We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”
Review of Central Loop Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Central Loop Hotel
Ranked #89 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Room and blankets smelled like mildew. Asked for a new blanket -- was promptly and courteously provided one, but the new one smelled like a smoker had last used it and it had not been washed. The bathroom I had was annoyingly laid out with zero counters pace. The shower curtain was worthless... no matter how far away from the curtain I stood or pointed the showerhead, the floor of the bathroom would get completely soaked, thus forcing me to use all the towels everyday to clean up the floor. The pictures are ABSOLUTELY misleading. The complimentary water is actually a self-serve fountain across from the elevator. Empty bottles provided. Yuck. The positives: the people were nice, the wireless was easy to get onto and was fast. Convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indiawilkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    270
    67
    9
    16
See reviews for
69
196
91
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel was really good. Only knock was the rooms are small, but if you're ok with that, it's perfect for staying downtown. Fitness room, free snacks, free wifi and bottled water. What more could you want. I also had a good experience thanks to excellent customer service by Robert. Feel free to stay here. Much more affordable than the Marriott down the street.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, WI
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

As graduate students we needed to find cost effective accommodations in downtown Chicago for a national convention we were attending. We found the Central Loop Hotel to be within our price range and have amenities that were greatly appreciated. The staff we greatly helpful in assisting me as I unloaded my car and found parking. Any requests made to the front desk or the curbside staff was met with friendliness and quick accommodation. The rooms were clean, showed no signs of wear, and the suite that I stayed in was well apportioned with flatware and silverware. The next time I stay in Chicago the Central Loop Hotel will be the first place I look.

Room Tip: One bedroom suite with kitchenette was on east side which made for a less scenic view, but easier sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgansmorgasborgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

As a person who likes to visit Chicago 4 or 5 times a year, I have gotten to enjoy several hotels downtown. THIS HOTEL IS BY FAR THE LEAST LIKELY FOR US TO REVISIT!! Dirty cramped rooms, broken amenities and clearly misleading photos. Even when I called down about a broken coffee maker, they completely dismissed my request. Dirty socks from past patrons under the bed, two twin beds pushed together that they tried to call a double, filthy windows and so little counter space in the bathroom that your wife may slap you!! This hotel is clearly stating they do not wish to service their rooms and/or their patrons so this traveler is willing to heed their statements. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY HERE!!

Room Tip: Higher floors may be better, Do not let them put you on the third floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marty m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Central Loop is in a great location, easy walking distance to the bean, park, Magnificent Mile. We walked up to Navy Pier in about 20 minutes.

The 'small' room was actually a very decent size. Warning: you can hear noise from the corridor and neighbouring rooms!

The staff are incredibly friendly and welcoming. The reason or my lower rating however is that we had to ask twice for towels to be sent up as we were only given one and also we never received the wake up call we requested (lucky we woke up anyway and didn't miss our flight!).

Free bottled water was a huge bonus! You can help yourself to bottles and purified water on each floor.

Overall, as long as the price doesn't go up I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs_nre_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, great location. The common lounge areas were very nice- offering computers, printer, chess, fireplace, and a very nice coffee and espresso maker- didn't even spend money on coffee in the icy while staying here because the machine tasted great. The location was very convenient- a mile or so from many attractions including bucking ham fountain and grant park. The rooms were nothing special- bathroom was a little beat up, but overall sufficient and clean- definitely one of the best priced hotels in this location so no complaints from me.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

clean hotel and friendly staff, .. Good price for a downtown Chicago hotel.... room was small, halls are tight.....no issue with wireless internet. I would stay here again and recommend it.

Did not hear the El from 5th floor......coffee in the room, Elephant and Castle restaurant is attached to hotel.....free water bottle refills...... Very close to Union Station and Opera House

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReggieDunlop27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#67 of 190 in Chicago
1,062 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#6 of 190 in Chicago
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Loop Hotel

Property: Central Loop Hotel
Address: 111 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-4106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Loop Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of "the Loop," the contemporary Central Loop Hotel is steps from all of Chicago's major business and cultural destinations such as Chicago Board of Trade, Chicago Mercantile Exchange, Grant Park, the State Street shopping district and the Art Institute of Chicago. Tailored for seamless business trips and leisure travel alike, the Central Loop Hotel provides an array of thoughtful amenities, including free, fast WiFi throughout all areas of the hotel, free chilled, purified bottled water, an inviting Living Room/lounge area for relaxing, socializing, and working with work stations and wireless printing capabilities. Well-appointed guest rooms and suites are outfitted with premium bedding, multipurpose workspaces, LCD TVs, and convenient recharging outlets and USB ports at bedside and desk. We proudly offer the comfort and class expected by the most discerning business and leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Central Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing