We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #117 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and friendly staff”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed for 5 nights. I had booked it under Hotwire when you don't know the name of the hotel and when I saw reviews I was a little nervous. Due to others suggestions I had asked for a room higher up and away from the elevators as I am a light sleeper. I asked for a fridge due to a medical condition and was given one.

Negatives:
Room was small and no bathtub. Only room for my large suitcase - I was alone so that was okay.
Small closet (only a foot wide)
Wi-fi unreliable at times - I got kicked off a Webinar a couple of times
Noisy air conditioner - It rattled at times (luckily it's spring and I could open the windows so I just turned off the A/C)

Positives:
Clean room with a very comfortable bed.
Black out curtains to keep the light out and windows opened to get fresh air.
Staff were very professional and helpful. I want to especially thank Jordan the maintenance man who brought me a fridge and brought me a new remote for the T.V. and was very pleasant.
Free coffee served in the lobby in the morning with free newspapers
Very nice looking lobby.
Location is near the local subway so I could walk to it easily and then take public transit to the museums.
Whole Foods and Walgreens in short walking distance to the hotel so I could pick up a few things when needed.

Overall I liked the hotel and if it had a bathtub I would have given it 4 stars even with the small room. I have back problems and a hot bath at the end of the day of being on my feet and sight seeing would have been nice. I would not have paid more then the $109.00 a night. The Queen bed is great for a single person but if I was travelling with someone else I would recommend getting two Queen beds or a King bed because of the small rooms and having to put your luggage somewhere.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the elevator and ice machine if you are a light sleeper. Higher floors mean l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Financial_freedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hi Financial_freedom - Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us. We are so happy that you had such a positive customer service experience, that you enjoyed the location central to public transportation and sightseeing, and that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary free trade coffee in the lobby each morning. While our rooms are cozy in nature, as Chicago's first Silver LEED certified hotel we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts. Thank you again for choosing Hotel Felix and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    604
    329
    143
    119
See reviews for
227
594
161
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The Hotel Felix afforded us easy access to downtown Chicago and all that it offered. We walked to Navy Pier, to the Chicago Art Institute and to the Temple building (a must on any weekday is their 2:00 p.m. Tour of the Walgreen chapel, regardless of your religious affiliation), and to the Driehaus Museum, and when the sun shines, all of the city's architectural treasures are aglow - and there are lots of these. We had delicious Croques Monsieurs for lunch at Le Trouquet, filling salads at Pot Belly, a sumptuous dinner at Maggiano's and tasty dishes at the Riva at the Navy Pier. It was a pleasure to return each evening to our comfortable hotel room, with fresh linen and the smiling faces at Reception. Chicago is a friendly city and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We will return! and often.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hi Ian R - Thank you for choosing us for you recent trip to Chicago. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. We are happy that you were able to visit nearby attractions like Navy Pier, The Art Institute of Chicago, the Driehaus Museum, and more. Thank you for mentioning the friendly staff at reception. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Booked through Priceline and got a great rate for a couple nights at Hotel Felix. The hotel is in a fantastic, safe location, within walking distance or a short train ride to many of Chicago's top spots. The staff were very friendly and professional. Check-in was fast, and they happily checked our bags for the day after we checked out. The hotel lacks a complimentary breakfast, but it at least has free coffee/tea in the mornings and an attached French restaurant. The rooms are just okay. They are very clean and well-maintained, and the decor is modern, but the rooms themselves are tiny. I would not recommend this hotel if you have more than a couple small pieces of luggage. Also, the wireless didn't work at all while we were there. Overall, it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hi Kyle S - Thank you for posting your review. We are happy you enjoyed our location steps away from Chicago’s landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, museums, shopping and more, and that you were able to take advantage of our bag check and the complimentary fair trade coffee and tea available each morning in the lobby. While our rooms are cozy in nature, as Chicago's first Silver LEED certified hotel we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts. We hope you were able to speak to the front desk about the wireless Internet issue you experienced during your stay. Thank you again for posting your review, and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Got this hotel off a deal at Expedia. First stay there. It's modern style, and in a good location. It's clearly been a few years since it was remodeled, showing some age. However it was clean and well appointed, my room was a standard smaller size for Chicago. Very nice stay overall. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hi Will B - Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent business stay with us. While our rooms are cozy in nature, as Chicago's first Silver LEED certified hotel we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts. Thank you for recognizing our friendly staff. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham Ontario
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Love this Hotel, Check is was fast and the staff was very friendly The room was small but perfect for our needs and very clean
Very close walk to everything you can ask
We enjoyed a great meal at Theory and had a blast at Howl at the Moon
Got a city card and glad we did the price is worth having the fast pass and skipping all the lines at the Sears tower, art galary and the Shed Aquarium

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belgiumcdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hi belgiumcdn - Thank you very much for posting your review. We are so glad you were able to enjoy surrounding attractions like the Shedd Aquarium and Willis Tower. Thank you again and we hope you have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I checked into the hotel and was immediately impressed. The concierge greeted me at my cab, opened the door and was very friendly. Once I got to the front desk the gentleman that greeted me was very polite and the check was very smooth. I went up to my room and thought the décor tasteful, and I liked the upgraded washroom (I hate bathtubs). I went down to the bar and was pleasantly greeted by a fantastic barmaid. When I returned to my room I noticed they had returned someone else's dry cleaning to my room...this was addressed immediately. So why the average rating? It was when I went to sleep, I couldn't. The fan was very noisy, turning on and off and on and off. The elevator has a very loud ding when it came to my floor as I was right in front of it....it kept waking me up, I could hear the people chatting in the room next to mine and someone ran up the hotel corridor saying Swish quite loudly, I don't blame the hotel for this, as I believe alcohol to be a factor. When morning came I wasn't rested and started a long day very tired. I explained to the front desk and they were kind enough to address my concerns, however I left pretty groggy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator. I was in 913 and found it to be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetVanillaCSmooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hi SweetVanillaCSmooth - Thank you very much for posting your review with us following your recent stay. We are very happy that you had a positive customer service experience with the concierge, front desk staff, and bar staff. It is a shame that other guests made so much noise during your stay, but we are glad those issues were addressed when you reported them. Thank you very much for your kind remarks, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just checked in...friendly front desk, rooms as portrayed, all good. However, bartender could not be bothered with any of the hotel guests...hooked on ESPN behind the bar...never a "what would you like" or "thank you" to anyone. Out of place compared to the front desk.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hi Tim L - Thank you very much for posting your review. We appreciate the feedback regarding your experience at the bar. We are looking into this situation and will conduct remedial training as appropriate. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay, and that you'll visit us again soon. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#53 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,414 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#101 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#71 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Property: Hotel Felix
Address: 111 W Huron St, Chicago, IL 60654-8706
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#68 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing