We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointing hotel at least in my case”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #121 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Room is quite small, no mini bar no fridge. maybe acceptable for business traveler,definitely not for vacation goers
I wrote to the hotel to accept an online purchase before checked in and got positive response. It's delivered before 8pm on Monday. The duty manager locked it up and took a leave for 2 days. We were told it would not be available until Thursday. The director of front desk expressed no apology but defended the front desk manager's act as precarious. The hotel received the package on behalf of the guest. The package did not address to specific front desk manager. The lack of basic common sense of the hotel management is very disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Hi Tom Y - Thank you for your review as we certainly appreciate hearing feedback from guests. When packages arrive to Hotel Felix addressed to a non-registered guest and the package has value, we will secure it until we find who the package is for. We do this to keep delivered items safe, and the package gets to the right hands. Thank you again for your feedback, and hope you return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

634 - 640 of 1,650 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

Silver LEED certified boutique hotel in good downtown Chicago area with numerous quality restaurants nearby. The staff was very pleasant, the rooms and public areas were clean and modernly decorated, but my room was super tiny. There was only about 18 inches of clearance between the bottom of the bed and the small table/TV area. I bumped my knees 5 times on the wood extending from the corners of the bed! In addition, though I was there 3 nights, I cancelled housekeeping service because there was no space to put my things to get them out of the way. The room was very well insulated and I could barely hear outside or hall noise, but the smallness was almost claustrophobic.

Room Tip: Look at a floor plan of the rooms (they have them) and make sure they are not giving you one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Hi Kathryn K - Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay! While our rooms are cozy in nature, we find most guests appreciate our urban location, which is just steps away from Chicago’s landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, museums, shopping and more. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed for a single night after booking on HotWire while we were flying through Chicago.

Great location in River North, close to bars and restaurants and trolley tour stop.

Clean, modern rooms, very small (think two feet around the bed with a small bathroom). Good for a single night where we weren't unpacking though we barely had room for our suitcases (coming from a two week tropical trip).

Would stay here again, the hotel bar is good, and the location could not be beat. Though I wouldn't stay for longer than a night or two.

Downsides besides tiny room, the hotel wireless is awful, and cleaning staff are loud in the mornings. But we didn't seem to find walls as thin as other guests.

Room Tip: We stayed in 212 at the end of a hall and were pleased
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank digerati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Hi digerati - Thank you for choosing Hotel Felix during your recent stay in Chicago! While our rooms are cozy in nature, as Chicago's first Silver LEED certified hotel we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts. Glad you got to enjoy the hotel bar and surrounding attractions, too. We very much appreciate your taking the time to post a review and we hope to see you again soon. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Room was very reasonable (albeit I visited in early March- Brrrr). The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. My room was very small but very clean. Boutique hotel. Had a cute lobby bar and they guys who take care of your car are amazing. Will definitely return this summer!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mthede1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Hi mthede1 - Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your kind remarks, and are glad you were able to take advantage of the lobby bar, as well as parking. We are also very proud of our eco-friendly efforts and Silver LEED certification, so thank you for that comment. We look forward to seeing you again when the weather warms up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel is excellent; very good location, gives complimentary WiFi in all the areas of the hotel, including the rooms.
Gives complimentary tea and coffee during breakfast time, and also has a very nice restaurant in the ground floor.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarissarech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Hi clarissarech - Thank you for choosing Hotel Felix during your recent visit to Chicago! We appreciate your kind remarks and are very happy that you enjoyed the complimentary Wi-Fi, as well as the complimentary coffee and tea during breakfast. We noticed your note about our Silver LEED certification - we are very proud of our eco-friendly efforts! Thank you again for review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We booked this hotel via Hotwire, and were a bit nervous after reading reviews on here and elsewhere. We stayed in room 508, which I think is one of the smallest rooms (judging by the emergency exit map!) but honestly that didn't bother us at all. It had almost everything we needed; a super comfy bed, a TV with cable, and a good bathroom with a large shower. Missing were a fridge (even a teeny tiny small one would have been nice, for storing leftovers) and a fan in the bathroom.

We weren't impressed with the restaurant - small portions, inattentive service, and the "bottomless mimosa brunch" is an add-on to a regular entree, not a true brunch. Not what we were expecting. The food was tasty, however, but with so many other options in the area, there's not much there to recommend it.

For our needs though, it was just about perfect. We didn't spend a lot of time in our room anyway (too much to do!) and the time we did was spent in a very comfortable bed with plenty of pillows. Not sure if I would pay full price for their rooms, but it was wonderful for what we paid for it.

TL:DR - If you get this hotel via Hotwire, don't worry! It will be fine! Have a great trip!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odiedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hi odiedragon - Thank for staying with us during your recent visit to Chicago! We appreciate your positive comments. In keeping with our ecofriendly policies, we do not automatically equip guest rooms with refrigerators. We do provide guests with mini fridges upon request though, pending availability, with advance notice preferred.

We’re happy to hear you were able to visit neighboring restaurants while staying in Chicago. We do not own or manage Troquet, the restaurant adjacent to us, but we do appreciate your sentiments. Thank you for sharing them.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed one night at the Hotel Felix this past weekend and were happy with our choice! The rooms weren't huge, but they were laid out well in our opinion. An example is that instead of having a large chest of drawers, the drawers were located under the king sized bed to save space. The bathroom was large, and the shower was 48" with plenty of hot water. It is an Eco-friendly hotel as well, which we appreciated.

The only negative things about the property were that our heating/AC fan was very loud (it sounded like it was signaling S.O.S. constantly...no joke), as were the neighbors who had several screaming children. Kind of a bummer since we had left our kids home and were looking forward to some quiet time! Not the hotel's fault though.

We plan to stay here again the next time we come up to Chicago since it was so close to everything!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hi Mo C - Thank you for taking the time to post your review with us! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and we are very proud of the eco-friendly amenities you noticed. We hope to see you again soon. Enjoy the rest of your day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#75 of 192 in Chicago
1,125 reviews
Gold Coast
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#80 of 192 in Chicago
1,666 reviews
dana hotel and spa
#60 of 192 in Chicago
3,952 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#97 of 192 in Chicago
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Address: 111 W Huron St, Chicago, IL 60654-8706
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#69 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £61 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing