We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Greyhound but that's it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Chicago Parthenon Hostel
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The location is ok. It's close to the Blue Line and the Greyhound Station. It's 1 mile to walk downtown. The rooms are not well ventilated. It was warm an sticky in there. You have no cooking facilities - just a fridge, a microwave and a water boiler (no dishes, no water in the kitchen). I hade to change rooms, but both betts were dirty (there have been a lot of hairs in there before I used it). The water pressure in the shower is not very high. If you sit on a toilet, your knees touch the door, which couldn't been locked most of the time. For breakfast you get toast, pre-peeled eegs, 2 types of jam, bananas, cornflakes, tea, water and coffee. That's it. For $33 a night in a 8 bett dorm it''s ... not enough.

Room Tip: Don't book here except you have to take the Greyhound bus in the early morning (3am) like me.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rudisoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for The Chicago Parthenon Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

The lady at the reception named Cookie was helpful. She actually managed to reserve me a bed for 5 days when it was available only for 2 days.

Pros:

- Good location to visit sights and get to the metro station
- Friendly environment
- Staff is helpful
- Free wi-fi and breakfast provided
- No curfew
- Walmart and walgreens are very close if you need to get some cheap food


Cons:
- No air conditioning and windows are closed
- Not cheap. $35 per night including tax in a 8 bed room.
- No alcohol is allowed
- The stairs are too high to descend if you have a heavy luggage
- The old manager at cafeteria is rather rude, than polite to all visitors. He scares every visitor and I observed it during my 5 days stay. You need to change him.
- The men's shower is not always clean.
- No hostel spirit at all. Feels like a regular hotel
- Everyone is by themselves and you do not actually come across women to get to know them or just talk.
-Same type of breakfast every day.
- Our room did not get cleaned up at all.
- All staff are very old for a hostel, no nice looking female staff
- Disco bars and jazz bars are very far from this distance if you like a night life
- Wi-fi is slow

Overall, other than the price and the canteen man I have a good impression of this hostel. Recommend it. Almost all hostels I visited in Chicago offer similar or higher prices.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Great hostel with clean excellently priced rooms.Greek restaurant beside with great food also.Would highly recommend a stay here whilst in Chicago especially if on a budget.Staff very friendly and welcoming. Very nice place and close to all amenities.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OirishMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Lady at the reception wasn't that nice. Boyfriend and I got a private room that wasn't good at all. Sheets had stains and boyfriend woke up with bites on his legs, we cannot be 100% positive that the bites came from the room, but we did notice them the next day. Breakfast was good, though. We will not be back and we can't really recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elmundoaldia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Good location and within walking distance of Downtown. The buffet breakfast was really good with a choice of cereals, toast, eggs, fruit, coffee/tea and juices . The common area was nice and our twin private room was spacious. No proper kitchen, just a microwave and fridge. Apparently there was a proper kitchen further down the road but we did not go there as it was too much hassle to have to get a key etc. The hostel was very noisy at night with people shouting on the streets and slamming doors in the corridor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Strawberry3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We enjoyed our 4 days here. It's cheap clean and really close to everything. The breakfast is good and much appreciated. The supposed kitchen is just a fridge and microwave with no cutlery tad disappointing but you can still do sandwiches.

It was very hot and the central air struggled to cope but it was record temperatures so they get a pass. Our only real quibble was we had two single mattresses pushed together not a real dbl mattress which is annoying!

All in all well worth it

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewmagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Location was very good. Nice breakfast and huge dining room in the morning. My room was cozy but a little hot due to no air conditioning. There was no elevator which made it inconvenience for people with heavy bags. Overall, this hostel was clean and nice.
整體而言,這是個很物超所值的小旅館,位置相當不錯,距離地鐵站很近,周遭有很多希臘餐廳,也能從另一個角度觀看芝加哥市區的風景。旅館的早餐很好,讓人意外的是餐廳非常非常寬敞,也有公共空間。唯一的缺點,是沒有電梯,對有大型行李的旅客或老人會比較不方便。房間布置很漂亮溫馨,但我住的這間似乎沒有開空調,在夏季的晚上會顯得悶熱,如果未來能改善,這將是個非常不錯的旅館。

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TianaHsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Loop
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#122 of 191 in Chicago
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Lincoln Park
Chicago Getaway Hostel
Downtown / The Loop
Hostelling International Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chicago Parthenon Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chicago Parthenon Hostel

Address: 310 S Halsted St, Chicago, IL 60661-5406
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > West Loop
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Chicago
Price Range: £25 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Chicago Parthenon Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Chicago Parthenon Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aae Chicago Parthenon Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing