We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #115 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Not great”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I can't recommend the hotel felix. It was sold as a luxury 4 star hotel but it is actually 3 star. The rooms are old, and a bit grotty. It is certainly not what I would expect from a boutique hotel. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hi Anne Marie L - Thank you for posting your review. Hotel Felix Chicago meets the standards of a four-star hotel, and as Chicago's first Silver LEED certified hotel, we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts. Safe travels, and thank you again for sharing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    608
    330
    143
    119
See reviews for
228
594
161
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We always stay at the Felix when we arre downtown..the rooms are perfect for a nights sleep..If you came to explore the city the location could not be better..The employees are fast and effecient. If you have special requests see the concierge staff they can be very helpful..

Room Tip: Take the Metra train into te city you will not need a car..another tip use the Chicago Water Taxi to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobmsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hi bobmsmith - Thank you very much for posting your review. We are happy that you enjoy our location central to dining, attractions, shopping and more. Customer service is a priority, so we are glad to hear that your experience was great. Have a great day, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014

You can get a good practical room for the $$.

Get the King size room if you want extra space, Queen if you just need someplace to sleep.

You are close to all of the activities downtown.
Michigan Avenue, River North, and the L are all walkable and everything else is either a long walk or short/cheap cab ride.

There are great food options in the area.

The staff is very welcoming and the common areas are very nice and well maintained at the Hotel Felix.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi Jc O - Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed our location just steps away from Chicago’s landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, museums, shopping and more. We appreciate the positive feedback regarding our staff. We hope to see you again soon! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here two nights in April because I found a great deal online. I knew I could walk just about anywhere I needed to go from this location so I took a chance on an unknown place, and it was great. The room was small, as is customary in little specialty boutique hotels, but it was more than sufficient for the two of us. It had modern amenities and a nice bathroom.

The hotel was clean and the staff were nice and professional. The bellman/concierge/valet guys were super helpful - enough so to be memorable.

The hotel is within a block of McDonald's, Rainforest Cafe, Fogo de Chao, and one of the best Chicago hot dog and beef sandwich places, Portillo's!! There's also a Walgreens about a block away. That being said, the hotel is actually on a quiet side street so other than occasional city sounds, it was quiet. You can easily walk to Michigan Ave shops as well as into the loop. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi Smaim - Thank you very much for posting your review following your recent stay with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed our location central to dining, shopping and attractions. Thank you for the feedback on our staff - we value good customer service and professionalism! We hope to see you again soon. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Everything about the Hotel Felix was comfortable and inviting. Rooms are small but beds/pillows were very comfortable. Only request would be a mini-fridge and coffee pot in room. We stayed 3 nights and didn't have a place to keep any perishables.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mitchell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hi Mitchell F - Thank you for choosing Hotel Felix for your recent visit to Chicago. We are happy to hear that your stay was pleasant and comfortable. In keeping with our ecofriendly policies, we do not have coffee machines in our guests rooms. Household appliances like coffee machines continue to draw electricity when plugged in, even if turned off. We provide complimentary, fair-trade coffee and tea in the lobby every morning. Also in an effort to be environmentally friendly, we do not automatically equip guest rooms with refrigerators. We do provide guests with mini fridges upon request though, pending availability, with advance notice preferred. Thank you again for posting your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I was supposed to stay 3 nights but moved out after 1 night. This place is a dump!! Motel-quality rooms, cramped and dirty, polyester sheets, parties going on all night from teen-agers. Just a nightmare. Save yourslef the trouble.

Room Tip: stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sporttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi sporttraveler - Thank you for posting your review. While our rooms are cozy in nature, as Chicago's first Silver LEED certified hotel we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts. In regards to the sheets, we offer high quality sheets with a high thread count as we do value a restful night sleep. Safe travels, and we hope you have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Felix for 5 nights in Early May. Our check in was very efficient, and we found all the hotel staff during our staff very efficient and helpful.
The room was a touch on the small side but I would certainly not let that put people off (It is a boutique hotel after all).
The hotel and rooms were very clean and tidy, we also found the location ideal. Very close to bars/restaurants. We would certainly recommend Kerrymens Irish pub which is just across the road from the hotel.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Felix, and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hi Dek D - Thank you for choosing Hotel Felix Chicago for your recent trip. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take advantage of our proximity to restaurants, shopping and attractions. Safe travels, and we hope we see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#54 of 189 in Chicago
3,472 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#103 of 189 in Chicago
1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#71 of 189 in Chicago
1,502 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Property: Hotel Felix
Address: 111 W Huron St, Chicago, IL 60654-8706
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Chicago
#28 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#68 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing