We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had the best time EVER!!!!! So cozy and perfect location”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #121 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 December 2010

We went to the city to see a concert and hotel Felix was in prime location!The staff was great loved the decor.Plus the bed was like sleeping at home. Best hotel bed EVER!! Super soft and cozy plus clean!!! great job hotel felix

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heckler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,311 - 1,317 of 1,654 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2010

I stayed here with my wife in October 2010 for 1 night. We got the room from priceline for $75 a night. What a great hotel! The rooms are small but let's be honest, it is located in the heart of the city. I've stayed at the hotel felix, inn of chicago, and best western river north and all 3 have tiny rooms! Hotel Felix has a leg up on the other 2 because of the great beds! Just booked another trip to Chicago and will be staying at hotel felix. Got 4 nights for $60 a night!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jrb953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

We just got back from a 3 night stay at this hotel and I thought it was great! The decor is very modern, the rooms were clean with comfy beds and large walk-in showers and the staff was friendly. They had free internet in-room and we used the business center to print boarding passes before we left. The location was just a few blocks from Michigan Avenue, with great bus routes closeby, plus there are some good restaurants right around the block. No, the rooms aren't huge but our Queen room had plenty of space for us.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Very hip, cool decor, great shower, quality furnishings, cool lobby, very friendly front desk staff, close to River North action.

Only the room size was an issue, but the rooms are actually very efficiently laid out.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trowca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

The location was very good since it was close to many restaurants and Michigan Avenue. We felt safe walking around at night looking for places to eat and drink. The lobby and bar decoration was contemporary, nice deep colors and to top it off it smelled very good.

The rooms were tiny, the queen sized bed took up all but 2-3 feet surrounding it. No real closet or space for your luggage. The tv is on the wall right on top of the tiny desk. Pictures attached....

Not a place for a long stay or for those looking to spend a lot of time in their room. You are definitely paying for location alone at Hotel Felix.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farm2fork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FelixHotel, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2010

I had to chuckle when I read your headline. While it is true that some of our guestrooms are cozy, we hope that you and "Garfield" will consider a return visit to Hotel Felix. If you'll let me know in advance, we'll do our best to make sure your stay in Chicago is comfortable.

George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

My trip to the Hotel Felix started out quite poor. After making arrangements through our corporate travel, I had called the hotel directly to add an additional night. I was told it wasn't a problem and they would honor the same rate, so I told my colleague to do the same. A couple days prior to my arrival, I had called to confirm my reservation and learned that the rate for my extra night was $400 more than quoted. I was shocked! I asked my colleague to make a similar call and the same information was shared. After numerous phone calls and nobody owning up to the change in rates (even after we shared the name of the onsite reservationist we spoke to originally) we got no where. We were finally able to get the rate to $100 over the original price quoted but still after all the time spent it was a very unpleasant start.

The hotel itself is located on a fairly quiet street a few blocks away from the main drag. There's a small lobby and waiting area with a restaurant off the side. There's valet parking or a self-park directly across the street (cash only though). The rooms are quite small. We've stayed at other downtown Chicago hotels and were surprised especially because we thought this was a newer hotel.

The other issue that arose during our stay was that 1/2 way through, my key didn't work. I went to the front desk and they were not very customer friendly to deal with. After waiting on a short line, I just needed my key to work so that I could prepare for a meeting. The front desk person needed my credit card (not drivers license ID which I did have on me) which was in the room. After 20 mins of back and forth, I told him that I need to get to the room for my credit card and would bring it back down after my meeting. What a hassle!! I'm not sure what kind of policy they have which dictates this to reprogram the key.

I would say that my feeling towards the Hotel Felix is just OK. Definitely wouldn't go above and beyond to recommend to my colleagues when staying in the area. Overall, if you're not going to be at the room much and just need a place to stay then it's fine. But if you need if for any more than that, perhaps there's other options to seek out.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kewlboilerbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

I didn't plan on staying in a hotel when visiting Chicago until our host notified us that the accommodations would be limited at his home. Therefore, I got on Expedia and found the Hotel Felix. The rate was reasonable and I could get a room with two doubles.

The bar was nice, lobby clean and sleek. I thought our room was of ample size for a city hotel (though my friends staying with me did not agree). We didn't use many of the amenities, but the gym was nice and the location allowed us to get around by cab for a reasonable price. There's also a Whole Foods down that street that is perfect for picking up meals to go, etc.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nahant_Snique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#74 of 192 in Chicago
1,140 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#100 of 192 in Chicago
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#123 of 192 in Chicago
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Address: 111 W Huron St, Chicago, IL 60654-8706
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#69 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £58 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing