you're looking for a hotel close to Michigan Avenue (5 minute walk), the Navy Pier (7 minute drive), Millennium Park (15 minute walk) or the Willis Tower (6 minute drive) then this is a great place to stay. The hotel does not offer room service but does have a Starbucks right across the street as well as the very popular Pizzeria Uno just a block away. The hotel does offer a complimentary breakfast but the hot food isn't good so we stuck to the yogurt and bagels. The staff, for the most part, was friendly but seemed confused when it came to some of the hotels policies. Like I said, great location but we'll probably stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi Mila A, thank you very much for posting your review. At Hotel Cass we pride ourselves on helpful staff, therefore we will look into this situation and appreciate your feedback. We are glad to hear you took advantage of our great location right in the heart of downtown Chicago, steps away from the city's finest shopping, dining and attractions. Thank you and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass
Address: 640 N Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-2726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel, conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital. Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park. Catch a game with one of the 16 professional sports teams in town. At our Chicago downtown hotel, you're just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile. Newly renovated, this historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 175 guestrooms and 3 suites. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago
Holiday Inn Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing