We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT stay here. GO to the Godfrey right next door!”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #116 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I was shocked to find a room that was damp, dingy, and beyond tiny. I asked immediately after seeing room to cancel and get a refund. I was of course refused. They did put me in a larger room. Still not worth it.
Pay the $20 extra dollars and stay in the Godfrey literally next door. This place is gross.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gnometravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hi Gnometravel - Thank you for posting your review. While our rooms are cozy in nature, we find most guests appreciate our urban location, which is just steps away from Chicago’s landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, museums, shopping and more. We are happy to hear that your room change request was accommodated by our front desk staff, and we hope this allowed you to enjoy your stay. Thank you again for choosing Hotel Felix Chicago. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,625)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Felix
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

550 - 556 of 1,625 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Very nice hotel, the room is small but is very clean and comfortable. The hotel made efficient use of the small space. The walls are thin because I heard outside noise from the halls. Overall, I would stay here again on a visit to Chicago if the rates are within my range.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ruben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hi Ruben F - Thank you for choosing Hotel Felix for your recent visit to Chicago. We are glad that you enjoyed your accommodations, and we hope to see you again soon! Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I booked this hotel by accident through Priceline. I plan to have a family trip to Chicago in August but was shocked when this hotel could not accommodate my family and refused to cancel the room. I am expected to drive eight hours with no guarantee of being put in a room with two beds and in the event that I can get two beds they are requiring an additional charge of $80 per night. Hotel Felix is ruining my family vacation by not canceling this room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
3  Thank nikki3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hi nikki3030 - Thank you for posting your review. When booking through a third party booking engine, the room preference you are booking is clear at that time. While we do our best to offer other rooms or upgrade, it isn’t always possible based on availability and our capacity. Thank you for staying with us. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Booked through Priceline, so we got a really good deal. It's in a great area, close to many restaurants and shopping. Bus stops were very close when needed. Rooms were small, but expected of a city hotel. Hotel staff was polite at check in and very helpful with questions about the city.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank tcsemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Hi tcsemo - Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate your kind remarks regarding our staff, and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed surrounding Chicago nightlife. Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very Clean and Comfortable room. Room was small but functional. The location was right in the middle of the Chicago nightlife. You will be able to walk to numerous restaurants and bars. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Hi Scott E - Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and our location central to shopping, dining, attractions and more. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Not really but the room are the same size as a Microtel Room (Micro Small). Just enough room for the bed (no other furniture in room except a desk chair at a table that cannot fit computer and a pad of paper. You have to take everything off the table to have enough room for your computer and then deal with the frustration of a WI-FI that is wholly inadequate if you rely on getting any business done. Bring your own Wi-Fi.

Also shin pads. I must have knocked my legs 6 times last night trying to get around the square corners of the platform that the mattress sits on. Your drawers are in the bottom of the platform.

"Closet" is an indentation in the wall with a curtain over it.

One on the three elevators was down last night and when I got in another it stopped between floors with a jerk. Rang the Alarm Three time it finally started up.

The LEED certification doesn't rank as a differentiator as there are so many other ones out there now, Just look at the Marriott list.

Positives - Bathroom is very good and the free morning coffee is tasty.

I have two more nights and I shant be going back.

Even for Road-Warriors Like myself this doesn't warrant a stay

Room Tip: If you want a good room...find another Hotel...Godfrey Hotel is right next door
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MinnJimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Hi MinnJimm - Thank you for posting your review. While our rooms are cozy in nature, as Chicago's first Silver LEED certified hotel we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts. We find that most guests appreciate the location central to shopping, dining, attractions and more. We hope that you were able to speak to the front desk regarding the Wi-fi and the elevator issues, and we will look into the situation. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary free-trade coffee in our lobby and that the bathroom design suited you. Thank you again for choosing Hotel Felix Chicago. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

It was very modern and Renovated hotel with awesome decor and new amenities. It was a short stay... No Lobby Bar etc that I saw. Pretty cool would probably give it a second chance. No complaints just ok.

Room Tip: Room was very small and cramped but bathroom was nice
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Hi Ben P - Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. While our rooms are cozy in nature, as Chicago's first Silver LEED certified hotel we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts. We do have a lobby lounge and bar, and we invite you to join us for a beverage the next time you're in Chicago. Thank you again for choosing Hotel Felix Chicago. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#61 of 191 in Chicago
3,693 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#76 of 191 in Chicago
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#105 of 191 in Chicago
1,724 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#66 of 191 in Chicago
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Address: 111 W Huron St, Chicago, IL 60654-8706
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#68 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £76 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing