We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but economical”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #117 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
chicago, il
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Small but economical”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Well, my room was big enough for the bed and a small desk. The desk, however, had a cheap metal leg that fell off occasionally. The closet was a cut out in the wall with a curtain over it. If you're looking for high end and four star, look elsewhere. If you're looking for a decent location (walkable to everything) that is for sleeping, and a very good price ...give it a try.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank brimyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Hi Brimyn - Thank you for your recent review and for staying with us last fall. We're glad you took advantage of our convenient location, just steps away from Chicago's famed Magnificent Mile, the museums, restaurants and more. Our guest rooms are cozy and comfortable, especially for an urban, downtown hotel.

We hope you'll stay with us again soon during your next trip to Chicago. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    625
    336
    144
    121
See reviews for
231
607
166
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2013

While my boyfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Chicago, it was in spite of our stay at Hotel Felix not because of it. We come to the city every few months and always bid on Priceline just for kicks so I've stayed in 7-8 of the "nicer" hotels in this area of Chicago.

CONS: There are very few amenities. No fridge, no coffee maker, no shuttles to O'Hare.

In room hair dryer & room phone were broken, drapes & shower curtain were both ripped in areas. Pieces of laminate were missing from the bath sink.

Tried to order room service for a romantic breakfast in bed but they said they were out of the order cards so we'd have to call back at 5 or 6 AM to order. Defeats the point of waking up to breakfast.

We also had a bunch of loud kids partying, swearing, & slamming doors in the rooms down the hall from us at 2 AM. Hotel staff kicked them out but they came back a few hours later so while not the hotel's fault, the lack of sleep didn't add to our Hotel Felix experience.

PROS: Staff was very nice & prompt in coming up to deal with the late night party. Room seemed clean and had a large window! It's right around the corner from yummy Fogo de Chao & Wildfire. The complimentary wireless was great!

Overall, I'll still play hotel roulette with Priceline, but I do hope next time we snag a different spot!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyDisposition808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review and for staying with us on one of your many trips to the Windy City. We're happy to hear our staff was friendly and helpful during your stay. We are proud of our eco-friendly efforts and do our very best to offer additional amenities, including complimentary coffee every morning (rather than a coffee maker in room).

We hope you'll return in the future for a restful stay with us. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I booked on Priceline for an evening downtown. The room reminded me of a European size hotel with no comforts and a tiny uncomfortable chair. The closet will hold maybe three items. The staff upon checking in acted as if it was a huge inconvenience and were not welcoming at all. There are so many options downtown that are in better locations and more affordable for what you get.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kachicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Hi Kachicago - Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to downtown Chicago. While our rooms are cozy in nature, we pride ourselves on our eco-friendly efforts and LEED Silver certification. We also take great pride in our friendly and always accommodating staff. We will check in with the team and conduct remedial training as appropriate. Thank you again and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Rooms are quite small as others have stated. Definitely not a 4.5 star property, rooms were clean nonetheless. Close to area attractions. Given the large amount of options in the area, I think one can do better.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meisam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thanks for your review Melsam M! While our rooms are cozy in nature, we're proud of our eco-friendly efficiencies. Thanks again and we hope you have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I booked this hotel for a week for over $200+ a night with no breakfast, which is not cheap. This is my third day here and for two nights in a row, I came back to the room and none of the toiletries like shower gel or conditioner were replaced even though I clearly used them up (I threw away the empty bottles) and the bathroom floor was still dirty with a lot of hair lying around. The bed was made so for sure someone "clean" the room, but for two nights I have to either call or go down and ask for shampoo and stuff. The room is tiny and hard to find a place even to put my luggage, and is difficult to find room to sit in front of the tiny desk to use my laptop. Even though it is modernly designed and bed is comfortable, it is not worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joannepchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for your review Joannepchan. We're looking into this situation you raised. Thanks again for your review and we hope you have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

So, I come to Chicago for business every 2 months and decided to try something new. I will be returning to the James or the Acme next time. Nothing was poor or terrible, but for the money I spent here, I can stay at a 4 star hotel with amenities. My major complaint was the restaurant/room service. I understand French food is not gluten free, but there should be an option other than a plain salad. ALSO, the restaurant closes and there is also no room service then. There is no coffee or tea or mini bar in the room for when it's closed. The room is very minimal, but clean. Very underwhelming. And my first night I was directly across from the elevator and on a low floor and it was quite noisy. I moved on my 2nd night and it was better, but there was a spotlight on my room, not the worst, but is there a nice room here? Over all, I won't be back for this price in this city full of amazing hotels.

Room Tip: Don't arrive late and rooms right across from the elevator are quite noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lohfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hello Iohfo, thank you for your review. The restaurant next door is a separately managed establishment from Hotel Felix. In keeping with our eco-friendly policies we do not keep coffee machines in guests rooms. Household appliances like coffee machines continue to draw electricity when plugged in, even if turned off. We provide unlimited complimentary fair-trade coffee and tea in the lobby. Thank you again and we hope you have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Room was small. We stayed just one night since our apartment was not ready yet when we moved. Service was good and room was clean. Amenities were okay - only real complaint is the size of the room.

This is not bad at all if you do not anticipate staying in your hotel room long (for instance, just one night, or you will be sightseeing/shopping for the most part). If you like your hotel rooms more sizable though, reconsider.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maice_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hello Maice_S, thank you for your review. While our rooms are cozy in nature, as Chicago's first Silver LEED certified hotel, we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts. Thank you again for your review and we hope you have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#60 of 190 in Chicago
3,615 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#77 of 190 in Chicago
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#103 of 190 in Chicago
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Property: Hotel Felix
Address: 111 W Huron St, Chicago, IL 60654-8706
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#68 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing