We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #116 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
INDIANAPOLIS
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid this hotel”
Reviewed 17 January 2011

This hotel was very clean, friendly and a great location. Why do I say avoid it? The room is so small that you can't even move around. There are about 18" from the side of the bed to the wall all the way around. At the end of the bed there is what is supposed to be a desk. There is a chair in the corner for the desk but there isn't room to put the chair. You have to sit on the bed and lean over to use the desk. The suitcases must be set on their end and put along the wall. There is nowhere else to put them. There is a tiny closet that has a little curtain on it (and the luggage won't fit in there). I hate to ramble on about the room size but it's just not functional for more than one person. I also stayed here a month or two ago and the room was a little bigger and I was alone and I dealt with it but I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnInIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    625
    335
    144
    121
See reviews for
231
607
166
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Do not Priceline this hotel if you are expecting a four star hotel, it is a three star at best. My husband and I took a chance with Priceline requesting four star or better and were so disapointed with this hotel that we gave up our room and checked into the Marriott, a true four star hotel. Of course, we gave up the money we paid for Hotel Felix as Priceline is non refundable, but the Marriott completely understood our disapointment and at no extra cost, upgraded us to a suite on the 46th floor with a stunning view of the city.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grayfetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FelixHotel, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 19 January 2011
Thank you for your review. While our rooms are cozy in nature, we aim for 100% guest satisfaction in an eco-friendly atmosphere. We're sorry to learn that you left the hotel early and hope someday you'll try us out again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2011

I was in town for a few days to visit relatives and took a chance on staying at a new place. What a pleasant surprise. The room wasn't the largest hotel room I've ever seen but the customer service made all the difference. When travelling over the holidays it's always a bonus when the people around you go out of their way to make you feel comfortable a cared for. I work in a customer service field and know good service, so kudos to the staff at the Hotel Felix.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dthiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FelixHotel, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 19 January 2011
Thank you for the great review! We're thrilled to learn our customer service and efforts made for an enjoyable stay in the Windy City. We love the kudos and will share your compliments with the team.
Have a great day and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Thanks to all the TA reviews, there were no surprises. Queen room small, but I was expecting smaller. We had a total of 8 pieces of luggage and shopping bags and with care managed not to trip over anything. Doormen very friendly and helpful. Desk staff not so, but not rude. Just bland. Coffee service in lobby until 10 AM, unless it runs out at 9:45 AM, which it did and the not so friendly desk staff said they would not be making any more. Plan on returning to Chicago this summer and unless Priceline changes its rating, will probably get stuck here again. Would never pick this hotel, but for $60 or less a night, you are getting good price to value.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FelixHotel, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
Thank you for taking time to write us concerning your recent stay, and in particular the missing GPS device. As you know, the hotel provides in room safes for valuables and while we did our utmost to locate the missing device, the hotel cannot be held responsible for missing items. Nine times out of ten the missing item ends up being found at a later date in the possession of the guest; should your TomTom “navigate” its way back to your home, we hope you will give us a call. Rest assured, if we find it, we’ll get it back to you.
-The Hotel Felix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2011

I got Hotel Felix through Priceline and usually feel we are treated differently (since we didn't book through the hotel) but that was not the case. The front desk was very nice and energetic. They automatically changed us to a king bed based on our preferences. We checked in and got to the room within 10 minutes. our room was right by the elevator but there was not much noise, so our sleep was not bothered. The room was smaller but they generally are at boutique hotels. They have a big shower, but not a lot of room to put toiletries. Since we were there for fun we didn’t spend a whole lot of time in the room, so it didn’t really matter. I would say this is best for couples or single adults, not necessarily kids. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cschro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FelixHotel, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
Thank you for writing such a nice review- we appreciate it and we're thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Please visit again soon and let us know if you do!
All the Best,
The Hotel Felix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Traveled to Chicago for my daughter’s birthday. The location was close to shopping and one very fine restaurant. The room was clean and comfortable. We did missed not having a coffee machine. We arrived at the hotel on 12/26/2010 and the staff was not prepared to handle the number of reservations. Out first room was not ready at 2pm and we are unable to get into our second room until 7:15 pm. It was very inconvenient getting ready for dinner with four people and one bathroom. What disturbed us the most was after we checked out on the following day. We left our GPS device in the room. We noticed it within 20 minutes of checking out and called the front desk. They took little interest in my request to have someone go to the room ASAP and instead forwarded my call to housekeeping where I got to leave a message. I called about 20 minutes later after we had an opportunity to check our luggage and again we were told to leave a message with housekeeping. Later in the day I finally convinced someone to check the room. Bottom line is that we were responsible for leaving the GPS device but their reaction to this problem was slow and in the meantime the device was taken from the room and never recovered.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpdombrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Rarely have I read bad reviews on tripadvisor and found them to all be almost completely true. The location of the hotel was fantastic and the rooms were quite clean. That said, the rest of my stay was quite disappointing. The front desk staff while not rude was certainly not friendly and did not go out of their way to help as a "4 star" hotel should. The elevators were consistently slow, and the rooms...well they are cozy. I stayed in a king room that reminded me of the "coffin hotels" in Tokyo. The lighting in the rooms is horrible, the heater woke me up every time it jolted on, the legs on the desk fell off and the desk lamp did not work. The internet is complementary, though high speed is quite an exaggeration. The bathroom sink while pretty, is totally not usable as the faucet is 4 inches from the basin - can barely wash your hands. Shower was decent, and the bath amenities while very nice (h20) were never restocked. All in all, save your money - this hotel needs to be revamped, restaffed, and taken over by a different company.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdtraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FelixHotel, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
We appreciate guests taking the time to give us valuable feedback and of course for staying with us. We always strive to meet our guests' needs. I will certainly be addressing your remarks concerning the front desk directly with the team. We usually get very high marks for the friendliness of the staff so we are investigating the issues of your stay. Let me assure you that remedial training will be taking place with the employee with whom you interacted. We look forward to your return stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#60 of 190 in Chicago
3,611 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#76 of 190 in Chicago
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#103 of 190 in Chicago
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Property: Hotel Felix
Address: 111 W Huron St, Chicago, IL 60654-8706
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Chicago
#28 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#68 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing