We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Small Rooms”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #117 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The hotel is cute and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful when we needed to switch rooms. The rooms are very small and average looking. With a location within walking distance of downtown Chicago, Michigan Ave and all the main things you want to see, I expected it to be more on par with other four star hotels in the area. The beds weren't great but the food was delightful. The valet brought us the wrong car and made us wait forty minutes, but the bell hops were amazing. So I guess it was overall a pleasant hotel but I won't choose it again. A four star hotel should be the whole package.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the main entrance were slightly bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Hello K S, thank you very much for your review. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our friendly and hardworking staff. We're also glad you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of downtown Chicago. Regarding the valet, we will look into the situation and conduct remedial training as necessary. Thank you again and we hope you have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

660 - 666 of 1,632 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Great little hotel. This is a green hotel with recycle bins in the room. The rooms are a nice size and very clean. The staff, from the doormen, front desk personnel, and housekeeping are nice and extremely helpful with information. Located just a little way from Michigan Ave., it's close to great restaurants and shopping. Everything is within walking distance. The in house spa was fantastic and I took advantage of a massage - very relaxing. Great price for the area. I recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: King room overlooking the street was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANNIVERSARYTRAVELER2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Hello ANNIVERSARYTRAVELER2! Thanks so much for your review. We're thrilled you enjoyed our hardworking staff, convenient location and luxurious spa! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Great hotel for location and price - very cute. Room was exactly what we needed for the night. Staff were very helpful. We hired a car and parking was literally opposite. we could easily walk to all the great restaurants. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thanks for your review Emma P! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and our friendly, hard working staff and convenient location. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

This is a nice clean modern hotel right in the best part of Chicago for eating out and shopping. Jut a short stroll to magnificent mile and near super eateries such as ALS beef and ginos pizza. Yes the rooms are small but how much room do you need in such a busy city. We got an amazing secret hotel deal on expedia. Not sure we'd pay full price.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Darbo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Hello Darbo1969, thanks for your review. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. Al's Beef and Gino's are Chicago staples! Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Yes, the rooms are not as large as the ones you might have stayed in in other hotels.
Yes, the lobby is moderately sized.
Yes, there is no fridge in your room.
Yes, you might not have a room with a view...

But: you do have a decent priced hotel room DOWN TOWN, you do have a very comfy bed and you could get that fridge should you need it.

And in all honousty; I'm from Europe and was completely prepared to be sleeping in a closet-like room (based on all reviews below) so I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. It IS a nice room, it's maybe just not your bedroom you've got at home....

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moramare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Hello Moramare, thank you very much for your review! We appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us (and our rooms!). Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon on your next trip to the Windy City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Although the location is good, the room we were assigned was tiny. This was a two-night trip, husband and wife. The closet was tiny. It did not have enough room to store either regular-sized suitcase which therefore had to take up valuable floor space in the already very cramped room. Tiny bathroom; shower only. No coffee machine in room. (There wouldn't have been room!)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LGSpGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Hello LGSpGR, thank you for your review. While our rooms are cozy in nature we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts and efficiencies. In keeping with our eco-friendly policies we do not keep coffee machines plugged into guests rooms to conserve energy. Instead, we serve unlimited complimentary fair-trade coffee and tea in the lobby. Thank you and have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This was our first experience (amazing last minute deal online!) staying at Hotel Felix and we were satisfied overall. That being said, we would probably only stay here again if we got a similar last minute deal. We would classify it as average but the location downtown is great. It is older and has been updated, has comfortable beds but the rooms are small. The front desk staff was very friendly and allowed us to check in early. Nearby parking if you don't want to valet, but the valet price was actually great for the area. Small bar in the lobby that provided coffee and tea in the morning.

****We have only one real complaint regarding service. We realized we left our electronic toothbrush and called within an hour of checking out. They said they didn't have it but we are sure it was there. We called again MULTIPLE times and left MULTIPLE messages that were never returned. It would have been nice if they called us back, even if it could not be located.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Hi weloveadventures3 - Thank you very much for posting your review. We hope to see you again soon despite the confusion surrounding your missing item. We do appreciate your kind remarks and feedback. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#77 of 192 in Chicago
1,612 reviews
dana hotel and spa
#62 of 192 in Chicago
3,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#104 of 192 in Chicago
1,747 reviews
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#22 of 192 in Chicago
2,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Address: 111 W Huron St, Chicago, IL 60654-8706
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#68 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £72 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing