We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass
Ranked #107 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Silverthorne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I come to Chi town at least one time per year...and this was my first time in the Holiday Inn in the old Cass Hotel. The place was clean...and very accommodating! The rooms are quite small, however, I don't come to the city to spend time in the hotel. The continental breakfast is a great perk if you don't want to spend up to $20 a person out for breakfast. They however, need to invest in small refrigerators for the room. BUY A COOLER if you want a cold drink at any point. The hotel is nestled in the perfect walking location (roughly two blocks) to Michigan in a great neighborhood. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms are small, but I believe they are great for the price. The only thing they need is a small fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TODD V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hi Alex G,
Thank you very much for writing a review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our hot, complementary breakfast, and location right in the heart of downtown Chicago. Thank you again, hope to see you again the next time you are in Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    449
    198
    72
    30
See reviews for
165
302
117
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel is within walking distance of Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo (about 2.5 miles but a nice walk) and the heart of the city. The rooms are small but clean and the beds are very comfortable. The breakfast is decent. We would stay again if we got a good rate. The location alone makes it worthwhile.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpbiwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TODD V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hi jpbiwer,
Thank you very much for writing a review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our location, and the complementary hot breakfast. Thank you so much again. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha,NE
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

If you are in Chicago, this Hotel is right for you, nice rooms, size of rooms are typical, the staff is wonderful they are caring and attentive at every turn. Please give them a chance hotel is close to everything, we were able to walk to all sorts of things. Got lots of exercise

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ike1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TODD V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hi Ike1970,
Thank You for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our location right in the heart of downtown Chicago, steps away from the best food, shopping and attractions. We would love to have you again the next time you are in Chicago. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have a family of 5 and arrived on a Sunday and left on a Wednesday to book 2 rooms on the 8th floor. The rooms are small but clean and served our purpose. The service from the front desk to the cleaning staff was great. They made us feel welcome and assisted as needed. The breakfast allowed us to eat for free before starting each day with a variety of items. The location is great for walking to shops and various places to eat. We ate across the street at Pizzeria Due and really enjoyed the food and service. The parking situation was not clear to me until arrival. Its a public parking garage around the corner for $44 per day or valet for $48. We chose the public parking and the walk was minimal but still a bit of a hassle - probably should have went with valet. Overall we would definitely recommend it based on the location, service and price.

Room Tip: Our rooms on the 8th floor were quite and without a view 804 and 805.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benzacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TODD V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello benzacki,
thank you for your review. Thank you for choosing to spend you family vacation at the Hotel Cass. I am glad you took advantage of our location right in the heart of downtown Chicago, steps away from the city's finest shopping, dining and attractions. Thank you again for posting your review. Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
367 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

A small hotel in a refurbished old building with very small but clean rooms that come with the minimal services and basic amenities one can expect from a budget hotel. Free daily breakfast is also provided in a dining area with limited seating. You can get a lot of street noise in the rooms of this low-rise property and the sirens of passing police vehicles or ambulances during my stay was extremely disturbing.

Thumbs up for the location though as it is conveniently situated near to most sights and within walking distance of the Magnificent Mile shopping street. There are also lots of eateries in the area and my favorite Trader Joe's grocery store too!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TODD V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi Y880,

Thank you for writing a review. As you noticed Hotel Cass is a fully renovated historic hotel in the heart of the Loop, but our rooms are comparable in size to similar hotels in the downtown Chicago area. I am happy to hear that you took advantage of our location right in the heart of downtown Chicago, steps away from the city's finest shopping, dining and attractions. Thank you again for your review. Have a nice day. Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great location in River North, smack in the middle of most things you'd want to do. Very shopping and dining centric. Hotel was easy to find, just a few blocks from the Red line train.
Check-in experience was fine, minimal wait time and efficient service.
Room was small, with a queen bed, but it's Chicago, so not too surprised, though the bath was quite spacious. Room was in good condition overall, though there were flexible bedside reading lights which are attached to the fabric headboard, one of the switches was missing a cover so the electrical wiring was visible. Other guest noise was minimal, but hallway noise was pretty noticeable inside the room.
The hotel offers a breakfast every morning, which was average, but tasty to be complementary. Layout of the breakfast area is challenging with a large number of guests present as it's basically a free for all.

Room Tip: I normally look for a high floor in cities, but the elevators are slow, so take that in consideratio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nsvlbimmerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel is in a great location, the interior is clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. everything lived up the the quality of Holiday Inn express and I would absolutely recommend staying here to friends and coworkers for business or leisure. This is a historic hotel, so the rooms are small. My room was behind the elevator so it was a little noisy, but I would still recommend staying here in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are quieter. My room was behind the elevators and next to the service closet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaJessica11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TODD V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi AtlantaJessica11,

Thank you so much for writing a review. It makes me so happy to hear that you would recommend Hotel Cass to your friends and coworkers. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again. Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Inn of Chicago
Inn of Chicago
#138 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#109 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass
Address: 640 N Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-2726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel, conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital. Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park. Catch a game with one of the 16 professional sports teams in town. At our Chicago downtown hotel, you're just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile. Newly renovated, this historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 175 guestrooms and 3 suites. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago
Holiday Inn Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing