We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good first impressions...except bar tender”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #117 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just checked in...friendly front desk, rooms as portrayed, all good. However, bartender could not be bothered with any of the hotel guests...hooked on ESPN behind the bar...never a "what would you like" or "thank you" to anyone. Out of place compared to the front desk.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Hi Tim L - Thank you very much for posting your review. We appreciate the feedback regarding your experience at the bar. We are looking into this situation and will conduct remedial training as appropriate. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay, and that you'll visit us again soon. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 1,632 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel Felix is less than a 3 minute walk from many restaurants including Portillos, Hooters, Rock&Roll McDonalds, Chickfila, 2 convenience stores, and a Red line L station which can connect you to any line, as well as the bus to the Navy Pier. It is also less than 7 minutes to Michigan Ave/Hancock Plaza. The hotel has 2 cool statues out front, and plenty of doormen and valets to assist you upon arrival. The lobby is spotless as decorated beautifully, and smells wonderful! Elevators are quick and not crowded. The room I had (1210) had a decent view but I wouldn't specifically ask for that room. It was clean, the bathroom was modern and spacious, the window opened to allow the spring breeze in. However the room was TINY even for a boutique hotel, once the luggage was sat down in the floor there was nowhere to walk. I'd recommend getting a double bed room even if you're alone just to have the extra bed to put your bags on. They also don't change the sheets when housekeeping comes in and there is no fitted sheet and only a thin duvet that comes out of the cover very easily, I wished I had packed a blanket. One of my favorite things was how quiet it was, besides the housekeepers in the morning I barely heard a noise from the hall or any other rooms. I'd stay here again but it wouldn't be my first choice due to the microscopic rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svaught06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Hi svaught06 - Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed our location central to dining, transportation, Navy Pier, and more. While our rooms are cozy in nature, as Chicago's first Silver LEED certified hotel we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts. We also change sheets upon request and there are cards in the room for guests to request having their sheets changed daily. Thank you for your kind remarks regarding modern design and statues on the exterior of the building. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel is unbeatable in its location, price and service. Room seemed on the small side but not unlike NYC hotels who charge twice as much. Clean, modern and neutral interiors, good style and great function. The hotel is in a quiet area but just steps away from Whole Foods, a few blocks from Michigan Ave shopping district and great restaurants and close to Merchandise Mart. Parking within a few blocks can be had for $25 per day. Will definitely return in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alphadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Hi alphadoc - Thank you very much for posting your review following your stay with us. We appreciate your kind remarks, and are happy you enjoyed our location close to Michigan Avenue, Merchandise Mart, Whole Foods, and more. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you again, and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The rooms are very small but very nice with comfy linens. The front desk staff is friendly and was quick to remedy the fact that we were checked into a room that had not yet been cleaned. The hallway on our floor was extremely dirty and needs a good vacuuming round the edges. A room service tray sat outside an adjacent room all weekend and the staff just kept walking around it. This is uncharacteristic of the rest of the hotel which is nicely decorated and well cared for. Beware that the street is noisy well into the morning hours. If you are an early to bed person, this might not be the hotel for you. Noise is the price you pay for being in the middle of all the action!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Hi Lori S - Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us. While our rooms are cozy in nature, we find most guests appreciate our urban location, which is just steps away from Chicago’s landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, museums, shopping and more. We are happy that the staff was able to move you to a different room, and we will look into this situation regarding the hallway and room service tray. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Hotel Felix is in the heart of the Chicago action, minutes away from the Miracle Mile, great restaurants and the lake front. Found an amazing deal on line which made this affordable. Room was very small but clean and nice. Hotel staff courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 290markc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Hi Mark C - Thank you for posting your review. We are glad you had a great stay with us and that the location was enjoyable for you. We appreciate your kind remarks about our staff. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The Felix has without question the most Courteous and helpful Staff in Chicago. We will never stay anywhere else when up there. Our room was beautiful and clean. Within easy walking distance of the bus stop, the L and superior cab service. Also within also walking distance to some of the restaurants and night life in town. Also the best breakfast anywhere you The Yolk is a must have in Chicago. I have stayed in hotels all over world and can recommend none Higher.

Room Tip: No swimming pool if that's a need
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 920bobh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Hi Bob H - Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us. We appreciate your kind words and are so happy you enjoyed yourself during your visit to Chicago! We hope to see you again soon. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Great location!! The hotel is very fun and quirky. The only problem is that the rooms are the smallest rooms I've ever been in. Smaller than average European hotel rooms! Would definitely recommend for the price, though. You can walk everywhere...the loop, mag mile, lots of great restaurants...not bad at all!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hi Sandi D - Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind remarks. While our rooms are cozy in nature, as Chicago's first Silver LEED certified hotel we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#77 of 192 in Chicago
1,611 reviews
dana hotel and spa
#62 of 192 in Chicago
3,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#104 of 192 in Chicago
1,747 reviews
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#22 of 192 in Chicago
2,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Address: 111 W Huron St, Chicago, IL 60654-8706
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#68 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £72 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing