We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Friends Sushi

Friends Sushi
Reserve with OpenTable
Friends Sushi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #215 of 9,499 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$31
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Near North Side
Cross street: Superior
Transit: Red line: State and Chicago
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
155 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“GREAT sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My friend took me here when I visited her in Chicago and wow, I loved the place! Our service was great and the sushi was even better. I had a sashimi combo with soup and rice and loved it. Try their peach bellini - very refreshing!

I would absolutely be back if I lived in Chicago.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OkieJeannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    115
    19
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh food, good location great servcie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a little hole in the wall, one street over from Michigan avenue. The food was fresh and service was great. They had a nice little setup outside, so sitting on the side street made it an excellent location. I at the 9pc Sashimi Deluxe, which was fresh and plenty of food. My wife got a couple rolls and with drinks, we were still out for under $100.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Al W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friends for life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Our first stop whenever we get into the city is Friends Sushi. Kind of a whole in the wall but fabulous food and staff. Food is imaginative and high quality. Reasonably priced. A tradition we plan to continue.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ljdirig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous find, off the Magnificent Mile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We ended up at Friends sushi on a weekend, a little after the lunch rush, without reservations. However, the wait was not too long and our party of 6 was seated in about 15 mins. The sushi was fresh and innovative. We tried several options from their "Friends Signature Maki" list and were very happy with the selections. The Ticky Tacky and Can You Handle It (spice alert!) rolls were phenomenal! Definitely a good place to stop for a quick meal if you are shopping in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fatema K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We admit it, we're sushi snobs. The establishment reminded us of one of our local sushi restaurants: narrow with tightly packed tables and trendy decor.

For being an inland restaurant, the fish was reasonably fresh. The portions were adequately generous and prepared quickly. There is no children's menu so you'll have to choose an adult portion to share so budget your appetite accordingly. The teriyaki chicken was a big rubbery let down.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tampapair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Friends Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Friends Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing