We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hardcode budget option in Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Chicago Parthenon Hostel
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Hi,
I happen to use services of this hostel / hotel during my frequent visits to Chicago during March/april 2012. This is an complete budget option if you just need to spend few hours or a night in the city.

Locationwise this place is definitely an advantage as it is walking distance from the Chicago union station, Greyhound station and the subways. Service wise as you can expect, being a hostel you should not expect much. However, i found their bathrooms to be clean and well maintained. Rooms were with multiple layered beds for its patrons to just spend the night. I was not too happy with the smell that circulated in the rooms due to lack of ventilation.

They also had breakfast available but was too substandard. Their reception is not the best one in town again you need to keep in mind the price you are paying. You can certainly find much better options provided you are willing to pay for it. thus, my recommendations is not to expect too much, use it is as a cost saving option and that too if you want to kill a few hours before your onward journey.

Overall decent place if you dont expect too much! Definitely not a place to come with your family and recommended only for single stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on lower floors as otherwise you need to climb 3 floors on cracking staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank call_gaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hostel is too expensive! The price is ridiculous for a very basic hostel. We paid each $40-50 per night for a 4-people room! I never paid that much for a hostel before! The hostel needs some minor renovation in some parts. The bathroom are not very convenient and pretty small. The rooms are very simple and the hostel is noisy at night. Free breakfast.The location is close to the Greyhound and Megabus stations. I would not recommend this hostel, you would better pay a little bit more and go to a hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panasushin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Noisy. Nowhere to hang your towels. Their 'double room' was two different sized single bed pushed together. And after travelling the world for the last 6 months is the most expensive hostel we've stayed in, and certainly not the best.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gghygg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This place made it possible for me to attend a conference I needed to be at. The included breakfast was great (although the person supervising it was a bit of a stiff and scary guy) and the desk attendants all took great care of me, providing directions and tips. It was easy to get around. The rooms were clean though very basic. The toilet stalls were too small. The showers were fine, for communal types. I'd stay there again, on my own, in an expensive city like Chicago, if I have another conference there.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs - ask for a room on the second floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolstar236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Excellent hostel and location; about a 10 minutes walk from Greyhound and Amtrak stations. The hostel is very well maintained and super clean. The dorm rooms are large and airy with comfortable beds and free backpack sized lockers in the room. There is free superfast WiFi in all rooms and a free computer in the common room for those without. The bathrooms are spotlessly clean & very will maintained. The free breakfast is a bonus. The staff are extremely friendly. Excellent hostel for relaxing. Not really a party hostel, great for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaszanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

stuff was very helpful, the rooms were nice and very clean. met lots of nice people there

Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
Thank Queen03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Stayed at the hostel for a weekend..A bit away from everything but easy enough to get to the main things (5-10 minute drive or 20-30 minute walk). The staff were very friendly and helpful and explain the busroutes to take you wherever you needed. Also, instead of making me move when my cousin left (I stayed an extra day by myself) they let me stay in the room I checked into since it wasn't booked. The breakfast was plain but suited to the cost of the hostel and I met some other hostellers there.
The room had the bare essentials...literally but when you are there really just for sleeping and getting ready to go out, it doesn't matter.
The only disappointment were the lukewarm showers and there not being a mirror in the room to get ready.
There is a really nice coffee place beside the hostel as well.

Room Tip: Stayed near the common room, the wifi worked from there so I didn't have to bring my laptop ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simone J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
#141 of 192 in Chicago
675 reviews
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#122 of 192 in Chicago
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Chicago Getaway Hostel
Downtown / The Loop
Hostelling International Chicago
West Town
Urban Holiday Lofts
Urban Holiday Lofts
#4 of 60 in Chicago
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chicago Parthenon Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chicago Parthenon Hostel

Address: 310 S Halsted St, Chicago, IL 60661-5406
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > West Loop
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Chicago
Price Range: £37 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Chicago Parthenon Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your The Chicago Parthenon Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aae Chicago Parthenon Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing